Back

Reviews - Dainty Dowager

9/10

Excellent

based on 264 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Tony H.
    Tony H.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Although the menu was short in comparison to many asian restaurants the range was sufficient and the dishes were well presented and delicious. One of our company was vegetarian and was very happy with the selection. Like the menu the wine list was short but well chosen. The service was excellent. Will definitely return.

  2. Greg K.
    Greg K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great service, great food, loved it.. I was there many times before and will go again. Strongly recommended if you like a good quality food with friendly service.

  3. Graeme C.
    Graeme C.
    • 13 reviews
    5.5/10

    What has happened to Dainty ? The food menu was limited. The quality not what it used to be. The Char sui pork was more gristle and fat. The kitchen closed within 45 minutes of our arrival and whilst the staff were friendly they were standing around waiting for us to leave and well before 9pm

  4. June B.
    June B.
    • 6 reviews
    7/10

    Everything we asked for was an inconvenience - the birthday girl's cocktail was just left on the bar and not brought over (the place wasn't busy so no excuse). The inability to split bills; pay with cash; use an Entertainment Card despite no signage to the contrary, no gin cocktails - just vodka all made a disappointing experience. Wont be going back in a hurry.

  5. Peta C.
    Peta C.
    • 12 reviews
    10/10

    Great food, great cocktails and good service. The man that greeted us and saw us again when we paid was very nice.

  6. Amy L.
    Amy L.
    • 14 reviews
    9/10

    The roast pork,silky tofu,chinese greens and dumplings were all delicious.I deducted a point due to the poor ventilation.On a hot day and being the first customers, we still felt the outside heat despite the ceiling fans. We will come again on a cooler day to try the other dishes and desserts.

  7. Jasmine L.
    Jasmine L.
    • one review
    9/10

    Such incredibly tasty food. The daily dumplings are always amazing. Anything on the menu we have tried (we have been a few times now) is absolutely delicious with fresh and complex flavouring. My favourite is the massaman curry. Friendly servers and quick food service too.

  8. Sunny D.
    Sunny D.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent food, good service and decor that is an interesting combination of traditional Chinese done in a modern way. We highly recommend the Dainty Dowager.

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    9/10

    The food is always delicious

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.25/10

    Service, although very friendly, was quite slow and drinks had to be asked for.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9.5/10

    Service and food was excellent!! It was a quiet night when we went, so not great atmosphere.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    7.25/10

    We took our friends visiting from US as their preference was Asian Fusion n it did not disappoint. Tables were set far apart to be able to have a decent conversation.

  13. Allistair K.
    Allistair K.
    • one review
    9/10

    Beautiful food in a great atmosphere. Great choice of drinks. Desserts to die for. Highly recommended.

  14. Andrea C.
    Andrea C.
    • one review
    9/10

    We chose to have the $55 chef to feed us option and I would have given 10 for everything but we were asked if we had any dishes that we would really like to have but we didn’t get either of them.

  15. Yew Li C.
    Yew Li C.
    • 23 reviews
    4.5/10

    The roast duck was way too salty to the extent that we had to send it back. Luckily they replaced it & the 2nd one was much better but the meat was not very tender. Portions are rather small, especially for the price. The bao (soft shell crab & chicken) were good though. Massaman curry was average.

  16. Ruby-Jean H.
    Ruby-Jean H.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely meal and lovely service.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    9.5/10

    Absolutely delicious food!

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    7.5/10

    Good service and we enjoyed all our dishes. We will be back ??

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    9/10

    Good variety of food and drink

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good tasty share food and great service. Used entertainment card but will definitely come again and pay full price. Staff excellent and even offered to search the footpath outside for some lost keys after I phoned up enquiring about them. Turns out I had left them at home. Recommended.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 295 reviews
    3.75/10

    Dumplings and rice were good. The wine and beef terrible

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8/10

    Great night out

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    9.75/10

    Excellent food and service

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8.75/10

    Always wonderful. Great tasting food, reasonable prices, fantastic atmosphere

  25. Rosemary D.
    Rosemary D.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Great for share plates, delicious flavours. Nice decor and our waiter was excellent. Will definitely return.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great service and amazing food. Beers selection was low due to lack of stock but overall great experience.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8/10

    Thought that the mid week specials were still on. But no. A little disappointing Other wise, very good

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9/10

    Can’t fault. Everything was perfect

  29. Jessica R.
    Jessica R.
    • 19 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great food and atmosphere. Good for sharing and trying different things. Will definitely be back

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    3.5/10

    We have come here a few times but won’t be coming again. Both the food and service have gone downhill. You can’t get the waiter’s attention and when they come to the table they can’t answer any questions about the food. We had to ask for things multiple times and not once did we get an apology.

  31. Vicki B.
    Vicki B.
    • 2 reviews
    9.75/10

    Lovely decor and consistently excellent food with an interesting wine list.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    8/10

    We ordered individual meals rather than shares and they arrived sporadically. There would have been a 15 minute difference from when the first meal arrived, to the last. That was disappointing!

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great food and fab service

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    6/10

    Great cocktails but food is sub par. Soft shell crab salad reeks of fermented sauce and pork belly is chewy and not crispy. Disappointing and will not be back.

  35. Thelma P.
    Thelma P.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    First visit, and really enjoyed it

  36. Sarah W.
    Sarah W.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Our table guy was awesome, friendly and really helpful with selecting our dishes. We couldn't fault the food, all of it was really tasty. Loved the crispy crab bao, the sashimi and the salt and pepper squid. Nice vibe. The only thing I would not recomend is the Wild Fox Kang cocktail, it does not belong in a glass and will spoil your meal.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    8.5/10

    Delicious food & cocktails

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    9.5/10

    Everything was perfect apart from food was a bit slow coming out but it was 100 percent worth the wait!

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    7.75/10

    Everything was great except we felt that around 10pm the staff just wanted to lock up and go home... (that's a bit disappointing on a Saturday night).

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8/10

    A well rounded restaurant, with great food, service and atmosphere. Only downside is when the place is full, the noise makes it difficult to talk over.