Back

Reviews Daughter in Law

8.6/10
Fabulous
based on 178 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Aki M.
    Aki M.
    • one review
    10/10

    One of the best Indian restaurants in Melbourne. The food, service, music and ambience all was absolutely sensational. Look forward to coming back again and again and again! ????????

  2. Khalid A.
    Khalid A.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Food was nice however the place was so crowded and noisy and the tables are not comfortable ... the value for the paid money is not much reasonable

  3. Faisal A.
    Faisal A.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    The service was poor on so many levels, we have ordered dishes that was supposed to be served together and we haven’t got them till asked and we had to wait which meant they were not prepared although they were same dishes. Also we have ordered side dishes (Rice and Palak Paneer) and we didn’t get them till again asked for it. When the waiter brought the rice and the other side dishes he said (I didn’t know that you want all the food!!) so if I order a side dish to be along a main dish shouldn’t I have it together. Also we ordered soft drink that came to us with metal straw and lemon slice that I never asked for. The restaurant was not busy when we placed our order. I wouldn’t recommend the restaurant easily to my friends although the dishes were cooked nicely with good flavors but the service wasn’t the great to enjoy the food and the experience.

  4. Julie P.
    Julie P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food, great atmosphere

  5. Julia G.
    Julia G.
    • 19 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious and quick, friendly staff gave good recommendations. Will be back.

  6. Upulani K.
    Upulani K.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great vibe and the lunch thalis were super filling!!

  7. James T.
    James T.
    • 9 reviews
    8.5/10

    Funky vibe to the place but food was pushed through to the table a bit quickly, all arriving in rapid sequence which felt like a rushed meal. The dishes were imaginative and well presented and everything was enjoyable. The service was over attentive if anything which is an unusual change, and the 80's music was pumping but for the small restaurant is was just too loud meaning that talking across the table was an effort. Admirable attempt to create a fresh take on Indian but probably needs to back off a notch to make the experience a little more relaxing and enjoyable.

  8. Siobhan J.
    Siobhan J.
    • one review
    10/10

    The lunch special is great, perfect price and delicious food. Service was quick and the ambiance was fun. Would recommend booking as it seemed busy.

  9. Cheryl L.
    Cheryl L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Outstanding Food. Imaginative Indian fusion without being pretentious. The tasting menu was more than enough food and to finish with the most delightful honey and cashew icecream - Bellissimo!

  10. Stephanie C.
    Stephanie C.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Our server was amazing! She gave us a lot of good recommendations and was very efficient and anticipated our needs. The food was really good too. We'll be back again.

  11. Alessandro A.
    Alessandro A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing restaurant, we had the feed me and the quality of the food was amazing. The quality/price ratio was exceptional as well considering what other restaurants get you to pay. Really funky setup, extremely welcoming staff. Will go back for sure

  12. Christine L.
    Christine L.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Music was too loud. Staff a little unapproachable. Food was good but portions were very small.

  13. Heather F.
    Heather F.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Went to Daughter in Law for pre-theatre dinner. Great food, excellent service without delays. Tables a little close as we heard every bit of the conversation from the table next to us. A place to return tho.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    9.75/10

    I love everything about this place! 100% recommend Daughter In Law to anyone!

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    9/10

    Amazing food & drinks! Great Spotify playlist too!

  16. Michelle J.
    Michelle J.
    • 5 reviews
    7.5/10

    We enjoyed our dinner here except for the Paneer curry dish. It was ok, but the curry and chilli flavour was very lacking. Our other 3 dishes were delicious. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and very attentive. The atmosphere was great although a bit noisy.

  17. Chantelle T.
    Chantelle T.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Restaurant was very busy so make sure you make a booking! Food was delicious and I highly recommend the tasting menu if it is your first time there so you can sample several of their dishes.

  18. Chantelle T.
    Chantelle T.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    The tasting menu was good value and I enjoyed most of the dishes that came out. I liked that we each got our own platter with a variety of dishes to try with rice and roti.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    7.75/10

    We enjoyed 3 great dishes out of 4. The Palak Peneer was pretty tasteless. Meant to be a curry dish, but sadly lacking of any curry/chilli flavour.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great food, friendly service and fun atmosphere...however, felt flow of food and drinks was rushed, had advised we did not need to get to a show/concert despite our 6pm booking (table until 7:45pm) however service was so fast we completed our tasting menu with paired wines by 7pm. Will definitely return, and highly recommend visiting if you haven't already, but be mindful of how fast food/drinks are being served.