8.7/10
Fabulous
based on 244 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Mel H.
    Mel H.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    It’s the second time I’ve been here - the first time was great. This time the service was terrible, they didn’t seem to care, the food was ordinary and they charged $3.00 for a small bowl of fresh chopped chilli! Really disappointed and won’t go back - what’s happened!

  2. Sue B.
    Sue B.
    • one review
    10/10

    They claim to be "inauthentic Indian" - however, it is authentically delicious, so well cooked! The service was good and not rushed, and the gin cocktail with curry leaf was just lovely. Can't wait to go back again

  3. Ancita D.
    Ancita D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic food and great venue. The "thali" lunch is fantastic value for money. For those going in a group, the payment option is also great where we queue up and pay for our own meal :)

  4. Venkat R.
    Venkat R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing, super vegetarian friendly, been multiple times for both special occasions and to take family. We always get the ‘tasting menu’, the golgappa and the kulfi dessert are to die for. the service amazing, great drinks too, oh and thanks for the lovely candlelit gulab jamun for our anniversary!!!

  5. Amber K.
    Amber K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Always an outstanding dining experience, from food and drink to service. And the music is pretty entertaining too. Make sure you book as it's super popular.

  6. Kerry L.
    Kerry L.
    • one review
    4/10

    Everything was just too cramped, too many people on a very small table. Food was fine but everything was very rushed, more or less pushed out the door as soon as we finished eating. Certainly not conducive to a relaxing meal.

  7. Laura H.
    Laura H.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was our first time at Daughter In Law and we will be back. Couldn't fault anything at all. From the time we walked through the doors to the time we walked out. Thanks for a fabulous night

  8. Nikhil P.
    Nikhil P.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Good food but too pricey for the value.

  9. Lynelle J.
    Lynelle J.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    The staff here were excellent. When I asked to change my booking from 2 to 4 people, the immediately found space for us. Busy night for them, food was great, although the cauliflower specialty was too spicy and a bit oily for me.

  10. Marco L.
    Marco L.
    • 6 reviews
    7.5/10

    Lovely atmosphere and bar fridge. Great service and quick. Nice and just the right feel for what we were looking for. Would recommend to others .

  11. Christine H.
    Christine H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was all delish! Would lightly recommend the tasting menu which I had changed to vegetarian no problem! Staff lovely too. Cocktails were also amazing!

  12. Bhupesh P.
    Bhupesh P.
    • one review
    9/10

    Food was good, not too spicy so it will cover wide palettes. Location and ambiance are good as well. Always crowded so make sure to reserve beforehand.

  13. Jo K.
    Jo K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious food - especially the cauliflower - and very friendly service, despite our messy toddler and two rude members of our party. We'll be back to work our way through the rest of the menu!

  14. Fiona M.
    Fiona M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent as always ...

  15. Sonika L.
    Sonika L.
    • 3 reviews
    6/10

    The restaurant is beautiful but found it way too expensive for the quality and portion of food plus they have limited cocktail variety and vegetarian options

  16. Anupam M.
    Anupam M.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Good food. Tandoori chicken was great! But rest of the dishes (palak paneer, coconut prawns) were ok. Baked fish for a small piece of fish was truly overpriced. I’ve had better in Melbourne. Will I be going back? No. In comparison I’d go back to Ish in Fitzroy any day.

  17. Rosh P.
    Rosh P.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Loved it! The food was fantastic and the vibe and decor were unique. Daughter in Law is an excellent addition to this part of town.

  18. stacy m.
    stacy m.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    I was so excited after having been to their sister restaurant in New York. However, the food was so sweet, it was barely edible and the only Indian flavor detected was curry seed. Although this is innovative Indian cuisine, it should be more flavorful. Wouldn’t recommend.

  19. Avinash M.
    Avinash M.
    • 41 reviews
    10/10

    Good food and attentive service. Would come back again.

  20. Aki M.
    Aki M.
    • one review
    10/10

    One of the best Indian restaurants in Melbourne. The food, service, music and ambience all was absolutely sensational. Look forward to coming back again and again and again! ????????

  21. Khalid A.
    Khalid A.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Food was nice however the place was so crowded and noisy and the tables are not comfortable ... the value for the paid money is not much reasonable

  22. Faisal A.
    Faisal A.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    The service was poor on so many levels, we have ordered dishes that was supposed to be served together and we haven’t got them till asked and we had to wait which meant they were not prepared although they were same dishes. Also we have ordered side dishes (Rice and Palak Paneer) and we didn’t get them till again asked for it. When the waiter brought the rice and the other side dishes he said (I didn’t know that you want all the food!!) so if I order a side dish to be along a main dish shouldn’t I have it together. Also we ordered soft drink that came to us with metal straw and lemon slice that I never asked for. The restaurant was not busy when we placed our order. I wouldn’t recommend the restaurant easily to my friends although the dishes were cooked nicely with good flavors but the service wasn’t the great to enjoy the food and the experience.

  23. Julie P.
    Julie P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food, great atmosphere

  24. Julia G.
    Julia G.
    • 21 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious and quick, friendly staff gave good recommendations. Will be back.

  25. Upulani K.
    Upulani K.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great vibe and the lunch thalis were super filling!!

  26. James T.
    James T.
    • 9 reviews
    8.5/10

    Funky vibe to the place but food was pushed through to the table a bit quickly, all arriving in rapid sequence which felt like a rushed meal. The dishes were imaginative and well presented and everything was enjoyable. The service was over attentive if anything which is an unusual change, and the 80's music was pumping but for the small restaurant is was just too loud meaning that talking across the table was an effort. Admirable attempt to create a fresh take on Indian but probably needs to back off a notch to make the experience a little more relaxing and enjoyable.

  27. Siobhan J.
    Siobhan J.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The lunch special is great, perfect price and delicious food. Service was quick and the ambiance was fun. Would recommend booking as it seemed busy.

  28. Cheryl L.
    Cheryl L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Outstanding Food. Imaginative Indian fusion without being pretentious. The tasting menu was more than enough food and to finish with the most delightful honey and cashew icecream - Bellissimo!

  29. Stephanie C.
    Stephanie C.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Our server was amazing! She gave us a lot of good recommendations and was very efficient and anticipated our needs. The food was really good too. We'll be back again.

  30. Alessandro A.
    Alessandro A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing restaurant, we had the feed me and the quality of the food was amazing. The quality/price ratio was exceptional as well considering what other restaurants get you to pay. Really funky setup, extremely welcoming staff. Will go back for sure

  31. Christine L.
    Christine L.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Music was too loud. Staff a little unapproachable. Food was good but portions were very small.

  32. LAWRENCE M.
    LAWRENCE M.
    • 30 reviews
    10/10

    We had a late lunch here. Food was excellent and a great variety in one meal. I will definitely go back when in Melbourne.

  33. Heather F.
    Heather F.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Went to Daughter in Law for pre-theatre dinner. Great food, excellent service without delays. Tables a little close as we heard every bit of the conversation from the table next to us. A place to return tho.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    9.75/10

    I love everything about this place! 100% recommend Daughter In Law to anyone!

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    9/10

    Amazing food & drinks! Great Spotify playlist too!

  36. Michelle J.
    Michelle J.
    • 6 reviews
    7.5/10

    We enjoyed our dinner here except for the Paneer curry dish. It was ok, but the curry and chilli flavour was very lacking. Our other 3 dishes were delicious. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and very attentive. The atmosphere was great although a bit noisy.

  37. Chantelle T.
    Chantelle T.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Restaurant was very busy so make sure you make a booking! Food was delicious and I highly recommend the tasting menu if it is your first time there so you can sample several of their dishes.

  38. Chantelle T.
    Chantelle T.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    The tasting menu was good value and I enjoyed most of the dishes that came out. I liked that we each got our own platter with a variety of dishes to try with rice and roti.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    7.75/10

    We enjoyed 3 great dishes out of 4. The Palak Peneer was pretty tasteless. Meant to be a curry dish, but sadly lacking of any curry/chilli flavour.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great food, friendly service and fun atmosphere...however, felt flow of food and drinks was rushed, had advised we did not need to get to a show/concert despite our 6pm booking (table until 7:45pm) however service was so fast we completed our tasting menu with paired wines by 7pm. Will definitely return, and highly recommend visiting if you haven't already, but be mindful of how fast food/drinks are being served.