Back

Reviews - Deer Duck Bistro

8.6/10

Fabulous

based on 82 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. JaySen G.
    JaySen G.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Would have been perfect if the restaurant did not run out of milk for coffee at the end of dinner. Also, tea and coffee and petit fours should be standard, customers should be offered these, rather than ask for them.

  2. Len W.
    Len W.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    We went for my son’s birthday dinner. The staff went out of their way to accomodate my son’s partners vegan request- she was so scared to ask she was going to eat beforehand. The staff were gracious and very accommodating. We had the long degustation and so much fun they had to ask( nicely) if we had finished at 1/4 to midnight.. the byo option was great although I must say their wine list is excellent well priced. I only hope they fix their downstairs toilet as the trek up the outside stairs is a bit scarey after a few wines. Magic night all round.

  3. Phil A.
    Phil A.
    • 4 reviews
    6.5/10

    Food was very good, however the atmosphere was spoilt by an air conditioner that was arctic blowing on us. We mentioned it to the waitress however she did not seem to care.

  4. Peter H.
    Peter H.
    • one review
    10/10

    A fabulous degustation menu with an equally delicious vegetarian option. The matched wines worked perfectly, although I would have liked an extra red!

  5. Aurelien C.
    Aurelien C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food, excellent service, great decoration/atmosphere. My favorite restaurant in Brisbane! I couldn’t not recommend this place high enough.

  6. Larissa P.
    Larissa P.
    • one review
    10/10

    I was blown away by the quality of food, the selection of wines, the decadence of the dining room and the expert wait staff. Hefty bill but worth every cent. Superb.

  7. Joseph T.
    Joseph T.
    • 78 reviews
    9.5/10

    Fine dining heaven

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    10/10

    Great atmosphere for romantic degustation well paired wines

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    9.25/10

    This was a very pleasant surprise. I'd driven past numerous times and thought, "I must check that out". Finally did it and loved it!

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    9/10

    Mushroom pasta was amazing but the serves a little on the small side.

  11. Joseph T.
    Joseph T.
    • 78 reviews
    10/10

    Decadently special

  12. April L.
    April L.
    • 14 reviews
    9.25/10

    Fantastic food - every course was Devine! Thank you for the anniversary love note written in chocolate on our dessert

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    8.75/10

    Fantastic food, great wine.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    7.25/10

    Deer Duck is a very special and unique offering with a highly inventive a la carte menu experience.

  15. Kevin M.
    Kevin M.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely dining experience

  16. Amanda M.
    Amanda M.
    • one review
    10/10

    A fine dining experience that was perfect for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We loved every part of our evening!

  17. Dennis W.
    Dennis W.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    A quality 5 course degustation, an average start but food did get better with each course.

  18. Warren J.
    Warren J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food & service

  19. Amy G.
    Amy G.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Had a lovely dinner here, would go back.

  20. Clayton B.
    Clayton B.
    • one review
    8/10

    In the larger dining room area were a group of noisy businessmen which upset the ambience of the restaurant. Cosy and bygone era style decor restaurant . Lamb was a little overdone and pasta a little salty.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    8/10

    This restaurant is good for people who are foodies with deep pockets.

  22. Katie C.
    Katie C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Simply beautiful, incredible service. Highly recommend for Special Occasions.

  23. Ashley B.
    Ashley B.
    • 9 reviews
    8.75/10

    Awesome atmosphere and meals.

  24. Jennifer C.
    Jennifer C.
    • 12 reviews
    7.25/10

    Booked on a Dimmi deal and once arriving at the restaurant I was informed they could not honour the discount. Extremely disappointed as I came (from Sydney nonetheless) because of the deal. After some arguing, the wait staff offered half of the discount originally offered. Despite this, the food was good, and particularly loved the cocktails too. Favourite dishes were the duck and the pasta. However I went for my partner's birthday and the disappointing beginning dampened our mood for the rest of the meal.

  25. Rachel L.
    Rachel L.
    • 108 reviews
    10/10

    Love the food and ambience.

  26. Andrew G.
    Andrew G.
    • 5 reviews
    6.75/10

    $385 for two people should be an amazing experience and it was not. The food was really good but the service was not. We were forgotten about for the first 25 minutes without being offered a drink. They were quite good after that however. It did not help that the air conditioning was not working and we were on a table right next to a wall but all that could have been forgiven if the service had been knock your socks off.

  27. Myffy D.
    Myffy D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Beautiful food Lovely, friendly knowledgeable wait staff Wonderful atmosphere

  28. Shane W.
    Shane W.
    • one review
    5.75/10

    The food was great, without question, and the degustation not bad value for money. Howevet, we chose the restaurant because it was BYO wine, and we like to bring along nice old well cellared wine to enjoy. We were allowed one bottle per 2 people. We had three people and were still only allowed 1 bottle. We then had to pay $15 per person corkage. So, if it is date night and you want to bring a bottle of wine, a good choice. If you want more poeple and more wine find another fine dining restaurant.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    9.5/10

    It was a great dinner experience!

  30. Ariel L.
    Ariel L.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    Great food as per previous visit! Service was better! Will come back for sure.

  31. Felicity B.
    Felicity B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    2018 will be an amazing year for the team at Deer Duck Bistro if our dinner on New Year’s Eve is a sign! The only option was a set 5 course menu due to it being New Year’s Eve, this menu was well thought out and included a range of interesting but not too challenging dishes. All 5 courses were exceptional in their own right as well as being outrageously good as part of a fixed price menu. The quality more than matched the cost - each course was delicious and prepared to a very high standard. The service was excellent with the wait staff being knowledgeable, friendly and available without hovering, just the right balance. Deer Duck Bistro is one of our favourite eating experiences in Brisbane, it was lovely to find a little gem nestled away from the main eating areas and well worth the trip.

  32. Christine L.
    Christine L.
    • 2 reviews
    9.75/10

    Food was fantastic. Drinks were awesome. Did I say the food was really good? Must try.

  33. Christine L.
    Christine L.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    Food and the cocktail was absolutely amazing. Along with the beautiful decorations and atmosphere - I highly recommend this restaurant. My special catering needs were accommodated well too.

  34. Kate R.
    Kate R.
    • 11 reviews
    8.75/10

    Wonderful food and service. A really delightful surprise in the suburbs.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great ambience, great service. We had the 9 course degustation it was delicious. A great place to go if you're after something different. Each dish was perfect.

  36. Jo-Anne D.
    Jo-Anne D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Had a fantastic night

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    10/10

    The degustation with matching wines was sensational. A quirky restaurant that transports you so you don't even feel as though you are in Brisbane! A fabulous evening to celebrate a birthday!

  38. Jane L.
    Jane L.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Delightful evening with great food and wine. Service was attentive but not too much.

  39. Jenelle S.
    Jenelle S.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Fantastic food and the staff and kitchen were super-accommodating - it was a lovely night - thankyou :)

  40. Jess B.
    Jess B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Really beautiful restaurant. Great food, service, wine and attention to detail