Back

Reviews Denmark House

9.7/10

Excellent

based on 188 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Mary-Ann H.
    Mary-Ann H.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great service, great food, great atmosphere! This is the closest you’ll ever get traditional Danish food anywhere in Australia. The furnishings the table were and the products are all superb.

  2. Anne S.
    Anne S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Always a pleasure to dine here. The food is delicious and the presentation like a piece of art. Outstanding. The atmosphere and service is fantastic too. Love taking my friends here to enjoy, makes me proud to be a Dane.

  3. Diana K.
    Diana K.
    • one review
    10/10

    My fiancée and I were pretty excited about the børebrood ( I hope I've spelt it right ) and we were actually blown away from them... definitely gotta have the three mushroom one for sure and all of the rest were delicious as well. Simple but fancy in their own way!!

  4. Heather C.
    Heather C.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Happy to be back for lunch at Denmark House, new menu items- a bit of classic scandi food meets Asian fusion. Warm welcoming staff, excellent wine list, ..thanks Andrew & Mel

  5. Lykke B.
    Lykke B.
    • one review
    10/10

    First day back after Covid restrictions and everything is as amazing as usual. We had the smørrebrod lunch with a mixture of authentic and non authentic varieties. The service as usual was fantastic. Smiles all round and attentive to your needs. A reminder to all customers now starting to get back to restaurants and cafes. Treat hospitality workers with respect and patience. They are navigating this world with only one thing in mind-making us happy. They are playing their part in making this new world a place that is somewhat familiar to the one we enjoyed pre covid. A little bit of kindness and a smile goes a long way.

  6. Tracey t.
    Tracey t.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food, not too many choices but my family of 4 had a reasonable variety, beef cheek divine, good selection of beers, huge area so social distance can be applied

  7. CK L.
    CK L.
    • 20 reviews
    10/10

    Very interesting food - open sandwiches with interesting toppings. Lots of space.

  8. Sennia  S.
    Sennia S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This is the second time we have frequented this restaurant and it will now be on our ‘must visit’ when in town. Not only are the meals amazing but they are so reasonably priced. The beef cheeks are water in the mouth delicious. The atmosphere is relaxing and the drinks moorish!

  9. Mike P.
    Mike P.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Always consistently good food and service. The open face sandwiches are a really nice change from the usual for lunch. Great wine and beer options too.

  10. Trevor F.
    Trevor F.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    The choices for the Smørrebrød were extensive and everyone we picked was great with the egg open sandwich being the standout.

  11. Sennia  S.
    Sennia S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The quality of the food at Denmark house can not be faulted. While the menu is small, everything is cooked to perfection. The portion are large and the atmosphere is comfortable and cozy. The prices are very reasonable. A great find in the city!

  12. Tiana I.
    Tiana I.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beautiful food, the herring with beetroot and Dill herring were our favourites. Relaxed atmosphere and very friendly and attentive staff. Staff made recommendations and suggested serving sizes since we hadn't been there before.

  13. Justine C.
    Justine C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and service as usual. I can't wait to return.

  14. Eva  K.
    Eva K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great welcome and the menu was easy to use. I enjoyed the sandwiches the herring was excellent. The Danish pastry melted in the mouth. Awesome. Very small though. Nice cool space on a hot day. A good experience

  15. Kuni Y.
    Kuni Y.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a wonderful hidden cultural gem! Everything was beautiful & artistic: food, presentation, all the beautiful micro herb, chairs, drawings on walls, decoration, and the photos & message of Princess Mary! We really had a great time; would definitely recommend :) Thank you.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 306 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food aside, the design and fit out of the place is excellent.

  17. Guillermo B.
    Guillermo B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Very quiet night, great atmosphere.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great Danish food and great ambience. Highly recommended!

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8/10

    Great place for a good feed.

  20. Quincy M.
    Quincy M.
    • 8 reviews
    8.25/10

    Not many vegetarian options, but the staff were willing to accommodate. The drinks selection is unique and includes flights of akvavit and paired mini sandwiches. It's a really novel dining experience for Melbourne.

  21. Nalika P.
    Nalika P.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Some of the staff were very attentive and some were not that great. Nearly all our dishes were delicious but pork belly was dry.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    10/10

    enjoyed it very much and it was so yummy. Next time I'll try the akvavit!

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.75/10

    Selection of interesting and pretty toppings for open sandwiches for lunch. Selection of akvavit and other drinks. The Danish decor was open, light and airy.

  24. Joanne C.
    Joanne C.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    One of my favourite secret little restaurants, always lovely service

  25. Tim R.
    Tim R.
    • one review
    10/10

    I truly hope that this establishment survives financially because its cuisine is absolutely delicious ; the ambience is warm and welcoming; the service is flawless, and being able to have pre-dinner drinks in the adjoining bar is a real bonus. However Denmark House (aka. The Danish Club is sadly under patronised due to its remote off-street location.

  26. Damian S.
    Damian S.
    • one review
    9/10

    A sandwich experience like no other. Best lunch in Melbourne hands down!

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    10/10

    Fabulous dinner!

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    8/10

    The service was extremely slow Waited over half an hour for open sandwiches

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    9/10

    Great food as always. Love coming back...

  30. Ida Beyer R.
    Ida Beyer R.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    We enjoyed a peaceful lunch

  31. Ida Beyer R.
    Ida Beyer R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We had a most pleasant birthday party yesterday.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely food and atmosphere. Reasonably priced.

  33. Rosemary E.
    Rosemary E.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    A unique getaway to appreciate classic Danish food within the bustle of the CBD

  34. James W.
    James W.
    • one review
    10/10

    An absolute hidden gem in this wonderful city. The food was incredible, so fresh, flavorful and brought back happy memories of childhood for my wife! The service was just perfect and the atmosphere is very unique in terms of Melbourne restaurants. We can't wait to visit again!

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    8.75/10

    Nice quiet place for lunch. Delicious smørrebrød

  36. Zoe A.
    Zoe A.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Delicious. Wonderful service. I will be back.

  37. Sandra G.
    Sandra G.
    • 2 reviews
    9.75/10

    Wonderful to be able to experience traditional Danish Smørrebrød in Melbourne. Delicious food washed down with a Carlsberg makes you feel like you are back in København. We will be back with friends!

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    9/10

    Nice food and service

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    10/10

    Great Authentic Danish cuisine with a great selection of Aquavits and of course Cherry Heering to finish

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    9.25/10

    Nice vibe and service