Back

Reviews - DeVine

9/10

Excellent

based on 808 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Helen F.
    Helen F.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great food, impressive wine list and charming wait staff - made for a great night

  2. Bronwyn C.
    Bronwyn C.
    • one review
    5/10

    Food is awesome. Main pasta dishes (we ordered 4) were entree sized at main meal prices. We ended up ordering a pizza as we were still hungry. $250 total. Pity their servings were stingy.

  3. David D.
    David D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic food and wine selection. Great little room with a good vibe and great staff. Recommended.

  4. Benjamin E.
    Benjamin E.
    • one review
    9/10

    Fantastic selection of European wine and excellent dishes throughout each course.

  5. David S.
    David S.
    • 12 reviews
    8.5/10

    Excellent food and service, great wine list but not cheap.

  6. Terri S.
    Terri S.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    The service, ambience & food were all excellent. The menu had something for everyone & cannot fault anything. Absolutely delicious & cannot wait to return .

  7. Amy R.
    Amy R.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    It was a nice atmosphere, good foods and great service with a comfortable atmosphere. Also good for peoples having gathering with friends or family.

  8. Helen C.
    Helen C.
    • 24 reviews
    10/10

    This was our first visit and we will definitely be back as the food, drinks and service were outstanding.

  9. TRACEY R.
    TRACEY R.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    The staff were super friendly, fantastic wine menu. Lovely atmosphere and great food, especially the steak and lamb. Root vegetables were slightly disappointing in comparison but overall great food and experience.

  10. Kym L.
    Kym L.
    • 4 reviews
    6.5/10

    Food tasted great but was a bit small in size for the price! Went and bought pizza afterwards as still hungry!

  11. Alicia P.
    Alicia P.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    Food was delicious, although for the price some of the mains could have been a more generous size. The only down side to this restaurant was the service, we had an 8pm booking and 90 minutes into the booking they were pushing us to leave. The bill was delivered to the table even though we’d explicitly said we weren’t ready for the bill. They then went on to sell us a large glass of wine each ($28 per glass), and wouldn’t sell us a bottle even though that would have been cheaper and about the same amount of wine. Then delivered the wine with the bill and said we had 10 minutes until we had to leave, whilst also asking for a tip! We felt really rushed and unwelcome towards the end of our meal which was disappointing as the restaurant is beautiful and the food lovely. What let it down was the push to get us to leave which wasn’t handled well.

  12. Imelda K.
    Imelda K.
    • 8 reviews
    7/10

    I went to this restaurant a few times. This time I went with the Fork discount and the portion of dishes seems smaller and the presentation was not as good as before. The quality of food is good, but not great to match its price. But that maybe due to Covid19 to cut down the cost, which is understandable.

  13. Amy W.
    Amy W.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Glad to see the old girl is still going great guns even in these troubling times. Service was charming, food was delish and we had a 30% off Fork offer - yay! First time I’ve sat out the back - the table nearest the big window was perfect.

  14. Mey S.
    Mey S.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Not our first visit. The seafood risotto is exceptionally tasty (the flavour was not as intense as the previous time, but still worth the trip) Zucchini flower and entree special were lovely. Ordered Antipasti and burrata in previous visit, both were fantastic, the flavour contrast is memorable. Service staff knowledge on Italian wine is admirable. The recommended 2020 NND matched to the risotto perfectly. Highly recommended and we will definitely be back again.

  15. Sylvie N.
    Sylvie N.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Chef are masters at combining the most delicious flavours to create the yummiest dishes. Pair that with the extensive wine list and friendly, attentive staff and you have yourself a perfect night.

  16. Christina T.
    Christina T.
    • 20 reviews
    9/10

    The wagyu striploin was excellent - highly recommended

  17. Joanne P.
    Joanne P.
    • 6 reviews
    9/10

    The food has improved and the wine list is extensive as you would expect! The atmosphere was great and definitely adhering to COVID Rule’s! Great night

  18. Sharon E.
    Sharon E.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    As always the ambience is lovely as is the service. The scallops were perfect and the asparagus special entree a great surprise. I am sure we will keep returning. The wine selection is also consistently pleasing.

  19. Nelly T.
    Nelly T.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious food, welcoming staff and nice atmosphere. Antipasto was just the right portion and my favourite cannoli was indeed 'super crunchy'. Great selection of wine too! Thank you to Barbara, who was very attentive and friendly.

  20. Bernice W.
    Bernice W.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Good service and tasty dishes. ????????

  21. Dareen C.
    Dareen C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food and good customer service. One of my favourite restaurant in Sydney.

  22. Gigi W.
    Gigi W.
    • 22 reviews
    9/10

    I’ve been here a handful of times and the food and service have been consistent! The beef ragu pappadelle was a little salty but my tastebuds have been on the lighter side. The bug risotto was full of flavour and could tell 100% the bugs were fresh. Will definitely be on my go to restaurant list!

  23. Raj K.
    Raj K.
    • one review
    5/10

    Way too much salt. 5/5 dishes were too salty.

  24. Joy S.
    Joy S.
    • 3 reviews
    6.5/10

    Nice place to slow drinks after work with colleagues

  25. Andrew K.
    Andrew K.
    • 30 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great food, great service from the waiter who was happy to describe the dishes and listened to my request. The only negative feedback I'd have was that the pappardelle was slightly salty. The food is priced for special occasions. All in all an enjoyable evening.

  26. David L.
    David L.
    • 12 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great wine, good food, good variety on the menu has that nice neighbourhood, local feel. A business that should be supported during these tough times, if there is going to a variety of venues in the CBD

    DeVine

    Thank you David for your positive review and endorsement of our business!

  27. Rahul D.
    Rahul D.
    • 32 reviews
    10/10

    Great selection of wine and good service.

  28. Tenar L.
    Tenar L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great relaxed ,yet attentive service. Perfect fish and gnocchi. Lovely wine.

    DeVine

    Thanks for such a wonderful review

  29. Lisa B.
    Lisa B.
    • 12 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly service, amazing food, great ambience. Highly recommended.

    DeVine

    Grazie Lisa, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us!

  30. Anthony L.
    Anthony L.
    • 28 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and wine. Also following social distancing guidelines and hand sanitizer available. Will be back :)

    DeVine

    Thanks for the perfect 10 Anthony, we look forward to welcoming you back!

  31. Edelweiss V.
    Edelweiss V.
    • 3 reviews
    6/10

    We booked with a request for a window table as it was my husbands birthday but there was no acknowledgement at all and we were seated in the middle of the room when one of the window seats was available the whole duration of our meal. We ordered the ravioli, strip loin, brocollini and corn. The ravioli and brocollini was lacking flavour - almost like they forgot to add in salt. The brocollini tasted like it was blanched in plain water and the 6 little pieces of them cost us $12. The setting of the restaurant is nice and cute, and could really have potential to be a neighbourhood gem but unfortunately the lack of care for our booking and the mediocre food is not bringing us back to this restaurant.

    DeVine

    Hi and thanks for your review. I am sorry but your booking had no special requests for a particular table so we were unaware of this. We make every effort to fulfill requests whenever we can. As for the food feedback, I have forwarded your review onto our chef. We are sorry you didn't rate our venue highly, and would have appreciated the opportunity to address this with you on the night.

  32. Raf C.
    Raf C.
    • 17 reviews
    10/10

    Food was spectacular, one of the best Italians in the city. Atmosphere is great, with a cool wine bar vibe. A little pricey but a nice treat

    DeVine

    Thanks for your review Raf and it was nice to see you here again.

  33. Jen W.
    Jen W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Had a great meal at DeVine last night. The staff were friendly and attentive, the food was great and the atmosphere was cosy and intimate.. Will definitely go back and highly recommend it.

    DeVine

    Many thanks Jen. We are delighted we met your expectations and look forward to welcoming you again!

  34. Cecilia M.
    Cecilia M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    This is a great find. Comfortable, classy, great wait staff, delicious Italian food and good wine by the bottle or glass. Highly recommended! We will definitely return.

    DeVine

    Hi Cecilia, Sincere thanks for this lovely review. Our staff love this feedback and really appreciate you choosing our venue for a night out!

  35. Mathew C.
    Mathew C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Always great to go out and eat, especially during tough times like this. I love supporting small businesses. The atmosphere was awesome, and service was top class. I was lucky enough to get the last bottle of wine from the batch selected and loved every drop. The starters and mains were cooked to perfection. The only drawback was the desert. I had the canolli, and have to say it was terrible, I would say take it off the menu. I didn't want to end the meal on that note so purchased a 40 year port and ended the meal on a good note, All in all it was a great meal 9/10

    DeVine

    Hi Matthew, we really appreciate your support, and feedback. You'll be pleased to know we have tweaked our ricotta Cannoli recipe to make it a little sweeter so when you next come in, please be sure to give them another chance.

  36. Naomi H.
    Naomi H.
    • 9 reviews
    8/10

    We had our anniversary dinner here last night. Everything was great. My 4th or 5th time dining here. More vegetarian options would be nice.

  37. Annette L.
    Annette L.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    It was a pleasant surprise to find such a warm and friendly environment with very good food. The 4 of us were lucky enough to be seated in the corner booth which was extra cosy. It made for a lovely night.

  38. Denise P.
    Denise P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing, as always!!

    DeVine

    Thanks Denise, you're the best!

  39. Sam N.
    Sam N.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great service and nice dark restaurant in middle of busy city location

  40. David M.
    David M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Terrific to be back at one of our favorite locals. Always friendly and the food is excellent. Always conscious to ensure we are in an out within a reasonable time but never rushed. Thank you Anthony and the team.

    DeVine

    Hi David, Nothing pleases us more than to welcome back a familiar face. We sincerely thank your for your ongoing support!