8.4/10
Very good
based on 334 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Carolina S.
    Carolina S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was amazing! The beef carpaccio just melted in your mouth. The wine list was equally good. The Levantene Hill Shiraz was a stand out. The torta dessert was delicious. The luxurious layers of white chocolate shards was heavenly.

  2. Ashley S.
    Ashley S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Always an amazing experience...have loved Di Stasio for over 20 years and the new sister RESTUARANT in Melbourne’s CBD is truely extraordinary. The amazing food, extensive wine list, great service and the vista of Parliament House make for a truly wonderful dining experience.

  3. Mandy W.
    Mandy W.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely incredible food and dining experience. The food, service, wine list and atmosphere second to none. Di Stasio Citta has risen to the top of my fave Melbourne restaurants list!

  4. Martin F.
    Martin F.
    • one review
    8/10

    welcoming and courteous staff, the food is excellent but you need to know your menu. The decor is minimal contemporary with some interesting images displayed on the walls.

  5. Tom M.
    Tom M.
    • one review
    6/10

    Staff hesitant to seat us despite booking. Didn’t receive drinks for half an hour. Entree was amazing! Mains were average.. pasta legitimately undercooked even for me. Ordered a chocolate dessert and they brought pistachio. Sang for our friends birthday which was cool... relatively good experience although wouldn’t rush back.

  6. Michael M.
    Michael M.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Funky space and great service but the "special" gnocchi was bland and the fried seafood too salty. Good wine. Overall, over priced. Their place at St Kilda much better.

  7. Joan h.
    Joan h.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food we will be returning often.

  8. Adam F.
    Adam F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Outstanding experience, not like any other. Unique, eclectic and memorable. Outstanding experience, not like any other. Unique, eclectic and memorable.

  9. JOE C.
    JOE C.
    • one review
    7/10

    To whom it may concern.. We enjoyed the welcome and service..it was very good.. We all thought food was good..in particular Entrees and main dishes! Wine list and Mineral water overpriced.. As for atmosphere far too loud.. I suppose due to being a full house! Thank you for the opportunity to comment.. Joe C

  10. Anne r.
    Anne r.
    • one review
    10/10

    Repeat of the always good Di Stasio!!!

  11. Mary Jo C.
    Mary Jo C.
    • 8 reviews
    7.5/10

    This was my second time at Citta and it was much less satisfying. We were first given a terrible table next to the kitchen door despite having booked weeks ago and there were empty tables for 2 elsewhere. We politely asked and, with diffidence, received a different table. We ordered a wide range of dishes to share. Most of the hot dishes were not very hot and many dishes were nothing as tasty as my memory from 4 months ago. At the end of the meal we asked for a grappa - no wine list for grappa but when we specified the type, 2 bottles were brought over and the waiter definitely promoted one over the other. My son asked the price differential & she laughed. We were a little surprised to find our one glass of grappa was $40. Having visited the original Cafe and now Citta on our regular trips to Melb over the years I feel it has lost its central integrity. It feels like it’s show over substance. With great regret, I won’t be back.

  12. Sandy M.
    Sandy M.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    The food choice and quality was exceptional, drinks choice was great too. Staff were friendly and there were plenty of staff working. Atmosphere was very upbeat. Highly recommend.

  13. Xavier Y.
    Xavier Y.
    • 17 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic service, especially if dining at the bar. Pasta dishes and cocktails were the highlight along with the great ambience (even if not as intimate as its St Kilda cousin)

  14. Lisa C.
    Lisa C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Welcomed with the modern blend of formality and informality which I loved. We felt special. Superb service. Extensive wine list. Wonderful food. Fabulous modern setting complete with installation art. When can I return?!

  15. Mark B.
    Mark B.
    • 43 reviews
    9/10

    This was our second visit to Di Stasio Citta, and it won't be our last. The food is outstanding, maybe one of the best Italian meals in Melbourne (and we have tried many restaurants). The tables are a little close together, so intimate conversations with your table partners are more likely to be had than with your dining partner :) Otherwise, it is a great spot to dine.

  16. Rosemary W.
    Rosemary W.
    • 12 reviews
    8.5/10

    The food here never fails, it is delicious. I was disappointed that after making a booking some weeks earlier, the table was not prepped & it felt as if we had just walked in off the street.

  17. Merran C.
    Merran C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This is currently my favourite restaurant in the main part due to it's wonderful and varied menu, the atmosphere and friendliness of the staff.

  18. Sam  A.
    Sam A.
    • one review
    3/10

    The most appalling experience I have had my entire life, starting with the head waiter in the suit. Would not allow me to bring a cake although I had called to ask permission as it was my daughters 21st Birthday and was told it was no issue. But he argued with me in a standover tactic. Food was below average and penne were beyond undercooked. We paid the bill thinking the penne has been deducted as they were returned only to be told, that they didn’t charge us for cutting the cake and therefore charged us for the penne. $40 dish compares to cutting cake for 6 people. After he argued that the pasta was aldente, as to which I argued that I am Italian and owner of a Pasta Manufacturing Company, of which he is neither. Vile abhorrent food with service to match. They should remind themselves that the amazing featured articles we’re written in 2015, and obviously not based on fact but perhaps financial reward? This experience only reinforces as to why I do not eat out. Don’t waste your money and go to a local eatery as you’ll be much better off!

  19. Janice B.
    Janice B.
    • 2 reviews
    4/10

    Very disappointing. The tables are too close together so you can hear everyone else’s conversations. We had been seated for an hour before our entrees were served and when I complained about this I was told about how talented the kitchen staff were-hardly a sufficient response. We won’t go back as I expect better service than this

  20. Con K.
    Con K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and great service. The atmosphere was busy and vibrant but also intimate enough for a dinner for two. A great wine list but also enjoyed the locally produced wine. Will be back!

  21. Sue H.
    Sue H.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    Very noisy and felt service was difficult for staff to provide service due to limited space for them to move comfortably to your table. Food was enjoyable,, but not special as we were anticipating.

  22. samantha c.
    samantha c.
    • one review
    10/10

    Milano comes to Melbourne....! Warm contemporary minimalism in setting and vibe. Sophisticated simplicity in delicious Italian food. Much charm in service!

  23. Dianne B.
    Dianne B.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Food and service were first class, though it Was certainly not the place for a romantic dinner We were jammed in and the projections on the walls would give anyone a migraine. This is a small restaurant and with so many staff bustling around it was quite unsettling.

  24. Tim O.
    Tim O.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Big fans of the original Fitzroy St restaurant but Citta lacks the consistency. Some dishes great (the crab pasta and fritto misto) but the steak was just not to the same standard and pricey to boot. And the simplest of dishes, an affogato, was a sad close - crystaline icecream (refrozen?) - in a freezing cold glass. Service professional and attentive.

  25. Tom A.
    Tom A.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This new restaurant of Di Stasio live up to its excellent reviews and it’s iconic name. The food was simple creative, with outstanding taste. It made my taste imagination flourish. Service was excellent and the location spot just perfect. Thankful that Melbourne has this wonderful restaurant that we could share-showcase and enjoy. Grazie!!

  26. damian m.
    damian m.
    • one review
    10/10

    Totally professional, classical dishes asked for assistance with the wine selection that would blend with the food and received 1st class advice...... made the food come to life all with a smile. Can't wait to go back.

  27. Bruno D.
    Bruno D.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    First time at this location, was a real pleasure to come to the city location. Was really busy and we felt as if we were looked after really well. Will be back, no doubt

  28. Curt W.
    Curt W.
    • 2 reviews
    4/10

    Che disastrto! Space looked great, ambiance was fun, meet and greet was good with a nice wine list then: everything went down hill rapidly! The food was overcooked and tasteless, wait between courses inexcusable and table service nasty and indifferent. Horrible! I want my $260 back!

  29. Katie B.
    Katie B.
    • one review
    4/10

    Booked for a special occasion, prepared to pay for a quality fine dining experience but disappointed: the spaghettini con 7 fungi was dry and salty and the special rump steak served in a dish of oil. The radicchio was not the right choice to go alongside these mains but we had no advice to the contrary. The desserts were underwhelming. Won’t go back.

  30. Paula S.
    Paula S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Whenever I go to Melbourne for either business or pleasure, this is my favourite restaurant! The food is exceptional, the service is great and it has a very modern, sophisticated decor.

  31. Jessica B.
    Jessica B.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Exceptional food. We had a selection of small snacks, entrees and shared a few pasta dishes. Loved the oysters with grilled cheese. No disappointments, dessert was also a highlight.

  32. John H.
    John H.
    • one review
    2.5/10

    My visit was the second on successive days with different guests. No greeting or Welcome, indifferent to needs - especially gluten free which had been discussed prior to arrival. Food mediocre and service inconsistent. the Cotoletta Milanese was the worst I have ever seen presented - burnt, dry and tough; rather like a small tile. All in all both visits were extremely disappointing and appalling value for money. A place to be seen in rather than eat in.

  33. Wendy W.
    Wendy W.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    A nice lunch, but no signage or number on building outside so a little hard to locate. Prices are on the higher side, and wine list extremely comprehensive, but again on the expensive side with very few bottles under $100.

  34. Marisa L.
    Marisa L.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Welcoming, friendly and accommodating staff. Pasta is delicious and would recommend the vanilla ice-cream dipped in chocolate for dessert.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    5/10

    Regular customers at Cafe Di Stasio in St Kilda and thought we would try Citta for the first time. We had a table that was uncomfortably cramped right in front of the entrance, where I had a waiter squeezing behind my seat throughout the evening. Our meal was unnecessarily rushed, the entree arrived within 10 mins of ordering, and the entree arrived before we had even received the wine list. Very disappointed and we are unlikely to return.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    6.5/10

    Our experience was far from what I considered the restaurant would be best for. Booked for a special occasion, prepared to pay for a quality fine dining experience but disappointed: succulent pork was dry and overcooked, radicchio was also overcooked and underwhelming. Of all the incredible restaurants in Melbourne so disappointed I chose this restaurant

  37. Stanley G.
    Stanley G.
    • one review
    3/10

    Service was chaotic. Food was inconsistent. It!s chosen ambience not suited to those who wish to talk to their partners or to have a romantic evening. In short, a triumph of hype over substance.

  38. Marco G.
    Marco G.
    • one review
    2/10

    I have never written a review before, but this was hands down the worst service I have ever experienced at a restaurant. Had a booking, arrived on time, but was hastily sat at an unset table. 25 minutes passed before we received a menu or asked if we would like water or a drink. Asked 4 times to speak to the sommelier to order a bottle of wine. Did not see him again after his $300 bottle recommendation. Not once was our table actually waited on. For every little thing we wanted we had to grab someone’s attention - plates, cutlery, ordering food, water, drinks, everything. Not once were our glasses topped up by staff. Decided to forego dessert as could not bear to spend more time or money in the place. Has to ask 3 times for the bill and took 25 minutes for it to arrive. The second person stood chatting behind us for 5 minutes and never returned. Shame because the food is great, but service is not commensurate for a 2 chef hat establishment (or a $570 bill for 2 people!).

  39. Georgina D.
    Georgina D.
    • one review
    10/10

    A melbourne icon

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great food . Great service.