8.9/10
Fabulous
based on 226 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Sophie P.
    Sophie P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    I love this restaurant/bar - great atmosphere, very cozy, delicious food! The service was rather slow which is my only complaint - had to chase our drinks order a number of times - but I'll still definitely be going back!

  2. Matt D.
    Matt D.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent service and ambience. We chose one large plate (duck tagine) and two small share plates (roast cauliflower and lamb ribs). Very tasty, and we both agreed it would be fun to return and sample other dishes.

  3. Jody B.
    Jody B.
    • 34 reviews
    8.5/10

    This place doesn't disappoint on the selection of gins available and the helpful staff if you just can't decide. There's a new menu as well which compliments and is good value for money.

  4. Maya G.
    Maya G.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Very cute place with great vibe. Food was surprisingly good as I assumed the place to be heavily cocktail focused. Impressed by bartender. Waitstaff could have been a tad more attentive.

  5. Lisa B.
    Lisa B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We have been here a few times and have never been disappointed. The atmosphere is intimate and the service is excellent, while the food is always amazing. Love the share plate concept.

  6. Róisín T.
    Róisín T.
    • one review
    10/10

    This place is absolutely amazing. My boyfriend and I came for a banquet dinner and drinks- we were beyond impressed with the standard of food and drinks. The staff were also super lovely and helpful! Very friendly staff which aided to such a lovely night!

  7. Alice E.
    Alice E.
    • 12 reviews
    7.5/10

    Excellent gin options as always. Portion size of the Admiral Banquet a little on the small side sadly. I have been before and been given larger portions. Worth the discount to bring the price down - perhaps the reason for smaller size? Will definitely return as I love the venue - good work Matt and the team.

  8. Irene Y.
    Irene Y.
    • 26 reviews
    8.5/10

    Nice atmosphere and decor, lighting is a bit too dim. Almost half the tables have high wooden stools (no back support) which I found too uncomfortable to sit at for dinner so requested to move to proper chairs which luckily they did for me. The lamb tagine and artichokes were absolutely beautiful, but prices are too high for what you get (by about 30%) for me to return.

  9. Jody B.
    Jody B.
    • 34 reviews
    9/10

    This is the fourth time I've eaten at this restaurant and the food is consistently good, and the prices are very reasonably, particularly on a 30% off food fork deal. I applaud the lovely woman who manages both the food orders and the drinks.

  10. Rajeev S.
    Rajeev S.
    • 17 reviews
    8.5/10

    Both the Gin and food spread is really good and tasty. Enjoyed a quiet weekday night for dinner and drinks. Recommend for a catch up with friends and family.

  11. Ali v.
    Ali v.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Dutch Courage was lovely and the service was fabulous. The only negative was the extreme noise that filtered upstairs from downstairs patrons. Next time I would have liked to sit away from the balcony and more in the intimate cool space at the far corner.

  12. Angela W.
    Angela W.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great place on arrival we were met at the bar by an energetic barman that made our drinks. food was exceptional although no exactly what we had ordered. Service needs some looking at plates and glasses stayed on the table way too long and they weren’t even busy!. Overall great place.

  13. Jilli R.
    Jilli R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic food as always!

  14. Claire D.
    Claire D.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    We had the Admiral set menu as everything sounded fantastic on the menu. What we were actually served was OK but didn’t live up to our expectations.

  15. Jessica P.
    Jessica P.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Huge gin list. Very romantic atmosphere. I will come back for sure. The food was really good (artichokes, calamari and pork belly are a must). I really enjoy the restaurant!

  16. Cheryl  W.
    Cheryl W.
    • 22 reviews
    10/10

    The service here was fantastic, super friendly and the meals were all delicious. The atmosphere is very nice and would be good for a romantic dinner, the Gin is pretty good too! We will be back again very soon.

  17. Barbara D.
    Barbara D.
    • 3 reviews
    7.5/10

    Not sure if the waitress was new but we were seated for 10-15 mins before having to get our own menus. We asked for water for the table 3 times then ended up going downstairs to the bar to get our own. ( there were only 3 other tables with people) Not long after we ordered drinks, she went on a meal break, the girl who was behind the bar took over running the food and was friendly and efficient. The food was tasty but not enough to make up for the service, might be back for a drink downstairs but will probably not dine there again. Bit disappointed really.

  18. Kelly m.
    Kelly m.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Staff were excellent when they were at your table however it took a long time to be served, order, and then the drinks were a long wait also. Maybe more staff, otherwise everything was amazing. Compliments to chef. Food was delicious and perfectly portioned ????????

  19. Jon B.
    Jon B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Nice intimate place, and nice spin on food! Plenty of options for food and drink. Somewhat of a hidden gem. Recommended to go there as a couple or as a party.

  20. Marcel B.
    Marcel B.
    • 15 reviews
    9.5/10

    Enjoyed my HBD night with my family. As always food and service are great. Thanks Matt for accomodating us on a busy time...

  21. Donald d.
    Donald d.
    • 9 reviews
    8/10

    Excellent value for what you got. Dishes were healthy, exotic, full of fun ingrediemts. Service good, atmosphere really nice. We were there on a quiet evening but intend to return soon

  22. Emma I.
    Emma I.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely lovely, the waitress was really friendly and seated us in a quiet spot which we appreciated. The only sad thing was the dessert we wanted was unavailable, but everything was still really good.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    4.75/10

    The meals were disappointing

    Dutch Courage Officers' Mess

    Hi, I'm the owner of Dutch Courage and I'm sorry that your visit was below expectations. I'd love to hear from you in person, by phone or email (info@dutchcourage.com.au) to understand in more detail what you were displeased about. With more specific feedback, I am able to discuss with the team and improve our service. Your experience was not consistent with the feedback we have received from guests over the past 6 years and so I'd like to personally address your concerns with you.

  24. Jody B.
    Jody B.
    • 34 reviews
    8/10

    Very good experience, great gin selections and decent food. Great option for pre show at the Tivoli. Friendly staff and very helpful if it’s hard to choose what to drink

  25. Jody B.
    Jody B.
    • 34 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great selection of gins and good quality food

  26. Suzie G.
    Suzie G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic array of cocktails, both the drinks and food were on-point and the service was prompt with the waiters and waitresses offering incredible insight into the menu and drink recommendations. I definitely intend to return!

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    9/10

    Fantastic meals which are very reasonably priced. The cocktails are awesome. Very knowledgeable staff and an enormous variety of Gins. Brilliant!

  28. Jo S.
    Jo S.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Beautiful food, attentive staff with excellent recommendations for food & drink choices.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    9.5/10

    Always good food and service.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    10/10

    Great very pleased, great bar staff

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    10/10

    Feed me Thursday is Sensational!

  32. Antony M.
    Antony M.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great atmosphere, service and food

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    8.25/10

    Beautiful food. The Lamb cigars are a must. Cocktails a little expensive, but delicious. Bar staff who served me had terrible breath and took a very long time to serve us.

    Dutch Courage Officers' Mess

    Hi there, I'm Matt the owner. Thanks for your feedback. I would like to discuss your experience further, particularly the service, so I can improve things. If you could contact me at info@dutchcourage.com.au or 3852-4838 I would be grateful.

  34. Johanna H.
    Johanna H.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome place, loved the atmosphere, the waiter and barman were perfect and helped us have wonderful cocktails and great choice of quality food :) I will certainly recommend and go back to that place!

  35. Rick H.
    Rick H.
    • 20 reviews
    7/10

    Good place for catching up with friends over drinks!

  36. Hannah D.
    Hannah D.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Thanks for a nice meal

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    9.75/10

    Had a fantastic night of gin tasting, banquet dinner and great dining atmosphere with great background music

  38. Marcel B.
    Marcel B.
    • 15 reviews
    9.25/10

    Enjoyed the night with family and excellent food. Service is fantastic and will definitely come back soon.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.75/10

    A lovely evening - the vego banquet was very good and lovely selection of gins. Great low key bar to start your evening or stay for dinner. Can't wait to go back.

  40. Sharon D.
    Sharon D.
    • one review
    9/10

    Staff were amazing and knowledgeable about the different Gins. Food was reasonably priced and very tasty