Back

Reviews El Camino Cantina Melbourne

7.7/10
based on 170 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Phillip A.
    Phillip A.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    There was no mention when booking we onlt had an hour and 15 min booking.

  2. Elena H.
    Elena H.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Great space and awesome service!!!

    El Camino Cantina Melbourne

    Dear Elena, Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your experience at El Camino Fitzroy & we look forward to serving you again soon 😊 Yours sincerely, Rebecca Venue Manager

  3. Lisa K.
    Lisa K.
    • one review
    9/10

    El Camino restaurant was excellent with really good service. We had lots of delicious food and drinks. The churros were wet and doughy on the inside, so we wouldn’t order those again, but everything else was perfect. The steak was tender and cooked to perfection.

  4. Andrea G.
    Andrea G.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Lovely atmosphere n music, food was pretty good (: drinks were better

  5. Michael M.
    Michael M.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Service was a bit slow.....food was nice though.....very loud but nice atmosphere

  6. Anushka E.
    Anushka E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food, margaritas and atmosphere. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Although there were a couple mix ups with our order, we didn't even care all too much because they were great

  7. Jessi B.
    Jessi B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Bruce was extremely welcoming. He made our experience beyond enjoyable! Our food was delicious, and the tower drink was amazing as well. Couldn’t of asked for a more pleasant night.

  8. Cassandra K.
    Cassandra K.
    • one review
    8/10

    The food was awesome and very very friendly staff! Definitely loving the vibe and ambience there.

  9. Mary G.
    Mary G.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    the food was pretty good. the restaurant itself was very noisy as there were lots of parties. the vibe was fun though. i would visit again, probably not on a Saturday night!

  10. Matt T.
    Matt T.
    • one review
    8/10

    Really busy on a Friday night - food and drinks were good - why do I have to do so many characters for my review - I keep on having to enter text just so I can leave feedback? Come on the fork

  11. Melanie  e.
    Melanie e.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    The meals were well presented and tasted great. Unfortunately though when we arrived and were waiting to be seated, it was as if we were invisible. After being seated it took over 20 minutes to be approached to order any drinks or food. Lastly my mum slipped over on something that had been spilled on the floor, and there didn't seem to be much concern at all from the staff which was really disappointing. Overall it's a cool venue with good food. I Just feel there needs to be some improvement on customer service.

  12. Michelle  C.
    Michelle C.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    The atmosphere and setting is excellent however the food was very disappointing. Unfortunately I had to return my burrito bowl as the prawns were over cooked. Also the orders with food intolerances were wrong and had to be sent back as well.

  13. Sarah H.
    Sarah H.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    If you like Mexican god, this is average at best. Everything feels a bit sticky and our cutlery wasn’t clean. However, fantastic atmosphere and the giant frozen margaritas were great. Would recommend for drinks more than dinner

  14. Anthony  P.
    Anthony P.
    • one review
    4/10

    Although the service was quick the food was bland. We were seated in the nosebleeds after reserving a private table. Saying this there was good music

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    1.75/10

    Extremely disappointed in this place! Got there and was taken upstairs to a nice area no one there but us at that time, we ordered some drinks and were so excited. Tables quickly filled up fast and 40 minutes later every single table who entered after us (by 10 mins or more) had their drinks AND their main meals!! Meanwhile we (the first people in the restaurant) had yet to receive our drinks we had ordered 40 minutes prior. We asked multiple times where they were and if we could our food and were told “we will check” or “I don’t take food orders” So we left. And not a single staff member asked if we were okay or why we were leaving. Honestly the worst experience i have ever received. Couldn’t pay me to go back

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    7.75/10

    Very noisy and best suited for groups

  17. Melinda B.
    Melinda B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great decor, music and atmosphere! An all rounder

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    8/10

    Great vibe and authentic food

  19. Victoria L.
    Victoria L.
    • 6 reviews
    7.75/10

    The location we were put wasn't the best as people kept walking past one of the seats and stumbled on it, dropped songs our hats etc and didn't even bother to say sorry nor pick them up etc

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great food and drinks - good value for money. Waiting staff not overly attentive, to big a workload and asked multiple times for drinks and table to be cleared.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    4.75/10

    Overall it was OK. We had a huge table of 15 and were put on a massive square table which meant we could only talk properly to the people next to us - that type of table is weird for large groups as it is too wide. Also there was no natural light and on such a nice day it felt a bit cooped up. After about 20 mins of sitting there we had to call someone over to ask for water. And then ordered some beers. Understand we were waiting for some other members of the group to arrive but at least getting us drinks quickly would have made the experience much nicer. I was disappointed the $2 taco menu only included 3 types of tacos - and they were super basic so most of us ended up ordering extra full-priced tacos or other things. The food was average at best, the epitome of cheap Mexican - tiny tacos, crappy guac and laughable portions of rice and beans with tacos that if we had of paid for individually it would have been ridiculous. Based on food alone, I would not go back, but the ONE good thing is that they split the bill for us!! Thank god for that.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    5/10

    Do not attend if you have anyone under the age of 18 and are not their parent, you will not be able to enter the venue & dine there. Considering I was there with my sister there was security at the front who did not want to let us in. This was a small birthday dinner of about 10-12 people all 28 & over in age. Service was pretty poor & we were over charged. We ordered the taco deal special & this was not put through correctly & when questioned we received some attitude from some of the workers. We were also give a plate full of mixed tacos & then we had to all work out what taco was which. Wasn’t the best birthday experience.

  23. Diego C.
    Diego C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Awesome food, great place... Can’t wait to come back.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9.5/10

    Friendly staff and mango margarita is delicious

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 246 reviews
    10/10

    The best time !

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    8.75/10

    Celebrated my mums birthday here yesterday afternoon and we had an excellent time. We had a waitress who was friendly and even gave my mum free dessert with a candle. Really nice touch. We will be back soon again.

  27. Rachel W.
    Rachel W.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Our waiter was amazing!

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    9.25/10

    My family & I came for lunch to this place yesterday. The decor was bright and wonderful and the staff were so helpful when it came to helping decide what to eat on the menu. Will be coming back with a big group of my friends next time. Great place!

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    9.75/10

    Delicious and great atmosphere

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    6.75/10

    All you can eat tacos (World Taco Day) not worth it unless you have a very large appetite! Also, only given a selection of 3 (3 of each- chicken, cheeseburger and mushroom to start). Tasty food though and free corn chips and salsa appreciated, as was sombrero!

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    6.25/10

    Very poor service. No one comes around to explain menu for 15mins, after a brief explaining, waited another 20mins, approached 3 staffs finally got someone to take order. Clean up our plates were very fast though.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9.75/10

    Staff were cheerful and friendly and the peach margaritas were on point. Love the David Bowie tunes as well!

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great atmosphere! Nachos were amazing!!! The other foods were decent.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great food and drinks

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    5.25/10

    The food let the place down I think. The atmosphere is fantastic. it seemed some of the food was ok but the seafood did not seem fresh.....

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    8.75/10

    Service was friendly and the mango margarita was delicious

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    10/10

    The restaurant had a great vibe, really enjoyed the Margaritas and thought the sombreros were a great touch!

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    9.5/10

    We did the tex mex feast and it was great value for money. Loaded nachos were yum! Strawberry margaritas were delicious too and the staff were friendly and took time to talk to our table. Will be back!

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    2/10

    We ordered drinks which never came. All the food was cold. Water which we had to ask for 3 times was served just before the bill arrived and that was the only warm thing that was served. Really disappointed.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    10/10

    Loved this place ! Will be going back again for sure