Back

Reviews - El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

8.8/10

Fabulous

based on 355 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Denyse S.
    Denyse S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Helpful, courteous, friendly staff. Delicious food, large portions great value. Easy parking close to venue. Have been twice so far, will be going back again soon.????????????

  2. Victoria S.
    Victoria S.
    • one review
    8/10

    Staff were excellent and friendly! Food was pretty decent, drinks were amazing. My table was right next to the bar which was inconvenient as other patrons kept bumping us and were really loud.

  3. Stuart G.
    Stuart G.
    • one review
    6/10

    Very bland. Have dinner at another location and food was much fresher and tasted much better. Friendly staff but disappointed with the food. Nachos topped with chilli con carne and maybe 2 tablespoons of chilli doesn’t seem appropriate. I love Mexican food and make much better at home, not with packet spices.

  4. Alana R.
    Alana R.
    • 9 reviews
    7.5/10

    The price of the share meal is high for small portions

  5. Michelle G.
    Michelle G.
    • one review
    9/10

    Lovely food and service. Hard to have a conversation with the loud groups behind us.

  6. Lorenzo P.
    Lorenzo P.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Great atmosphere and well adapted to COVID-19.

  7. Elise D.
    Elise D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great staff - super friendly who made every effort to make sure our visit was fun. Tasty food - highly recommend the fish tacos and the classic margaritas

  8. Chloe L.
    Chloe L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We loved the service and the experience. Thanks to Rose and Luca especially????

  9. Georgia B.
    Georgia B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing!

  10. Shannon B.
    Shannon B.
    • 3 reviews
    5/10

    We ordered the Combination Fajitas, considering you are paying for double meat the sides provided were TINY! 2 table spoons or rice, beans, pico de gallo, Cheese and sour cream is poor form. It was $59 for 5 - 6 slices of chicken and maybe 3 extra soft tortillas is not worth the money. We should have just ordered 2 sets of Fajitas for $6 extra to get better value for money. When this place first opened it was good, now I wouldn't go back.

  11. Katie G.
    Katie G.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Vibrant colours, atmosphere and great music. Service with a smile, a little slow but the restaurant was packed. Big servings and great variety on menu. We will be back ????

  12. Jacob F.
    Jacob F.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    I had an amazing night friendly staff great service excellent food. I highly recommend this place for a fun night with friends they made me feel like home.

  13. Tracy M.
    Tracy M.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff was excellent and welcoming. The atmosphere was fantastic. The value for money was superb. The food and margaritas were amazing! We’ll definitely go again!

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Thanks Tracey for this lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed everything about us. We love to see you again soon. Raju

  14. Tracey M.
    Tracey M.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    This was not the place to go for a family dinner . We could not have a conversation due to pumping music and everyone yelling over the top of it . Sadly they ran out of my dinner choice , vege nachos. The service was friendly but sadly everything else was a bit average .

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Hi Tracey, Thank you for your review. I agree that we get loud and funky on Friday and Saturday because of both music and number of guest we have in venue and that's our style. I apologize that it wasn't your type and we were out the the item you liked. But happy to know that you loved the service. I recommend you to visit us during the week days and you will be surprised to see that how our place will meet your exact expectations. thanks

  15. Nigel s.
    Nigel s.
    • one review
    10/10

    Only thing was we asked for table water but received water in a bottle which we were charge for

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Hi Nigel, Thank you for your review. There must certainly have been some misunderstanding with the staff member and I apologize for that. But we are glad that you enjoyed our place. and I hope to see you soon.

  16. Debbie M.
    Debbie M.
    • one review
    10/10

    This is one of the best places I have been for drinks and food. The atmosphere is fun and makes you feel relaxed and happy. Staff are alway friendly and look like they enjoy working there., which says a lot. They are always busy so you must book otherwise you might be disappointed. The food is Devine and margaritas A1.

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Hi Debbie, Thank you for such a nice review, we are so pleased to hear that. hope to see you soon again. Raju

  17. Marissa S.
    Marissa S.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Great food - coeliac options which were very tasty!

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Dear Marissa, Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. regards, Management

  18. Rob D.
    Rob D.
    • one review
    5/10

    The frozen margaritas is amazing . But the tacos is disgusting terrible is the worst taco I have eaten . They definitely need to review this tacos

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Dear Rob, Thank you so much for your honest review. We appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously. We will definitely have a discussion with the chef and see if we can make any changes on the selection and recipe of the tacos. I'm glad that you liked our margaritas. Please come back again to try them. regards, Management

  19. Shane G.
    Shane G.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Love this place - always good atmosphere. $2 taco Tuesday was worth it. Cheeseburger, chicken or vegetable options. Will deff be back for sure.

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Dear Shane, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you liked the tacos and the promotion on it every Tuesday. We hope to see you again to try rest of our amazing stuff. regards, Management

  20. Kerri A.
    Kerri A.
    • one review
    9/10

    The staff seemed very busy for a night where it wasn’t that packed, and we had to ask a few times for things. The cutlery tins were empty and no napkins. I love the complimentary sombreros and corn chip station... it just needs a non spicy dip like sour cream to balance it out.

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Dear Kerry, Thank you for your review. I apologize for the type of experience you had, I have discussed with the chef about your suggestion. I'm also glad that you loved our free nachos and sombreros. I would like to invite you back again and would like to ensure you that your experience will be on another level this time. See you soon. Management

  21. Raushan F.
    Raushan F.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    It was a little loud but excellent drinks and food as always

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Dear Raushan, Thank you for such a nice review. We hope to see you again soon. regards, management

  22. Raushan F.
    Raushan F.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Amazing atmosphere, excellent service, ot critique is that the food can be a little expensive for the price but the drinks are reasonably priced.

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Dear Raushan, Thank you for your honest review. hope to see you again soon. Management

  23. Mikaela P.
    Mikaela P.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    The food and margaritas here are fantastic but the set up and service is lacking. If you have a larger group you end up squished together on long tables which are set way too close to other larger groups. You need to squeeze past not only your own parties but other parties too just to go and order at the bar (no table service when we went). There is little room to breath, and in summer nights you almost die from the heat. I had a much better time with a smaller group in the cooler months.

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Dear Mikaela, Thank you so much for your review. I apologize that you expectations were not met. We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction, so we will take your feedback very seriously and start working on that. Could you please email me personally at rpokhrel@elcaminocantina.com.au, so we can discuss this matter further. regards, Management

  24. Jane W.
    Jane W.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food was amazing the nacho sizes are huge especially the share nacho platter, service was fast and friendly. Place was clean and the atmosphere was fun with great music.

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Dear Jane, Thank you for the great review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed everything about our place. We hope to see you soon again. thanks Management

  25. Russell J.
    Russell J.
    • 25 reviews
    10/10

    Great tacos and $2 on Tuesday. Cheeseburger taco and chicken taco didn’t try the vege option. Was fast and tasty. Margaritas were nice. Waitress was also helpful and good

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Dear Russell, Thank you for a great review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything about our place. We hope to see you again soon. regards, Management

  26. Susie R.
    Susie R.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Good tasting food, slim on the portion, paid extra for the gauc (for the $5 extra, not really worth it!) I paid for the bill at our table & while my friend was waiting for me near the bar, she was asked twice to pay for the food bill by 2 different servers. I guess people walk out without paying but I would’ve thought other servers communicate with each other first before asking.

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Dear Susie, Thank you for your review. This is not certainly how we want out guest to feel. I apologize that you were treated that way. I will address this matter on our staff meeting and to the chefs and guarantee that your next visit will be never like before. regards, management

  27. Jaklyn S.
    Jaklyn S.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    In theory, the restaurant seems great, and looks it. But $20 for the tiniest bite size veggie tacos that look NOTHING like the promo / marketing shots, is pretty disappointing. Add that to the lack of ventilation, extreme humidity and super loud music, it kills the initial vibe. The only redeeming quality is the $7.50 margaritas during happy hour. I’d go back for those. Otherwise, I’ll stay clear, thanks!

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Dear Jaklyn, Thank you for your review. It's disappointing that you were not impressed with the portioning of the food, so I have addressed this matter to our chef. We operate our Air conditioning to their full potential in these hot and humid days but still sometimes they appear to be weak against this soaring heat. Next time you visit, please let us know so that we can sit you somewhere bit cooler. regards, Management

  28. Rachael  P.
    Rachael P.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    It was chaotic in there. Fair enough it’s xmas and staff were completely slammed and doing their best to cope, but it wasn’t a great night. We waited almost half an hour to get water to our table despite asking twice (and in 38 heat this felt like hours). We also had to find a waitress and request to order food after waiting for a long time. 7/8 dishes came ok, but my vego burrito came with beef in it so had to be sent back. I then got another beef burrito sent to me 10 mins later and it had to send it back again. As everyone else was finishing their meals, I finally got met vego burrito. To add to that we had to request knives and forks and napkins to our table as food was delivered and waiters walked off without leaving us any cutlery. All a bit of a shambles really and not what I hoped for on my birthday night out. This is without mentioning the mix up with the booking prior to arriving which was eventually sorted. Staff were friendly but clearly very busy and stressed. We felt sorry for them. Food wasn’t anything to write home about so want like it was worth the wait - definitely not in a rush to return

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    ear Rachael, Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you had here at El Camino, Bowen Hills , this is certainly not how we want our guests to feel. I appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously. Its very disappointing that you expectations were not met. We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction, so could you kindly email me personally on rpokhrel@elcaminocantina.com.au so that we could discuss more about this issue. Waiting for your response. General Manager

  29. Jason G.
    Jason G.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent food value for both quality and portion size. Staff were friendly and attentivee. Can get noisy when it’s busy but a great atmosphere.

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again. General Manager

  30. Mary C.
    Mary C.
    • one review
    10/10

    great atmosphere, great service and food, however they could have mentioned happy hour when we arrived as we didn't know about it and by the time we found out.............it was too late :-(

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Thank you for your review. Hope to see you soon again. General Manager

  31. Majella D.
    Majella D.
    • 2 reviews
    3.5/10

    The Sangria was not exciting. The fish taco was enjoyable but the ground mince was very dry, so not pleasant and the steak taco was lacking in flavour and not chilli hot as the description suggested it would be. The service was poor, no one came back to see if we were wishing to have another drink, in fact I phoned the restaurant from the table just to ask for service..... very disappointed

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    ear Majella, Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you had here at El Camino, Bowen Hills , this is certainly not how we want our guests to feel. I appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously. Its very disappointing that your expectations were not met. We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction, so could you kindly send me an email on rpokhrel@elcaminocantina.com.au, So we can discuss more about this issue. Waiting for your response. Best wishes, General Manager

  32. Adrieanne H.
    Adrieanne H.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Always lovely staff always happy to help! Cheap after work drinks ♡ 4-6pm #$7.50Margaritas. Great atmosphere. Don't know what else to write but it makes me write alters 120 characters.

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Dear Adrieanne, Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We are so glad that you liked us so much. I hope to see you again at El camino soon. regards, General manager

  33. Mike c.
    Mike c.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Friendly service and tasty fajitas

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Dear Michael, Thank you for your review. See you soon again. Regards, General Manager

  34. Natalia A.
    Natalia A.
    • 2 reviews
    4.5/10

    We've only heard good things about this place, however, our experience did not live up to the hype. When the staff finally took our order, it took a long time for the food to be brought out. The luke warm food was ok... Then the waitress forgot about our drinks order. The sangria tasted like cordial and not authentic at all. A surchage is also charged on Sundays which wasn't disclosed on the menu - so that was a nice surprise at the end.

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Dear Natalia, Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you had here at El Camino, Bowen Hills , this is certainly not how we want our guests to feel. I appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously. Its very disappointing that your expectations were not met. We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction, so could you kindly send me an email on rpokhrel@elcaminocantina.com.au, So we can discuss more about this issue. Waiting for your response. Best wishes, General Manager

  35. Kevin B.
    Kevin B.
    • one review
    10/10

    I think 10/10 explains it all. Service, quick. Food, well presented, great fresh taste, we had the Tacos. Cost, excellent for the food and great location.

  36. Melissa P.
    Melissa P.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Beautifully decorated restaurant with bright coloured paintings and neon lights. However it was difficult to order as there seemed to be only one waitress for the whole area and it was very busy due to daily special. Was given the incorrect flavour margarita and then questioned as though it wasn't the incorrect flavour, turned out it was after all. Margarita was also served in a beer glass. The food was good value since it was the daily special. This was the second time visiting and I can say both times there were issues with staffing / incorrect orders.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9.75/10

    They need more fine details on the promos. Sign said $2 tacos all day but go in to find it’s only 3 types from the menu. Bit disappointing. Tory(?) had fantastic customer service, she was super friendly and helpful Great atmosphere It was super busy, sometimes it was hard to find a waiter

  38. Jacob F.
    Jacob F.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    cadillac margaritas with tacos the best, service and venue environment was really good.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    7/10

    Good Mexican with good margaritas

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Hi We really appreciate you enjoyed our food and drinks however our standards most be giving customers a 10 score on service therefore I would like to invite back again and I will personally take care of your table. thanks for your feedback, please do not hesitate to contact me so we can arrange a new booking for you with a margarita tower on the house. thanks, Juan Sepulveda jsepulveda@elcaminocantina.com.au

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    9.75/10

    7.50 margaritas for students and hospo people on Monday’s! Free Nachos only thing is you have to pay guacamole but it is worth it

    El Camino Cantina Showgrounds

    Hi if you like Monday’s at el cam then you will love weekends. We also have deals for all week days. Thanks so much for your review,