Back

Reviews El Camino Chermside

8.6/10

Fabulous

based on 144 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Claudia M.
    Claudia M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Margaritas are the best!

  2. Sara G.
    Sara G.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing!

  3. Quin S.
    Quin S.
    • one review
    2/10

    We booked online to eat here. We waited at the front area to be seated for 10 minutes. Within this time, two groups of people in front of us left due to lack of service, and we also left after not being acknowledged by staff. Extremely disappointed in the customer service. Even just acknowledgement of waiting would have been appreciated.

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Quin, thanks for taking the time to review. Our goal is to consistently provide our customers with a 5 star experience and as a new venue we are experiencing some slight teething issues... any and all feedback that will help grow is always welcome! If you could please email us at jramirez@elcaminocantina.com.au, with your contact details, I will reach out directly to discuss your experience further. Thanks! Juan Ramirez - General Manager El Camino Chermside.

  4. Cheryl B.
    Cheryl B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Lovely Atmosphere, fun and vibrant. Food delicious with waiting staff attentive and patient. They took the time to explain the various menu items for us newbies .A lovely dinner - thank you.

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Cheryl, thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad you had a great time and hope to welcome you back again soon! Thanks, El Camino Chermside.

  5. Tracy H.
    Tracy H.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    We were told to order at the bar but there was no one serving and waited 10 minutes. Our entree came at the same time as my meal and my husbands meal. I had to get up and complain because our friends meals hadn’t arrived by the time we had finished our meals. No apologies were given. My husband went to this restaurant when it first opened and had the exact same experience but put it down to them working out the kinks upon opening. We will NEVER go back and we will NEVER recommend going there.

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Tracy, thanks for taking the time to review. Our goal is to consistently provide our customers with a 5 star experience and as a new venue we are experiencing some slight teething issues... any and all feedback that will help grow is always welcome! If you could please email us at jramirez@elcaminocantina.com.au, with your contact details,I wlill reach out directly to discuss your experience further. Thanks! Juan Ramirez - General Manager El Camino Chermside

  6. Joseph C.
    Joseph C.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Margaritas are amazing!!!

    El Camino Chermside

    Thanks for the positive feedback Joseph! Come back soon!

  7. Clare H.
    Clare H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great atmosphere, delicious food and excellent service - only complaint was a wobbly table which meant I left wearing some of my strawberry margarita. Brisket burrito was sensational - we will be back!

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Claire, thanks for the review. Our goal is to consistently provide our customers with a 5 star experience (and nothing less!) so we appreciate your feedback. Come back soon

  8. Debbie B.
    Debbie B.
    • one review
    4/10

    We waited for 10 minutes before being seated with a booking. The food was average and the place was extremely hot. There are not enough staff. The waitress did her best considering the amount of people per waitress.

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Debbie, thanks for taking the time to review. Our goal is to consistently provide our customers with a 5 star experience and as a new venue we are experiencing some slight teething issues... any and all feedback that will help grow is always welcome! If you could please email us at jramirez@elcaminocantina.com.au with your contact details, I will reach out directly to discuss your experience further. Thanks! Juan Ramirez - General Manager El Camino Chermside

  9. Sue M.
    Sue M.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Second visit here and the food was much better than first visit (thought I'd give it another try) Good atmosphere and we enjoyed the Happy Hour drinks

  10. Jae B.
    Jae B.
    • 5 reviews
    5.5/10

    Booked table for 8:45pm, they have bookings on The Fork til 9:30pm so thought we just had plenty of time for a nice dinner after a movie. I am Coeliac so checked online that there was GF on the menu and liked the touch of salsa and corn chips on arrival (well, that is what it states on their website). When we arrived there was no table for us (so much for booking) and they organised a small table squeezes next to the cash register and computer which meant there were wait staff at all times 20cm away from us (no joke). There was no offer of salsa and CC, I expect because the tub of CC’s was empty (yep,,we were right next it as well) Went to order the GF food from the Vegan menu and was told it was not GF, they said I could have a garden salad and that was it. As I had a salad for lunch I declined and did not order any food. Husband ordered the brisket and it arrived in less than 5 minutes and he said it was delicious. We were chatting and he was eating slowly and enjoying a margarita when at 9:30pm we were told we had to pay now as the table service finishes at 9:30pm (feel sorry for anyone who booked a table for 9:30pm). So we paid and got out of there. Shame the service is so bad as my husband said the food and drink was awesome, I did wonder if they had just run out of GF wraps, rather than lying on their menu, but unfortunately we will not risk it again to find out Note: There is a surcharge for debit and credit cards, but none for eftpos or cash

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Jae, thanks for taking the time to review. As a brand new venue we are experiencing some teething issues and any feedback/advice that can help us grow is always welcome. We’re sorry to hear about your experience. If you could please email me at jramirez@elcaminocantina.com.au, with your contact details, I will reach out directly to discuss your experience further. Thanks, Juan Ramirez - General Manager El Camino Chermside

  11. Daniela R.
    Daniela R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Tacos were great! Margaritas even better. Came with my sister and her boyfriend and we all enjoyed very much! Have been here already couple of times and have always enjoyed it! Highly recommended! Specially the fajitas are to die for ????????

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Daniela, thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad you had a great time and hope to welcome you back again soon! Thanks, Juan Ramirez - General Manager El Camino Chermside

  12. Tammy  M.
    Tammy M.
    • one review
    8/10

    The atmosphere was great, but we were really squashed in which made trying to enjoy the meal difficult when staff and other diners were squeezing past and bumping you. I think taco Tuesday is a gimmick with no real choices so 7/9 of us ordered from the menu. Over all the meal was tasty. Staff in general were pleasant. Full disclosure about the 2hr table time would have been good to know at time of booking rather then staff telling us halfway through our allotted time when we were enjoying drinks and hadn’t yet ordered. We’re glad we went but can’t see ourselves rushing back.

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Tammy, thanks for the feedback. As a brand new venue we are experiencing some teething issues and any feedback/advice that can help us grow is always welcome! We hope you come back to visit us again soon. Thanks, Juan Ramirez - General Manager El Camino Chermside

  13. Chloe B.
    Chloe B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Staff were really nice. The meals and drinks were ready quite fast. Awesome atmosphere.

    El Camino Chermside

    Thanks for the positive feedback Chloe! Come back soon!

  14. Adrian  D.
    Adrian D.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Good concept just lacking on the food side of things with bland, barely warmed to serve dishes which must be pre prepared in bulk early in the day .

  15. Talisha P.
    Talisha P.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    Value for money was no the greatest food wise. Cocktails are amazing.

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Talisha, thanks for taking the time to review. Our goal is to consistently provide our customers with a 5 star experience and nothing less! If you could take the time to provide more information to help us achieve this goal that would be greatly appreciated. Please email us at jramirez@elcaminocantina.com.au, Thanks, Juan Ramirez - General Manager El Camino Chermside

  16. Kay M.
    Kay M.
    • one review
    10/10

    The El Camino at Chermside was a fun night, it started with drinks and bingo followed by our main meals which we all loved and a great atmosphere. The staff are all exceptional. I will definitely be returning.

  17. Claudia P.
    Claudia P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Welcoming. Food delicious. The only thing is that I don’t know why they would charge a $20 surcharge when it’s a Sunday - it’s not a Public Holiday.

  18. Jenna B.
    Jenna B.
    • one review
    4/10

    Terrible service, they seemed annoyed when we asked to order, our orders not taken until we hunted people down, our food and drinks were delayed, our table never got set (we had no cutlery or napkins), we booked a week in advance but they gave our table to someone else so we got shoved in a corner with 3 people at a 2 seater table, food seemed like it had been prepared in bulk - chewy & messy. Not worth our $100. We won’t be going back.

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Jenna, thanks for taking the time to review. As a brand new venue we are experiencing some teething issues and any feedback/advice that can help us grow is always welcome. We’re sorry to hear about your experience. If you could please email us at jramirez@elcaminocantina.com.au, with your contact details, I will reach out directly to discuss your experience further. Thanks, Juan Ramirez - General Manager El Camino Chermside

  19. Sara G.
    Sara G.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing atmosphere! Delicious food

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Sara, thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad you had a great time and hope to welcome you back again soon! Thanks, Juan Ramirez - General Manager El Camino Chermside

  20. Leeanne B.
    Leeanne B.
    • one review
    9/10

    The food was sensational and the service was great. Lots of fun atmosphere. Table could be a little bigger to hold everything. Make sure you book or you may miss out.

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Leeanne, thanks for the review. Our goal is to consistently provide our customers with a 5 star experience (and nothing less!) so we appreciate your feedback. Come back soon! Juan Ramirez - General Manager El Camino Chermside

  21. Maddaline E.
    Maddaline E.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    The staff were very flustered which was understandable as it was very busy! The food was amazing as per usual, and the overall feel of the place was lovely. The music was at a great volume and the margarita was amazing !!

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Maddalinne, thanks for the review. Our goal is to consistently provide our customers with a 5 star experience (and nothing less!) so we appreciate your feedback. Come back soon! Juan Ramirez - General Manager El Camino Chermside

  22. Alicia A.
    Alicia A.
    • one review
    6/10

    The food was good however the service was less than desired - when seated we were not asked for drinks within 10 minutes, we then had to ask again for a second round after writing for some time and to order food, the waitress forgot to take an order for one person on the table and when we told another waiter our waiter shot a look of disgust before realising she was wrong. Food was also lukewarm due to sitting on the counter for some time. Average experience (especially as paying extra on a Sunday) but could be improved with better service processes

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Alicia, thanks for taking the time to review. Our goal is to consistently provide our customers with a 5 star experience and as a new venue we are experiencing some slight teething issues, all feedback that will help grow is always welcome! If you could please email us at jramirez@elcaminocantina.com.au, with your contact details, I will reach out directly to discuss your experience further. Thanks! Juan Ramirez - General Manager El Camino Chermside

  23. Juan T.
    Juan T.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Great environment!!! Music was not too loud or too quiet, we could have a conversation without any noise issues. Food was delicious!!! Great place.

    El Camino Chermside

    Thanks for the positive feedback Juan! Come back soon! Juan Ramirez - General Manager El Camino Chermside

  24. Michael S.
    Michael S.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly staff and excellent food. Pollo quesadilla is so tasty and I loved the variety of Mexican beers, dos equis is the best one. Btw free corn chips!!

  25. Michael S.
    Michael S.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent service and vibes, Açai Margarita is absolutely delicious! Not a place for kids but perfect to enjoy with friends. Food is good, especially the tacos and beef fajitas.

  26. Patrick c.
    Patrick c.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Food was great service was quick staff were very attentive with ensuring we were happy with every thing and that we had enjoyed our meals and drinks will be coming back again for sure

  27. Jasmin P.
    Jasmin P.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff were nice and the service was great! We really enjoyed the food and margaritas, it was an enjoyable night. Would definitely visit again

  28. Michael S.
    Michael S.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    $2 Tacos were delicious but not too big, so we ordered loaded nachos to share and they were even better. The Acai margarita is my fav now. Will come back soon!!!

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 299 reviews
    10/10

    Went for a quick lunch but We wanted to stay longer, great atmosphere and service, food is not as good as in Mexico but is a very good version of it.

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi, thank you for your amazing feedback from our venue. All the team works pretty hard to give an amazing experience to all our guests. I wish to see you around again, many thanks!

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    10/10

    I never thought a place could be that fun on a Monday, Loaded nachos are delicious and the Margaritas frozen are very good! Our waitress was amazing, I don’t remember her name but she gave us a really good service!

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi, Thanks for your feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and take on board all feedback from our guests. Its great to hear that you enjoyed our food and service in our venue. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks.

  31. Sarah W.
    Sarah W.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Terrible. Will never go back. We were there at 5:30pm on a Thursday night and the music was so loud we could literally not hear the person sitting next to us speak. Very unpleasant to the point of the majority of us getting headaches. The tables were so close together we could barely move and were getting continually bumped by the people behind us. Service was slow and the only thing we ordered before deciding to leave (gucomole) was below average. We left before ordering our mains and will not go back in future.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    10/10

    Great place great food and service

  33. Lauren T.
    Lauren T.
    • one review
    1.5/10

    Service was absolutely pathetic, even though it wasn't very busy. We had to flag someone down to take our orders and our plates were not collected even though we sat there for quite a while talking. No one spoke to us, checked in on us, offered more drinks. They did walk past us lots but! The only minor positive was that the food came out quickly although it was nothing special. Very disappointing.

    El Camino Chermside

    Hi Lauren, First and foremost, let me apologise for the experience in which you had at our venue, I have taken all feedback on board and consider it as an opportunity to improve. I would be more than thankful if you give as a second chance to make a better experience - please do not hesitate to contact me at my email jramirez@elcaminocantina.com.au and I will see to it that your booking is looked after by myself personally.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    10/10

    We really enjoy the tacos!

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    10/10

    Tacolicous! We surely be back

  36. Gloria C.
    Gloria C.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    The food was quite dry but the restaurant had a nice aesthetic and fun environment.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    10/10

    We love the margarita! Best place nice food

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    10/10

    Great place for drinks and Had nachos

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    10/10

    Nice place to have margarita with friends and have some tacos!

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    7.25/10

    It was fun night catching up with my friends because it had an awesome atmosphere. However, the cook on our food was disappointing as the beef was really dry in both my friend and I’s dishes. The Fajita’s were extremely overpriced for the serving size.