Back

Reviews El Grotto Bar and Taqueria

  1. Jen T.
    Jen T.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    An enjoyable night, great service, tasty tacos, good craft beer

  2. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    9/10

    Great atmosphere, tasty food & friendly staff.

  3. Juia R.
    Juia R.
    • one review
    9/10

    We have eaten Mexican before and it always hot spicy . The meal we had was spicy but you could tast the food and so delicious

  4. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great party atmosphere Friendly staff and good music from DJ

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    9.5/10

    Relaxed and good separation of seating

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    9.5/10

    I go here all the time

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8.75/10

    We loved the food and service was really good, the only downside when dining with kids there are a lot of smokers sitting outside

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8.75/10

    Awesome atmosphere! Very fun decor and amazing drinks selection! Would love to go back and take full advantage of the tequila selection! Food was amazing and very well priced with weekly deals as well! Would recommend for some fun drinks and bites with friends.

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great value on a dimmi deal

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    7.5/10

    Really good food and almost all gluten free

  11. Sharon C.
    Sharon C.
    • 25 reviews
    8/10

    Great value on the 50% off food dining. Good service

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    8/10

    Came here for lunch with the Dimmi discount. The highlight for us was the corn, beef rib tacos, and the chorizo quesadillas. Service was prompt and polite. Good selection of Mexican beers and tequila.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    8.25/10

    Food was really good and service was excellent

  14. N M.
    N M.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great,clean excellent service. The place is chilled comfortable and excellent food. Must do the cup of street corn - fabulous. Great value for money the food is excellent. The bar is priced as expected not the cheapest, but for a great atmosphere its not over priced.

  15. Diane S.
    Diane S.
    • one review
    9/10

    We shared a Taco meal with added sides recommended by the waiting staff... who also recommended a beautiful cocktail! Great place with a chilled vibe and friendly staff.

  16. Mirka R.
    Mirka R.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Food was fantastic, extremely friendly staff provided great service

  17. Franco M.
    Franco M.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Nice food and drinks although food portion were quite small for the price .

  18. Matthew R.
    Matthew R.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food and drinks, will defintely return soon!

  19. Sarah G.
    Sarah G.
    • one review
    10/10

    The tastiest and most authentic Mexican food outside of Mexico! Outstanding service and impressive range of tequila & mezcal, not to mention delectable wines. Highly recommended.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    8/10

    Good value with the 50% off Dimmi deal. Food is good and great selection of drinks.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great food with half price deal.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8.25/10

    Food and service was great

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    9.75/10

    very cosy place with friendly staff and good food, will be going back again

  24. Jenna Q.
    Jenna Q.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Great vibe - had a live band which was a bonus and really enjoyable background music. Great for a mid-week date night!

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    9.25/10

    Excellent food and service. would recommend

  26. Alishia G.
    Alishia G.
    • one review
    10/10

    BEST COCKTAILS EVER

  27. Madeleine H.
    Madeleine H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food comes super quick, it’s cheap and delicious!

  28. Karen V.
    Karen V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Brilliant staff... They made our evening very enjoyable. Can't wait to return again ????

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    9.5/10

    friendly and caring staff

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9/10

    love love this place!

  31. Peter H.
    Peter H.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    We were the most senior citizens on the premises by 30 years

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    6.75/10

    A fun venue for drinks and a snack, food was ok.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great atmosphere and friendly staff

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    8/10

    Food was not the normal tapas and was lovely. Ambience was nice and will only be better when the Scarborough foreshore is finished Only down side in the Alfresco section at the front, they still allowed smoking so that ruined it as the smoke came our way in the breeze.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    7.5/10

    Good food and cocktails.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9.25/10

    Music was a bit loud but I guess that is the atmosphere they maybe want. I had the scallops they were great, food is not overly spicy and a pulled pork that is not too sweet YaY

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    7/10

    Servings were small for price, but generally quite tasty. More of a pub/bar feel then a restaurant.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    8.5/10

    Staff were great and made cocktails for us not on the list. Food was awesome. It was a little loud for us - but we were expecting a restaurant, not a bar - so its not fair to say it was too loud, just louder than we hoped. I

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 246 reviews
    5.75/10

    Awkward seating, food was ok

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    7/10

    Service is great, food is average, some things are good and some things are so small but cost the same as the larger meals. The music was so loud we couldn’t talk to one another, we had to move outside to finish out drinks. Better venue for. Drink rather than food and a conversation