Back

Reviews - Elsternwick Hotel

8.5/10

Fabulous

based on 125 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Jenny H.
    Jenny H.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    The staff were great.Order Ribs the meat was dry and tough. Did not enjoy my meal. Really dissatisfied. Other people Senior meals they were happy with their meals.

  2. Brett P.
    Brett P.
    • one review
    7/10

    Online booking service good. Have been several times before. It had to be said the food was nice but this time the parma was humble size and not memorable. Steak was beautiful but although it would have been 200g originally, it seemed to have shrunk quite a bit in the cooking. I guess what I’m saying is we felt the serving sizes were a bit on the average side. Pot size of lemon squash was $3.70. That was a deal breaker for the future unfortunately even though our intention was to support them. It was sad that for dinner on a Saturday night, my wife were the only ones apart from another couple. However, if we don’t continue to patronise pubs and restaurants (and give honest feedback so they can improve if need be),, they won’t survive. .

  3. Laura B.
    Laura B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Such a beautiful spot for a family catch up. The menu is very traditional pub style and ranges from garlic breads and calamari to Chicken Parma and ribs (half and full serves). They have a great seniors menu for Grandparents too. A lovely atmosphere with a Bistro and a back bar.

  4. Janine H.
    Janine H.
    • one review
    8/10

    We enjoyed our dinner, the steak was beautifully cooked and the sticky date was delicious. We found the staff to be very attentive and catered to our needs. Very enjoyable

  5. Jeremy P.
    Jeremy P.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Good place for a quiet, reasonably priced easy meal. Unfortunately steak was over cooked and there was a bug in the side salad. Place probably could be a bit cleaner as well. Not perfect, but not terrible!

    Elsternwick Hotel

    Jeremy, this is very disappointing to hear - I left a message on your phone earlier to discuss this further if you could please contact me at your earliest convenience. Kind regards Jenny Needham Venue Manager

  6. Geoff H.
    Geoff H.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent seniors menu with great value and quality food served promptly and courteously Beverages also at great prices. Pleasant setting. Efficient Service.

  7. Alan B.
    Alan B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We both ordered the "seniors" meal, I had the steak, with chips and salad, my friend had the fish and chips. both were well presented and the servings were just right, not too large but more than sufficient. The steak was beautifully cooked, the chips fresh and the salad just right and all for $9.95 - great value. Will certainly go again.

  8. Jennifer M.
    Jennifer M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Staff were very welcoming and attentive. Food was very nice and have always liked the almost old-time atmosphere of this historic hotel. Is a good meeting spot for a quiet lunch and catchup

  9. BRIDGET A.
    BRIDGET A.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great to have our pub open again. Best parma around and great service. Missing the bread rolls but the garlic bread is amazing. Looking forward to my next visit.

  10. Peter B.
    Peter B.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    The staff did everything they could to make our meal a great experience. Some restrictions due to COVID-19 but just pleased they are open and happy to support them

  11. Cynthia G.
    Cynthia G.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Best burgers in town!

  12. Rob S.
    Rob S.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had the chicken parma and the schnitzel, food was excellent, table service was quick and the waitress friendly. Price was good. Had a very enjoyable dinner at this great venue. We be coming back.

  13. Lee H.
    Lee H.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    To go out after covid, we knew we had to book, the meet and greet was wonderful, the satisfaction of table separation was comfortable and the cleanliest measures were responsible The steak and fish and chips were very good, OMG, to have a glass of wine and beer delivered to the table, how exciting Well done to the management, head chef and team at the Elsternwick Hotel, cannot wait to return

  14. Alison H.
    Alison H.
    • 2 reviews
    4.5/10

    My steak was chewy & full of fat, couldn’t eat it. Even spat some of it out. Chips were cold & overcooked. Disappointing experience food wise. Great service

    Elsternwick Hotel

    Alison, I am sorry to hear that your steak wasn't up to our normal high quality on your visit on Wednesday. I have sent you an email to your personal email address to address the issue further. I hope we get to see you again soon. Regards,

  15. Tony R.
    Tony R.
    • one review
    10/10

    With all the COVID issues, they didn't let me down, Complied with all the restrictions but was still very enjoyable, tasy & good value with a friendly smile & service Will be back great for a Fri lunch with mates

  16. Geoff H.
    Geoff H.
    • 13 reviews
    8/10

    Always love the Wick - Good value food, drinks and service. Go every Friday (last 10 years) Great to be back. Always a winner. Best wishes for continued support

  17. BRIDGET A.
    BRIDGET A.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Such a great experience, the staff were just so lovely, service amazing and food was great. Great to have a pub meal again and for the staff to make it such a great experience given all the restrictions and changes and what they have been through. Highly recommend.

  18. Cynthia G.
    Cynthia G.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    I love going to this hotel for dinner. Their burgers are sensational and the calamari is tender, juicy and delicious. There is a family atmosphere in a beautiful heritage building.

    Elsternwick Hotel

    Great feedback Cynthia. Thank you for the 5 star review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know.

  19. Deborah B.
    Deborah B.
    • 3 reviews
    6.5/10

    Great looking pub inside.. Food was ok...my potatoes were

    Elsternwick Hotel

    Hi Deb, thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. Sorry that the food wasn't up to our normal standards. Please let us know on the day if there is ever any issue. We are more than happy to address and rectify any concerns.

  20. Lucy M.
    Lucy M.
    • 5 reviews
    7.5/10

    Nice pub with good bistro and relaxed bar with great atmosphere. Food was good and service pleasant. We enjoyed our meals and the kitchen has with a very varied menu.

    Elsternwick Hotel

    Hi Lucy, Thank you for your detailed feedback. Great food and service is what we strive to deliver. We are pleased to hear that we succeeded,

  21. Patrick L.
    Patrick L.
    • 9 reviews
    7/10

    My partner and I had the Valentines Day menu for two. It was quite reasonable for a hotel bistro. The entree was lovely, to share it was varied and tasty. Well done. We both ordered the salmon fillet. It was a little overdone for my liking but my partner really enjoyed it. The mashed potato was only reasonable. Dessert was chocolate to share and was enjoyable. The wine list was varied and quite okay.

    Elsternwick Hotel

    Hi Patrick, thank you for choosing to dine with us on Friday and providing your detailed feedback. We will certainly discuss this with our kitchen. We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review.

  22. Mark D.
    Mark D.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent as always....honest quality pub food. Staff are great and the food is as you would expect. The menu is quite extensive and offers something for everyone.

    Elsternwick Hotel

    Hi Mark, 4 1/2 Stars - awesome. Thanks for providing your feedback and taking the time to post your review.

  23. Therese M.
    Therese M.
    • one review
    10/10

    The service was excellent, the food superb & the atmosphere was calming. All in all, a great experience. One we will definitely try again. We traveled from the Mornington Peninsula & it was worth it. Thank you

    Elsternwick Hotel

    5 Stars - that's what we strive for. Thank you your recent visit and providing us with such a lovely review. We look forward to your next visit Therese.

  24. Stuart B.
    Stuart B.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    I hadn't dined here before. I thought it was a good pub meal. Better than other pubs I've been to recently. I was also very impressed by the friendly staff there.

    Elsternwick Hotel

    Hi Stuart, thank you for trying us out and providing your fabulous review. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

  25. Julia M.
    Julia M.
    • one review
    6/10

    Its a shame these days that a Parma doesn't have proper made sauce on it and mozzarella cheese. The sauce was clearly a jar sauce and the cheese was not mozzarella. My husband's eye filet was ordered as a medium well and he received it as well done. The service and staff were.lovely but venue could benefit from better quality ingredients.

    Elsternwick Hotel

    Hi Julia, thank you for dining with us and taking the time to leave your feedback. Sorry we didn't meet with your expectations on this occasion. Steaks and Parmas are our most popular menu items. Hopefully you might give us another chance to redeem ourselves. Thanks for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate it.

  26. Joe C.
    Joe C.
    • one review
    5/10

    Average, Parma was well over cooked. Chicken very dry. Mixed our order up also. Got attitude when we asked it to be rectified. We’ve been here before and it was a lot better. I will still comeback, pitting this down to they’ve had a bad day guess. The Guinness on tap here is tremendous.

  27. Jared L.
    Jared L.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Nice food, fast service

  28. Daniel W.
    Daniel W.
    • 25 reviews
    6.75/10

    Famous for their pies

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    8/10

    Great eats, great value, great nite with family

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    7.5/10

    Friendly service, nice and quiet venue. Food is always as expected.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    6.25/10

    Lunchtime meal to catchup with a friend. Didnt need to book as very few in bistro. Staff were friendly attentive.

  32. Anne J.
    Anne J.
    • 11 reviews
    9/10

    Very good surf & turf ! Nice calm decor.

  33. Cathy S.
    Cathy S.
    • 2 reviews
    8.75/10

    Very nice value for money pub food

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 303 reviews
    7.25/10

    Great location close to tram stop. Free parking

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    6/10

    Food was good, fast service, and great value for money. However, the service was a bit poor with lots of confusion amongst the staff. Would go there again for a casual meal but not for a special occasion.

  36. Lou O.
    Lou O.
    • 28 reviews
    7.5/10

    Only negative - no herald sun in tab area for me to peruse, had to cross highway to maccas for dessert and to read :(

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    9.75/10

    Excellent food and superb service Huge portions

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8.25/10

    We were holidaying in St Kilda and took advantage of the 50% offer and I was so impressed. It's a shame we can't get there again. The food was great (even my 2 year old ate all of his food and this is extremely rare). The place is a little dated but other than that great.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food was presented really nicely. The portions were generous. It was also very delicious They were very busy and the staff were very helpful

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food Always moorish Great service