8.5/10
Fabulous
based on 320 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Elaine C.
    Elaine C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Thoroughly enjoyed a beautiful lunch at Easca.

  2. Vicki C.
    Vicki C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We were a group of 8 long time friends spending a special lunch together. Ambience, great service, delightful views, yummy food made for a memorable lunch.

  3. Aaron B.
    Aaron B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great service, amazing food awesome scenery. Will definitely be back for a meal when we’re in the Hunter Valley next. Thank you for the experience

  4. Ross A.
    Ross A.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    We have dined at Esca quite a few times and always found great. This experience was a little disappointing for some of us due to limited selections and bland meals. Calamari, Kangaroo and steak very good but the others somewhat wanting (for the price).

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely fantastic food and notable wine list to match. Great service and knowledge of wine.

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great service, mouthwatering eye fillet dish.

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    8.5/10

    We had booked for dinner at Esca. The service was great. Our waiter was pleasant and had knowledge regarding the menu and answered any queries we had. The food was good. The dessert we ordered the Brûlée. I have to say, this was actually the first time we both didn't finish only because the serving was too big. It was enough to be shared between two. If I were to visit the Hunter region again, and if I do re-visit Esca, I would go for lunch to capture the stunning views. (We actually went back the next day to see it. Beautiful!).

  8. Susan C.
    Susan C.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    We had a lovely lunch at Esca. The food was great and the service wonderful.

  9. Rachel R.
    Rachel R.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Fab service and amazing food. A great way to end a long weekend!

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    6.5/10

    Food was average but service was gravest. Wouldn’t come back.

    Esca Bimbadgen

    Thank you for your review on Esca Bimbadgen. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not up to your expectations. If you would like to contact us to discuss this matter further please contact us at esca@bimbadgen.com.au. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

  11. Bernadette Y.
    Bernadette Y.
    • 5 reviews
    4.25/10

    Esca used to be so great but there were so many things wrong the day we went for lunch. Perhaps, we just caught them on a bad day. This was such a disappointment for us as we have been to Esca many times over the last decade and a half. Perhaps my expectations were unusually high because my father had specially asked to go there as part of his 70th birthday celebrations. We went on Thursday for lunch. The restaurant was almost empty (1/4 full). Without commenting on the subjective issues of how we perceived the staff's attitude towards us, the basics were just wrong. My mother's beetroot risotto was undercooked (kangaroo main), my fish main was fishy, overcooked and poorly seasoned. I don't often ask for salt and pepper but my fish main would have been inedible without it. Pepper should have been offered after serving the entrees and mains but that was not offered and we had to ask for pepper and salt. Such a pity as the sides of chips, confit garlic beans and garlic mash were so much better than the main courses (1 course for $40). The desserts were fine but not spectacular. Having spoken to some of the locals regarding Esca, they have also confirmed that Esca has been letting their game down. Such a pity as the Bimbadgen Estate is truly deserving of food that matches the views.

    Esca Bimbadgen

    Good Afternoon Bernadette, I am very sorry to hear that your experience with us was not up to your expectations. I have passed all of your feedback on to our kitchen and front of house staff to ensure this does not happen again. We do hold high expectations for Esca, its food and our service thus i am again very sorry to hear this and i hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

  12. Cathy P.
    Cathy P.
    • 2 reviews
    8.75/10

    Fabulous food, wine and perfect view over the vineyard. Simply sublime. You cannot go past Esca for the perfect romantic dinner or lunch for two.

  13. Margaret M.
    Margaret M.
    • one review
    5/10

    This place has incredible views as it's situated at a top of a hill however the food falls short. For a 3 course menu it is priced at $75 which is reasonable however the quality of the food does not reflect the price. I ordered the chorizo and squid for entree and it was bland. For mains I ordered the steak which was paired with an interesting grey tasteless puree. My mother ordered the fish which tasted funny (as did her seafood ravioli entree). The desserts was the straw that broke the camel's back. I ordered the chocolate cheesecake which was inedible and everyone else ordered the creme brulee which was undercooked and sloppy. Unfortunately we would not recommend this place for dining despite the stunning view and good service.

    Esca Bimbadgen

    Good Afternoon, Thank you for your review on Esca Bimbadgen. I am very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with us recently. I have passed on all feedback regarding the food to the executive chef an his team in an effort to prevent this. Thank you again and we hope to see you back at Esca in the future.

  14. Debbie C.
    Debbie C.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    We have eaten at Esca's many times over the years but was disappointed with the meal on Saturday night The service was wonderful and friendly but the meal for the price was average

    Esca Bimbadgen

    Good Afternoon, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your experience at Esca recently. I have passed on your feedback to the team to prevent these issues from arising. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

  15. Ruth J.
    Ruth J.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    Always enjoy Esca for special occasions...very tasty food and excellent Bimbagen wines. Loved it!

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    10/10

    Would definitely go back...this place was amazing!

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    8.25/10

    Was a great night for an anniversary dinner. Was a little disappointed we didn't get to sit outside on the balcony! That was the reason why I chose this place because of the beautiful atmosphere which was a shame. Still enjoyed the evening.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    5.25/10

    Food was very disappointing. Lacked flavour / seasoning and 3 of the dishes were served cold. The prices charged command a higher quality. Great shame for such a lovely place Service in general was great (Laura served us) however the attitude of the maitre’d / senior staff was poor when we explained the issues with our food. They did in the end however reduced our bill by 2 mains. We hope they were just having an ‘off’ day as it was a lovely venue.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food and wine with great service

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    8.25/10

    Lovely view and fantastic way to enjoy a long lunch in the hunter valley.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    10/10

    Thank you for making our lunch very special!

  22. Ron E.
    Ron E.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Wonderful food and exceptional service Would highly recommend

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    8.75/10

    Excellent menu at a competitive pricing. The service was highly effective without being over-bearing

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    7.75/10

    The restaurant was ok. The food was average and could have used a bit more flavour. The service was great and the girls definitely looked after us but overall our experience was pretty average.

  25. Socheatta K.
    Socheatta K.
    • 9 reviews
    9.5/10

    My group of 6 friends really enjoyed it here at Esca Bimbadgen. We were served by Aaron who looked after us really well. My favourite dishes would be the soft shell crab salad for entree, the pork belly dish and the kangaroo dish for main and the coconut brulee and white choc tart with wasabi ice cream for dessert (the wasabi ice cream might not be for everyone, but I personally love wasabi so I loved the ice cream.) Price wise was pretty decent for a fine dining place. I would recommend coming here.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 297 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great food, wine and lovely views.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.25/10

    Very hearty meal. Would be better for lunch as you miss the view of the vineyard at night.

  28. Janet  O.
    Janet O.
    • one review
    10/10

    A wonderful experience.

  29. Sonya B.
    Sonya B.
    • 13 reviews
    9.25/10

    Excellent as always. We had perfect weather over the weekend and sat outside for a really great lunch.

  30. Astrid S.
    Astrid S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing service at the cellar door. The best most entertaining wine tasting concierge in all of the Hunter!!

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 246 reviews
    9.75/10

    Absolutely fantastic food, The deserts just blew our minds.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    7/10

    Food has gone down in quality since I was last year 3 years ago. Service was a bit lack lustre.

  33. Jodie C.
    Jodie C.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    We dined here as a group of three - we can hands down say that this is one of the best meals we have ever eaten. The food was delicious and the service was exceptional. We highly recommend this venue and will definitely be back the next time we visit

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    4/10

    Lovely setting, had high expectations. Food was average and over cooked, we didnt complain as we were seriously hungry and it was also perfectly edible.. just wouldn’t go back.

  35. Jake F.
    Jake F.
    • one review
    6.75/10

    Entree needs to change Mains and drinks were very good but entrees were terrible.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    10/10

    Stunning location and great food. Catered for gluten free

  37. Michael P.
    Michael P.
    • one review
    7.25/10

    NOT ENOUGHT ON THE PLATE

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    9/10

    Fantastic food that was matched so well with the wine pairing

  39. Melissa B.
    Melissa B.
    • 2 reviews
    8.75/10

    Absolutely beautiful restaurant with a stunning view. Really helpful and friendly staff and the food is quite good. Was definitely worth the experience. Would come back again

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    9/10

    Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch experience.