Back

Reviews Etsu Izakaya

9.3/10

Excellent

based on 615 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. david h.
    david h.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and ambiance great service and very friendly staff great value . Little bit too loud music but still a great night beer was nice and cold

  2. Stephen W.
    Stephen W.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Great food, if a bit too noisy. The place can be slightly hard to find, but that maybe a good thing. Our table services was exceptional. The wine list was good. We chose the $85 set menu and it was a really generous amount, with great variety. Parking can be a bit difficult.

  3. Benny H.
    Benny H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food was up with the best on the Gold Coast. Traditional Japanese with some modern twists but maintains the essence of the cuisine. The seating arrangement is an experience in itself. It was a busy night and the service done their best to keep up

  4. Ken Q.
    Ken Q.
    • 29 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent food and service

  5. Rosemary N.
    Rosemary N.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    This was one of the best meals I have had since moving up from Melbourne 2 years ago. I loved the venue, hidden behind a non disclosed door, the atmosphere inside was beautiful and the food was incredible. Try the seared tune, and the seaweed salad. They were my two favourites. I would definitely go again.

  6. Rocky W.
    Rocky W.
    • 50 reviews
    9/10

    Great to find a good Japanese restaurant on the Gold Coast. Terrific atmosphere, food was delicious, staff attentive. One of those places on my favourites list.

  7. Jennie L.
    Jennie L.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Wow !! So good we are young back Monday

  8. Deb C.
    Deb C.
    • 3 reviews
    8.75/10

    Had a great night

  9. Janet B.
    Janet B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Knowing you are at the right door is hard - just slide back the white door under the red lantern - but when you get inside the food is wonderful - thoroughly enjoyed it.

  10. Teresa C.
    Teresa C.
    • one review
    6/10

    This restaurant use to be our favourite Since the owners have been investigated with the tax department for not paying their staff properly the quality and size of the food has gone done hill dramically So disappointed They had a great local following

  11. Tim F.
    Tim F.
    • one review
    7/10

    Great food, great atmosphere and great service. Only downside would be the $$$. $240 for 2 people was a bit hard to digest, but hey the overall experience was good. Just won’t have more than one drink next time, the beverage prices is where they get you. Very overpriced drink menu, I’ve never payed that much for an Asahi in my life, and premium prices on mid shelf whiskey was just straight up disappointing to see.

  12. Ben W.
    Ben W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Awesome work as always Etsu

  13. Chloe C.
    Chloe C.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    best place to hang out, best food good atmosphere

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    9.25/10

    Diff to find the location for the first visitors Too noisy Dessert was very good

  15. Claire S.
    Claire S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely loved it ! Delivers every time!

  16. Sam H.
    Sam H.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Hard to find, but great atmosphere and food. Drinks list is amazing, especially the connection of Japanese whiskys. Staff are all excellent. Can be a little noisy during busy periods.

  17. Michela M.
    Michela M.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Food is always so tasty and genuine. Service is great . Bubbling atmosphere , city style until late. Good music and nice people .

  18. Michelle M.
    Michelle M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Cool concept, great food and lovely staff

  19. Darren A.
    Darren A.
    • 11 reviews
    9/10

    We love it. It's a must do every time you are on the gold coast.

  20. Steve M.
    Steve M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Service was amazing. Food was incredible and would happily go back many more time. Couldn't ask for a better meal. They even surprised my mum with a small dessert as requested. Best restaurant around.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    9.5/10

    Had a great first time, had to get KFC on the way home after the $85 per person menu but the quality of food was great.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    9/10

    The food was amazing and the staff very attentive and friendly. A secret wooden sliding door from the highway opens up to a great hidden gem. We really enjoyed sitting and eating at the bar and watching all the drinks and cocktails being made. A buzzing atmosphere and noisy, but still had a great night. Can’t wait to return and try more of the wonderful dishes.

  23. Heather J.
    Heather J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Went for our 20 year Anniversary while visiting from NZ. Food was delicious, cool vibe inside and amazing service.

  24. Alfredo C.
    Alfredo C.
    • 2 reviews
    9.75/10

    Love this place, food is sublime!

  25. Belinda L.
    Belinda L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved it, great for date night. Service, food and atmosphere was great just a little pricey

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing atmosphere and equally amazing food. Forgot how good Japanese food could be!

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9/10

    Great food. Small suggestion - most people were either couples or groups of couples but almost all food came out in odd numbers. Might be worthwhile changing the numbers to even numbers.

  28. Ben L.
    Ben L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic value for money, excellent service and the best quality fresh food around.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    9/10

    Great food, small servings, but a lot of them on the banquet. Service was awesome. Drinks quite expensive

  30. Chenéa r.
    Chenéa r.
    • one review
    10/10

    The sashimi was delicious!! Can’t wait to come back

  31. Dale S.
    Dale S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food was absolutely amazing. Staff were really polite and attentive

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    10/10

    Keep up the consistency....

  33. Tracy G.
    Tracy G.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Consistently good food every time we have dined there.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    8.5/10

    Would never order cocktails again,(expensive and seemed like watered down alcohol), but other than that the evening was a great success. Beautiful presentation and tasty dishes. The tapas style was interesting but not to all the party's liking.,.. preferring their own choices. ( which of course we know we could have done) Thanks heaps! Love the atmosphere too.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 250 reviews
    9.25/10

    wonderful food and fun atmosphere

  36. Fred K.
    Fred K.
    • one review
    10/10

    great food and service. newbies be aware, no signage out front.... just slide the large wooden door across..next to massage place

  37. Kelly D.
    Kelly D.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Incredible food and atmosphere. An absolute fave! Will visit whenever on the GC.

  38. Andrew B.
    Andrew B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We had the best Tuna Tataki. This is a must

  39. Scott D.
    Scott D.
    • 36 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very tasty food that comes out very quick. Never had a bad meal here. I love coming to GC to visit this restaurant.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    10/10

    Such a tasty meal. We come back anytime we are up on the Gold Coast.