599 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.6
599 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(8.7)
Service
(8.9)
Value for money
(7.7)
Atmosphere
(8.2)
Tony Wasserman

dined on Sat, 8 Dec 2018

(9)
It was absolutely great
Josh O'Neill

dined on Fri, 7 Dec 2018

(10)
Consistently excellent.

dined on Sun, 2 Dec 2018

(10)
The meal was superb. What made the night were the staff - a Maitre d' with a wicked sense of humour and wait staff who are so passionate about their food that it really shows in everything they said and did.
Josh O’Neill

dined on Fri, 23 Nov 2018

(10)
Fantastic. New menu is excellent.

dined on Fri, 23 Nov 2018

(2)
We are a massive fan of FEW at Glebe. But honestly the service together with the food at this crown street branch was really disappointing. The waiter that was apparently meant to be looking after us disappeared for most of the service and another waiter took over. The food was overly salty and I think the changes in the menu (including the crab linguine) was just disappointing. I won’t be back.

dined on Thu, 22 Nov 2018

(6)
I found the service a tad intrusive. And I felt the waiter kept filling up our glasses to make us quickly finish the wine. The rushed service dominated the experience. Food was good, albeit expensive for what was served.

dined on Tue, 20 Nov 2018

(5)
The staff were friendly but not a lot of options for vegetarians

dined on Mon, 19 Nov 2018

(10)
The Burrata is brilliant! The pasta was also nice. Loved the rose. It is a lovely dating spot.

dined on Fri, 16 Nov 2018

(8)
Food was great, service was mostly great, although there was one server that did put a dampener on our evening. Last night was a special one, celebrating my partners new job. We ordered a bottle of semillon (along with two entrees and two mains) not realising it was a specific blend that had a really strong Chardonnay flavour. I asked politely if it would be possible to swap it out, mentioning that I’ve never sent a wine back before, and was made to feel pretty awkward about it all by the server, who grabbed our full glasses of wine and just took them without confirming if we would get another one or not. Ten minutes later she returned. Don’t get me wrong, we ended up with another bottle at no extra charge so not complaining about cost. But the attitude we got in the meantime was pretty unfair, even a snappy tone and comment; ‘let’s try this again’ when she poured a nip from the new bottle. I would have preferred to just have been told ‘no’ and not have had the evening overshadowed by someone who was clearly having a busy night and did not have the patience for a polite question. I am a regular of flour eggs water and often take clients there for lunch however last night was really not a great experience for us. Again, not damning this person, and I imagine they will have their own valid perspective on this but the long and short of it is, if I’m going to spend $185 (inc tip) on a meal I refuse to be made to feel crappy during it.

dined on Fri, 16 Nov 2018

(10)
Great food as always
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Flour Eggs Water on Crown street

Mangia bene, ridi spesso, ama molto Mangia bene, ridi spesso, ama molto: eat well, laugh often, love much. That’s the motto of the Italo-Australian team behind Italian eatery, Flour Eggs Water on Crown Street. Eugenio Maiale, Ennio Di Marcos, Sandro di Marino and Luke Randall have gone back to their roots. Flour Eggs Water is, as they describe it ‘organised chaos’ - just like it was at their Italian family gatherings growing up, where everything revolved around food. The boys have created a place that locals want to come back to on a weekly basis. Chef Sandro di Marino offers dishes from five sections from the menu. There’s fresh bread, olives and meatballs; a selection of raw dishes; traditional pastas; and mains of fish or chicken. A real treat on the menu is the ‘6pm risotto’, which you can only order at the designated time. The recipe changes daily, with variations including risotto all Milanese with bone marrow or crab with zucchini. It’s tasty Italian food, in a relaxed, casual setting that makes you feel well at home. The boys promise you an Italiano informale experience. Cheers to that. Best dish: gnocchi with oxtail and red wine ragu

Flour Eggs Water on Crown street Address

Google Map