Back

Reviews Flower Drum

9.5/10

Excellent

based on 792 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Tony Z.
    Tony Z.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing.

  2. Meredith W.
    Meredith W.
    • one review
    10/10

    As always, the Flower Drum didn’t disappoint. The food was exceptional and the waiters were polite, attentive and thorough without being intrusive. Dessert options have improved a lot. Love it every time we go.

  3. gary m.
    gary m.
    • one review
    10/10

    One of the great restaurants of the world. Always a very special experience. Fabulous food and service that is so good it sometimes seems invisble. A model for all others.

  4. Adela D.
    Adela D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We haven’t been for a while but there was no disappointment. The food was good, the staff friendly. Now if only they would open up another restaurant in Sydney.....

  5. Jessica Z.
    Jessica Z.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    This restaurant was a brilliant welcome back to post covid lock down. We had the set menu which was delightful, peaking duck is a must. And the service and overall experience was superb

  6. Rodney M.
    Rodney M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Amazing food including the best Peking duck I've had anywhere and the Wagyu beef was devine. Staff were all very friendly and attentive. Lived up to all expectations.

  7. Vicky P.
    Vicky P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This was our first visit to the Flower Drum. We were welcomed at the door and taken to our table. The waiters were very helpful. The food was amazing especially the stuffed garfish which is something I would have never ordered. Our only criticism works be that the wines are very pricey but otherwise we rate it 10 out of 10. We will definitely be coming back next time we are visiting Melbourne!

  8. Denise T.
    Denise T.
    • one review
    10/10

    The good and service was excellent. We had a wonderful time. Shout out to the attentive staff who made sure that we were ok and recommended dishes when we were a bit stuck.

  9. Lawrie C.
    Lawrie C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    It’s no wonder these people have such great ratings and have been at the top of their game for so many years. It was faultless all the way. I would recommend the banquet.

  10. Patricia N.
    Patricia N.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    The seafood dishes are fantastic as they don't overcook the food and not use msg.

  11. Ferry R.
    Ferry R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service. Good menu selections. Fresh ingredients. Black Angus steak and roast squab are the standout dishes. King George Whiting very good too.

  12. Mark C.
    Mark C.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Fantastic restaurant with sophisticated food a great wine list and highly attentive staff, highly recommended if you love Chinese cuisine..

  13. Ryan K.
    Ryan K.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Service was friendly and attentive. Food presentation and quality is good. Authentic and tasty Cantonese food

  14. Barbara C.
    Barbara C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We have enjoyed eating at the Flower Drum for 30 years and never tire of the food, the service and the wonderful staff. We look forwrda to our next visit.

  15. Helen R.
    Helen R.
    • 73 reviews
    10/10

    Absolute perfection! We had our sons 21st Birthday dinner at this restaurant and everything exceptional! Food was so incredibly amazing, service of superior standard, staff so welcoming, attentive and experienced! Thank you to the chefs and staff particularly to Barney and Ray for making our family celebration a memorable one.

  16. Catherine B.
    Catherine B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Flower drum is a Melbourne icon for a reason. The food is incredible and the service is second to none. Thank you for a wonderful evening, we loved it and it was a perfect way to spend a Monday night.

  17. Richard B.
    Richard B.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Still the best chinese food in Melbourne and Australia. Excellent service from Barney and the team. we celebrated a special event with the six course chef's selection - food to die for!

  18. Mark A.
    Mark A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Just fantastic but that was what I was expecting as family and friends in the industry rate this restaurant as in the top shelf of this type of food and ambiance

  19. Mike S.
    Mike S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Recommended by people who lived in Melbourne as their favorite restaurant...did not disappoint in any way! Will go down as one of our top ten places we have ever been. The service is top notch and the food was incredibly delicious. We went on Valentine's night and had a 6:30 reservation we left at 10, never felt rushed. All 4 had the special menu and it was the best way to experience the menu...highly recommend!

  20. Ally B.
    Ally B.
    • one review
    10/10

    From the moment you are greeted till you are bid farewell, the staff , the atmosphere, the sevice and above all ,the food combine to make for a very enjoyable and memorable experience, for us once more. Definitely worth a first and return visit 10 years later, The Flower Drum, a Melbourne icon.

  21. Gail W.
    Gail W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Have been to Flowerdrum very occasionally over the last 20 years. Service & food has always been excellent. Continues to be. My thanks to the Staff.

  22. Veronica C.
    Veronica C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Dinner at Flower Drum was amazing From the excellent service to the superb food. Everything was cooked to perfection- everything whst fibe dining should be. Just a lovely dining experience with beautiful friends.

  23. Mel L.
    Mel L.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    delicious food. the servings are very small but the quality of the food is excellent and we were well looked after by then staff, who provided exceptional hospitality

  24. Kerem D.
    Kerem D.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    I like that the staff is very attentive and helpful. The ambience was also a plus for me. The summer tasting menu was ok but the taste of the cuisine was not outstanding, just alright. It is not cheap considering.

  25. Sohail B.
    Sohail B.
    • one review
    9/10

    A restaurant we’ve been meaning to try for some time. The food was very good.. tasty and well portioned. The service was excellent, and the restaurant itself is very nice. A great experience overall.

  26. David M.
    David M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful food and service, pretty expensive, especially when you know the cost of the wines I was hoping for meal that was more conducive for sharing

  27. Mimmo Domenic P.
    Mimmo Domenic P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    What can I say. Flower Drum you never disappoint. Well done.

  28. Lee-anne R.
    Lee-anne R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was spectacular and could not fault anything about our experience. The short ribs and lamb spring rolls everyone should try they are amazing.

  29. Kim L.
    Kim L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    great food and service like always

  30. Betsy L.
    Betsy L.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good service and decor

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    10/10

    Five star fantastic evening

  32. David p.
    David p.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Simply the best Chinese restaurant in Australia

  33. Tracy R.
    Tracy R.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Amazing food and service, would definitely return. Only reason we didn’t give a 10 is that he decor is starting to look a title tired, but hey, that might be part of the charm in the end!

  34. Maria Regina Angeles S.
    Maria Regina Angeles S.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    I loved everything about Flower Drum. The ambiance, the service staff, the food - everything! It's a gem in Melbourne. I haven't had Chinese food that I would say I fell in love with. My favorites here were the Chinkiang Pork Chops and Roast Duck in Lotus Leaf Fried Rice! Special mention to the Mud Crab Siu Lung Bao too. My love and I will definitely come back. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

  35. Kevin C.
    Kevin C.
    • 9 reviews
    8.5/10

    The best Chinese restaurant in Australia

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8.75/10

    The best Chinese restaurant in Australia

  37. Maria Regina Angeles S.
    Maria Regina Angeles S.
    • 5 reviews
    7.75/10

    Had an amazing dinner here with my hubby bear! We ordered a number of items but favorites include the Mud Crab Siu Lung Bao and the Chinkiang Pork Chops - this was a winner! Old school Cantonese but taste fit for royalty. Will definitely come back.

  38. Daniel V.
    Daniel V.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    I cannot fault anything at Flower Drum. The service was amazing and the food superb. Regarding the service, most top end restaurants could learn something at Flower Drum! This is still the best Chinese restaurant in Australia.

  39. Liza H.
    Liza H.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    A special occasion restaurant with fine service that ensures an enjoyable evening of fine dining. Each dish was presented in an entertaining fashion and didn’t disappoint.

  40. Daniel V.
    Daniel V.
    • 2 reviews
    9.75/10

    One of the best service in Australia