Back

Reviews Flying Fish

8.6/10

Fabulous

based on 313 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Sidney K.
    Sidney K.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Highlight was the exemplary service by Ana, Rocco and Stefano. The food was icing on the cake.

  2. Jonathan S.
    Jonathan S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This was a return visit to Flying Fish after a disappointing last visit. We also brought 2 guests who were staying at the Darling to try Flying Fish as well as they had never tried it. I’ve been a big fan of flying fish since it was at Jones Bay Wharf and this time the food and service was what I remembered it to be. Beautifully presented and delicious dishes. The team were very attentive and friendly and provided great recommendations. The marron, and scallops were the stand out dishes closely followed by the half kilo scotch fillet with anchovy butter and capers. Definitely will return!

  3. Brenda M.
    Brenda M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The staff were wonderful very nice people. I would call it a good experience we both enjoyed our experience. There was one problem though, interrupting our conversation filling up our water glasses and asking if we needed anything, I felt it left us no time to have a decent conversation, it felt like every few minutes.

  4. Darren K.
    Darren K.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    A wonderful meal, tainted only by a generous helping of vinaigrette being splashed onto my shirt by the apologetic waitress. Nevertheless, we thoroughly enjoyed the delicious seafood.

  5. Pauline S.
    Pauline S.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    We ordered from the pre theatre menu which was pretty good value. The food was excellent. Every item we had was cooked to perfection. The service was friendly and not over the top. We were in a room separate from the main restaurant so the ambience lacked a little but it wasn’t bad.

  6. Grant W.
    Grant W.
    • one review
    7/10

    I enjoyed the food but despite a lot of staff the service was sporadic (one talking on his mobile) and the interior was a bit tired. Very convenient for the theatre but I would not take a detour to eat there.

  7. Katherine K.
    Katherine K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Staff members were very friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed our oysters and lunch set very much, the dishes were phenomenal! We will definitely come back in the future!

  8. Michael S.
    Michael S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was stunning. The staff are excellent, friendly and very helpful. Keep doing what you’re doing, you’re doing it very well. We would highly recommend it. Mike and Jean Shephard

  9. Anthony R.
    Anthony R.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Great food however I felt I was in a club or something like that. The old venue back at Jones Bay Wharf was much nicer. The restaurant has lost its ambience with the move, however the food is still great.

  10. Sandra L.
    Sandra L.
    • 3 reviews
    6/10

    I have dined at Flying Fish Pyrmont on several occassions. Last night was unexpected. I was greeted with a smile and then it went downhill from there. As I was dining alone, I haven't felt so alone before! I was ignored - no one to take my order unless I asked for it, cocktail did not arrive before my 2nd entree (which I finished), no bread after requesting it, and my fellow diners on either tables around me received the utmost attention.

  11. Natalie G.
    Natalie G.
    • one review
    5/10

    We were recommended to come here. I hated having to walk through a food court to get to a fine dining restaurant. The waiters were ok but the restaurant was just nothing special. There are so many other restaurants in Sydney for less money offering more fresh food and delicious dining experiences. I was really let down. Yes the seafood was great but so it should be and it wasn’t outstanding. Very expensive for an average experience.

  12. Alex F.
    Alex F.
    • 2 reviews
    4/10

    Sadly, from being one of my favourites in the past, in its new home at the Star.. it is now nothing more re than a glorified casino restaurant, terrible service, dirty glasses and without being too judgemental, people Daly dressed (someone in footy shorts and singlet.) disappointing experience

  13. Jasmine G.
    Jasmine G.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Amazing food that is fresh and full of flavor! At first the services was a little slow, but once our orders were placed the food and drinks came out pretty fast.

  14. Michael Kim K.
    Michael Kim K.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Excellent service

  15. Jessie W.
    Jessie W.
    • 7 reviews
    7.5/10

    The food was nice nothing spectacular just nice. Service was lovely and attentive but I feel as though you are paying mostly for the view as we had no real wow moments with the food.

  16. Ian S.
    Ian S.
    • 28 reviews
    9/10

    The food was delicious. We had the ocean trout and the barramundi. Both were presented well and served soon after they were ordering. The out look was pleasant you could see the bay and boats. The staff were very attentive regularly refilling water, The wine list is extensive and reasonable.

  17. Mary M.
    Mary M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great pre theatre dining and the staff are excellent, so accommodating and welcoming. Highly recommend.

  18. Vanessa S.
    Vanessa S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Fabulous service, friendly staff and dishes always so inventive/tasty ! Grilled Fish with coconut base sauce was delish!! Had my big-0 party here in 2019 at new location and on our return in 2020, just as special and unexpected surprise delish birthday mini cake for both myself and my friend also celebrating just so thoughtful! Love the vibe & atmosphere - will be back .. thanks Flying fish!

  19. Kevin R.
    Kevin R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Superb food and service. Inovative use of vegetables and flavours. Maybe a little expensive but not prohibitive. Menu on line not completely current.

  20. Chris W.
    Chris W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Service was very good but not intrusive...food was awesome as it always has been and all my small special requested were taken care of at short notice...couldn’t ask for more.

  21. Mona L.
    Mona L.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff are very welcoming. All the dishes we had were delicious specillothe kingfish and trout in the raw menu. The scallops were amazing and the prawns. The grilled John Dory with garlic butter sauce was to die for. Dessert must be the chocolate mousse. Yum !!!

  22. Howard M.
    Howard M.
    • 18 reviews
    9/10

    Great food, attentive and fun service. We went prior to the theatre. Service was quick but not hurried.

  23. Negar K.
    Negar K.
    • 3 reviews
    5/10

    The entrees tasted good! Unfortunately the main dishes were lacking flavor which was disappointing as they looked great! The service for a restaurant of this standard was below average. I wouldn’t go again

  24. Michele  F.
    Michele F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious, great friendly service . Catered for dietary needs , excellent wine . Relaxed atmosphere smooth service , the fish was beautifully prepared.

  25. Luisa M.
    Luisa M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Food beautifully presented. Enjoyed every mouthful. Service could not be faulted. My second dining experience here, always for a special occasion.

  26. Sarah C.
    Sarah C.
    • 5 reviews
    6.5/10

    On arrival asked to sit at the bar and not offered a drink. Sat there for 10 mins before being taken to table. Slow to take drink / food order. Asked for a side sauce which didn’t come. Had an issue paying with the voucher at the end which again left us sitting there for 10-15 mins.

  27. Albert Y.
    Albert Y.
    • 11 reviews
    6.5/10

    We were having the Seafood Platter and feel was overpriced. The menu stating there should be Fried Whiting but when the Platter came. The substitute Grill Ocean Trout instead. The waitress did not mention that. One of the reason that we order platter was we want to have Fried Whiting. A bit disappointed. Also the hand cut chips was burn and not crispy.

  28. Gemma R.
    Gemma R.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    Flying Fish is a fabulous restaurant. The staff are welcoming and always warmly recognize regular diners. The menu offers a range of scrumptious dishes, from the not to be missed snacks through to a seafood platter, a variety of entrees, mains, a cheese course and desserts. The cocktails are great too.

  29. Carol c.
    Carol c.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    Service and food was great

  30. Daniel F.
    Daniel F.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Nice food but really bad lighting and ambiance

  31. Lewis L.
    Lewis L.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Fish and shrimp were not bad, Oysters were not that fresh. Too much Asian spices and taste to it to cover the ingredients. If seafood is fresh enough, there no need for the extra spices covering them. You can consider putting the spices and sauces on the side. And focus on the basic ingredients.

  32. Evelyn X.
    Evelyn X.
    • one review
    4/10

    The nuts in the salad are rotten

  33. Thuy V.
    Thuy V.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great seafood restaurant with wonderful staff. Had the spanner crab toast, fish crackers, coral trout and palm sugar pineapple with coconut sorbet. Really enjoyed every dish. Would definitely return.

  34. Lisa Z.
    Lisa Z.
    • 5 reviews
    8/10

    Great food and friendly staff

  35. Henry  B.
    Henry B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The ocean trout and roasted pumpkin I was served was sublime. Well mannered and attentive service staff. I'd definitely go back for another meal without hesitation.

  36. Lil T.
    Lil T.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    From beginning to end, dining experience was welcoming, professional and attentive. Staff accommodated meals to suit my kids, knowledgeable and light hearted. Tortellini was spot on and hand cut chips flavoursome. The seafood platter was delicious, tho would of loved a meatier lobster and larger scallops for the price paid tho would still go back as it was really enjoyable.

  37. Janson L.
    Janson L.
    • one review
    9/10

    The waitress that served us was exceptional! She found out it was for our anniversary night and she organised a little chocolate fudge cake for us. Overall pleasant experience, wish the lights were turned down earlier to make the atmosphere more romantic.

  38. Anne W.
    Anne W.
    • one review
    9/10

    Trying to alter our booking was impossible by phone and text and email, as there was no response, but they accommodated us gracefully when we arrived. The sashimi dish, in particular, was really good. Fresh produce and clean flavours. My negroni was perfect. Bit slow getting the bill, but otherwise a very enjoyable evening.

  39. Mira G.
    Mira G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Everything tasted beautiful , the scallops are so delicious and my favorite dish ! The barramundi was cooked perfectly with a crispy skin. The salad dressing was also perfect . As it was our 18 year anniversary and my birthday , they surprised us with complimentary desserts which was a beautiful surprise . Thank you for a great Evening .

  40. Karla R.
    Karla R.
    • one review
    7/10

    Seafood was delicious but unfortunately the service lets this place down a bit. The food arrived before the wine and we also had to find wait staff for service despite the restaurant being fairly empty.