8.3/10
Very good
based on 60 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Julie P.
    Julie P.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    A very busy pub but service was excellent! Our table was ready and waitress was very friendly and efficient. Steaks were juicy and delicious, cooked exactly as requested. Recommend as very enjoyable.

  2. Lina C.
    Lina C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Caught up with friends for lunch. We had fish and chips/steaks, which everyone enjoyed. Our waitress, Julietta was lovely, efficient and caring.

  3. Kim E.
    Kim E.
    • one review
    9/10

    We were treated really well - our waitress, Rebecca, was super friendly and helpful and recommend dishes to us. We felt valued and the food was great. Would recommend to anyone - thank you!

    Fortune of War Hotel

    Hi Kim, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at our lively pub and family-friendly First Fleet Bistro in The Rocks, Sydney. We loved to read how much of a great time you had at the Fortune of War Hotel - especially the service received by Rebecca - and can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

  4. Pretty P.
    Pretty P.
    • 20 reviews
    8/10

    Good food , nice location with nice vibes. A good menu lots of choices., Enjoyed the evening. Thanks for serving us, Overall nice experience will visit again

    Fortune of War Hotel

    Hi Pretty, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at our lively pub and family-friendly First Fleet Bistro in The Rocks, Sydney. We loved to read how much you enjoyed the location, atmosphere and food. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

  5. Angie W.
    Angie W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great place for a catch up and lunch with friends. Staff were fantastic and food was delicious. Will come back for sure.

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    9/10

    Good food, drinks and atmosphere

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    10/10

    This is by far the best schnitzel in Sydney

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great service provided by our wonderful waitress . Good food and value for money

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    7/10

    Service was pretty average. Don’t think they train their staff! Poor girl didn’t ask how we wanted our $33 t-bone cooked, cleaned tables next to us before removing our very empty plates, didn’t know how to work the till.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    9/10

    Nice little dining retreat up the stairs from the popular Front Bar of the Pub below. We like to go early before seeing a show at the Opera House and have rarely been let down withe service or food. Gluten free diners are accommodated.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 293 reviews
    4.75/10

    The menu includes very few meals for a coeliac

  12. Henry M.
    Henry M.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Excellent seating position, no pressure to leave after lunch, Right smack in the middle of Bastille day and Christmas in July events/activities, all in all, a fantastic lunch and afternoon was enjoyed by all and we will definitely be coming back for another event .HM

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.25/10

    Nice quiet dining room

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    6.75/10

    It was a little annoying that I received 2 phone calls and 2 emails asking me to confirm my booking.

  15. Courtney N.
    Courtney N.
    • 10 reviews
    9/10

    The chicken wings are amazing!!! This is our 3rd Mothers Day here and we love it because there is no set menu and everything is well priced and food is great.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    1.5/10

    Scruffy,lacking in atmosphere ,limited menu,poor un appetising food ,lift not working.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great location, food was hearty and flavourful and the service was just right. Would def go back!

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8/10

    Great Anzac Day breakfast after the dawn service, haven’t found one better yet!

  19. Vicki D.
    Vicki D.
    • one review
    7/10

    We waited a long time for our meal and was disappointed with the pan fried snapper as it was only served with beans

  20. Matthew S.
    Matthew S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food, beer and friendly atmosphere

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    5.75/10

    Food quality has decreased. I used to love this place but it became a bit average.

  22. Andrew H.
    Andrew H.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    I'm reviewing this place because my wife and I were in Sydney for a weekend recently. I was looking at thefork.com.au for highly rated venues and this came up. Apparently it's the oldest pub in Sydney, and it's certainly right in the heart of the Rocks district with the nurses' lane running behind it. I ordered the chicken schnitzel with chips; my wife the halloumi salad. I has happy with my meal, I'd say my wife was satisfied with hers. The service was ok. The ambience was calm as we had an early lunch before any crowds got in. Value wise, it was not unreasonable. Would I be a regular? - not sure; I'd need to check out what else is around before going back.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    8.75/10

    Good food & good service

  24. Tiffany R.
    Tiffany R.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    The staff we very friendly and accommodating. The pub was lively and the bistro quaint. The meal was delicious I had the special hallumi salad very tasty with a hit of spice.

  25. Sarah K.
    Sarah K.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a wonderful dinning experience! Would definitely go back again!

  26. Rachel C.
    Rachel C.
    • 24 reviews
    7.5/10

    This is one of the oldest pubs in Sydney it serves good pub grub

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 297 reviews
    8.75/10

    Excellent experience all around!

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.5/10

    Amazing service and the perfect spot to grab a meal after Bridge Climb!

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    9/10

    Great schnitzel and friendly service. Nice bistro area

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 299 reviews
    10/10

    Best schnitty in town. Excellent atmosphere and always enjoy having lunch here with friends.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    8.25/10

    Friendly staff good service

  32. Clare T.
    Clare T.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    Must be the best value in The Rocks, dined during Vivid and was most impressed with the quick service and food. Very small venue, that could be the reason why the excell in value, service and taste.

  33. Courtney N.
    Courtney N.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food, especially those chicken wings

  34. Stefanie p.
    Stefanie p.
    • 2 reviews
    9.75/10

    Service was top notch especially for a working lunch! Food was amazing and very reasonably priced. Definitely needed to book a table for a Friday lunch but table booked was ideal. Food was served quickly, well presented and wait staff were very attentive.

  35. Susan z.
    Susan z.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Good service and good value

  36. Vaishnavi R.
    Vaishnavi R.
    • 7 reviews
    9.25/10

    We went as a group of over 15 people. Everything was good. However, some of my colleagues felt the food took time to be delivered to the table.

  37. Judy S.
    Judy S.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Love this pub. Right at the Quay. Has entertainment and accommodation also. Really easy place to be.

  38. Robert S.
    Robert S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Still the best little pub in Sydney

  39. Wayne  P.
    Wayne P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The Fortune of War was Brilliant for New Years Eve Great :- Food, Service, Atmosphere while later down stairs the Live Music that was a Singer Guitarist was Fabulous as he got the whole bar singing along with him~! Many Thanks to all of the Staff who helped to making it such A Fun Night~!

  40. Danielle S.
    Danielle S.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    great place for dinner the service was fantastic and the food came out on time and was yummy