8.2/10
Very good
based on 57 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Andrew H.
    Andrew H.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    I'm reviewing this place because my wife and I were in Sydney for a weekend recently. I was looking at thefork.com.au for highly rated venues and this came up. Apparently it's the oldest pub in Sydney, and it's certainly right in the heart of the Rocks district with the nurses' lane running behind it. I ordered the chicken schnitzel with chips; my wife the halloumi salad. I has happy with my meal, I'd say my wife was satisfied with hers. The service was ok. The ambience was calm as we had an early lunch before any crowds got in. Value wise, it was not unreasonable. Would I be a regular? - not sure; I'd need to check out what else is around before going back.

  2. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    8.75/10

    Good food & good service

  3. Tiffany R.
    Tiffany R.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    The staff we very friendly and accommodating. The pub was lively and the bistro quaint. The meal was delicious I had the special hallumi salad very tasty with a hit of spice.

  4. Sarah K.
    Sarah K.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a wonderful dinning experience! Would definitely go back again!

  5. Rachel C.
    Rachel C.
    • 24 reviews
    7.5/10

    This is one of the oldest pubs in Sydney it serves good pub grub

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 297 reviews
    8.75/10

    Excellent experience all around!

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.5/10

    Amazing service and the perfect spot to grab a meal after Bridge Climb!

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    9/10

    Great schnitzel and friendly service. Nice bistro area

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 299 reviews
    10/10

    Best schnitty in town. Excellent atmosphere and always enjoy having lunch here with friends.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    8.25/10

    Friendly staff good service

  11. Clare T.
    Clare T.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    Must be the best value in The Rocks, dined during Vivid and was most impressed with the quick service and food. Very small venue, that could be the reason why the excell in value, service and taste.

  12. Courtney N.
    Courtney N.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food, especially those chicken wings

  13. Stefanie p.
    Stefanie p.
    • 2 reviews
    9.75/10

    Service was top notch especially for a working lunch! Food was amazing and very reasonably priced. Definitely needed to book a table for a Friday lunch but table booked was ideal. Food was served quickly, well presented and wait staff were very attentive.

  14. Susan z.
    Susan z.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Good service and good value

  15. Vaishnavi R.
    Vaishnavi R.
    • 7 reviews
    9.25/10

    We went as a group of over 15 people. Everything was good. However, some of my colleagues felt the food took time to be delivered to the table.

  16. Judy S.
    Judy S.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Love this pub. Right at the Quay. Has entertainment and accommodation also. Really easy place to be.

  17. Robert S.
    Robert S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Still the best little pub in Sydney

  18. Wayne  P.
    Wayne P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The Fortune of War was Brilliant for New Years Eve Great :- Food, Service, Atmosphere while later down stairs the Live Music that was a Singer Guitarist was Fabulous as he got the whole bar singing along with him~! Many Thanks to all of the Staff who helped to making it such A Fun Night~!

  19. Danielle S.
    Danielle S.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    great place for dinner the service was fantastic and the food came out on time and was yummy

  20. Sara K.
    Sara K.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Nice vibe and good food for lunch