Back

Reviews Fox In The Box

8.4/10

Very good

based on 38 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. David M.
    David M.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Nice meal on a cold Melbourne night. Thanks

  2. Elly A.
    Elly A.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    After endless google searches to find a place which caters to my allergies, I came across this local gem! Fox in the Box has endless choices which catered to ALL allergies! - My partner (with no allergies) even said it was the “best steak [he’s] ever had!”. We enjoyed salt and pepper calamari, duck confit w berries, steak with mustard sauce, pudding noir and lemon meringue pie, absolute heaven of a place to indulge!! Reasonably priced and good sized meals. The place is small and the atmosphere could slightly improve with a few extras however, my partner and I agreed to be back for the great service and absolutely DIVINE food!! I highly recommended Fox in the Box for people who have numerous allergies and want a care free night out knowing that everything their eating is safe, and others can enjoy the food too!! Thanks Fox in the Box! Look forward to seeing you again soon :)

  3. Rhonda  Z.
    Rhonda Z.
    • one review
    10/10

    There was a great variety of food and our meal was very tasty, They were very friendly and welcoming. Also explained the what was in the food and very helpful as to our choices.

  4. Greg R.
    Greg R.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    the first time in many years I could order straight off the menu without having to micro manage the contents of each dish. Lemon meringue pie was delicious.

  5. Sue P.
    Sue P.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    We love this restaurant. We have two coeliacs in the family so we meet up here, from all over Melbourne, for family dinners/lunches. Food is fantastic and you would not know that it is all gluten free. Something for everone. Highly recommend.

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    10/10

    The fact that this restaurant is entirely gluten free makes for a stress-free coeliac dining experience. I was able to look at the menu and choose anything I wanted and didn’t have to ask lots of questions. So so rare

  7. Lyn B.
    Lyn B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    This is a little gem of a restaurant especially for people struggling with special dietary requirements. Completely gluten free and fodmap friendly. Innovative and tasty food. Lovely host couldn’t do enough to help us

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    7.5/10

    The coffee and tea could have been better - they were not very hot.

  9. Janielle K.
    Janielle K.
    • 27 reviews
    9.5/10

    For those with dietary requirements this is heaven! The entire menu is gluten free and fodmaps friendly. Paired with a respectable wine list and swift service, a must visit!

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    9/10

    Really good. Fodmap and all other in tolerances covered well. Delicious food

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    7.5/10

    Good size generous portions for mains

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    7/10

    This place is a lifesaver for anyone on the FODMAP diet !

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    7.25/10

    Being on the fodmap diet so excited to be able to order anything on the menu ! Scallops entree was very nice. My partner loved his schnitzel although his chips were a bit over cooked . My duck was okay but was disappointed my roasted vegetables were very burnt, should not have been served out like that.

  14. Meryse F.
    Meryse F.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    A wonderful experience for my friends and I to order anything from the menu. We had the burger and it was excellent, we will be back to try more on the menu!

  15. Tamra K.
    Tamra K.
    • 5 reviews
    8/10

    Fox in the Box is perfect for anyone with IBS or gut issues. All meals are FODMAP firendly! We were so impressed with the amount of choice all available to us. The cafe does also takeaway meals also FODMAP friendly!

  16. Jill W.
    Jill W.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Love then Parma and flathead tails

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    7.75/10

    Lots of yummy dishes to choose from for the those with dietary requirements- coeliac, low FODMAP, vegetarian, etc. Our food did take some time to arrive, but the pulled lamb sandwiches were delicious. Our fave dessert, the Italian meringue lemon tart was not available this time, but the caramel slice was awesome.

  18. Catalina V.
    Catalina V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, great vegetarian/vegan meal. I loved eggplant parmigiana

  19. Karina t.
    Karina t.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was a sensational gluten free restaurant. So much choice and delicious options! Service was friendly and quick. Great to know you can go somewhere and eat anything and everything off the menu. Coffee was sensational, wine and beer great and the bunless burger is amazing! The desserts were slightly on the expensive side and I would not have normally ordered it for that reason but it was shared but delicious!! We were a group of 10 and everyone loved their meals.

  20. Julie P.
    Julie P.
    • 3 reviews
    7.25/10

    I've been to Fox in a Box several times as friends and family members have special dietary needs which are so well catered for here. I've always enjoyed the food but found the service slow. Last night the service was better ( but we arrived at 5.45 for a pre theatre dinner so it was very quiet). My daughter's chicken Parma was excellent but my pork belly and risotto were quite disappointing. Also when I received a call back after leaving an inquiry about my booking, the girl who called me didn't have enough English to answer my questions. Previous visits would hav received a much higher rating.

    Fox In The Box

    Hi Julie thank you for the feed back... I'm sorry to hear the Pork Belly was not to your liking, would you care to elaborate further so I can address it better...

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 248 reviews
    8/10

    A fantastic range of Gluten free food and delicious too??

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    4/10

    Amazing for those on Fodmap diet, and the food was ok... but half the menu wasn't available, they didn't have our booking and the service was woeful, with the atmosphere the same with a full reataurant. Get rid of all the clutter and have the menu available

  23. Kevin C.
    Kevin C.
    • 3 reviews
    8.75/10

    Food was very tasty and we will certainly return for more

  24. Penny S.
    Penny S.
    • one review
    6/10

    I love what fox in the box stands for; catering for food intolerances is a big ask and they put in so much effort. We had a decent meal here however, it was pricey and I have definitely had better food and wine elsewhere. It certainly was a relief to be able to pick from the menu instead of asking what I can eat!!

  25. Alan S.
    Alan S.
    • 8 reviews
    7.5/10

    Nice food but service a bit slow. All good if you are just after a relaxing lunch.

  26. Renee e.
    Renee e.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    We didn't actually get to eat because the place was shut upon arrival. However a staff member kindly called to apologise so I am more than happy to return and try again.

  27. Tyrone I.
    Tyrone I.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing service and food. We had a brilliant time! It is Also, it's great to know there are places like this that exist to help individuals with allergies that make it hard to eat out at all. Highly recommended!

  28. Maria H.
    Maria H.
    • 5 reviews
    6.75/10

    Went for dinner, as it was fodmap friendly. Good food but more appropriate for lunch than dinner. Would definitely go again, but for a weekend lunch.

  29. Michael D.
    Michael D.
    • 2 reviews
    9.75/10

    The staff and menu gives you complete confidence the meals will be suitable for food intolerances. Being able to trust a meal completely makes the whole evening special, it's not just great food - it's a memorable experience.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great service and great food.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    8/10

    Food was delicious

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    8.25/10

    Awesome restaurant for anyone with dietary restrictions/allergies etc. And the food still tastes amazing!