Back

Reviews Garum

8.6/10

Fabulous

based on 601 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Chris H.
    Chris H.
    • one review
    6/10

    Entrees were good. Salami is fantastic and King Fish is great too. Pastas were a little but of a let down compared to previous visit, and lacking a little flavour. Overall an OK experience but nothing to write home about...

  2. Enz D.
    Enz D.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Great food quality, service was a little slow - we decided against dessert due to the long wait

  3. Nicoletta N.
    Nicoletta N.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food and fantastic service from the wait staff. Attentive to our requirements and went above and beyond to make our celebration special. The food was of exceptional quality, I wouldn't expect anything less from Guy Grossi.

  4. Elisa D.
    Elisa D.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Food is really good. Service is one of the best in Perth, waiters can really do their job. All staff are nice, attentive and very professional. Every time I eat at Garum I feel like at home. Great place!

  5. Joe K.
    Joe K.
    • 21 reviews
    10/10

    Food and service at Garum was first class. Given the current difficulties it is an absolute credit to all who work there. Menu necessarily shorter than previously but food was outstanding. Really enjoyed it.

  6. Karina W.
    Karina W.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Looking forward to returning to Garum. We selected 3 entrées which were good but unremarkable. The duck tortellini and pumpkin sage tortellini were memorable and so delicious. But the capsicum pasta was very average and really let the quality of the other dishes down. Likewise with the fig tart which was really just figs on the side of the plate. With regards to service everything was very pleasant. However we were only offered drinks once during the evening.

  7. Danica t.
    Danica t.
    • 5 reviews
    7.5/10

    The food we had was really delicious, service was really friendly and willing to help, although lacking a little bit of knowledge for the caliber of restaurant. In my opinion it’s just that bit overpriced for what it is. Cost is the only reason I wouldn’t visit again, which is a shame because the food was great.

  8. Lily T.
    Lily T.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Amazing food! The pasta was so fresh and the atmosphere was lovely!

  9. Stephanie C.
    Stephanie C.
    • one review
    4/10

    Disappointed with our dinner at garum. We order the polpo for starter, this was by far the best dish The we had the pork ragu. The pasta itself was fresh and well made however the sauce, although tasty was not a ragu. What we recieved was a pork bolognese, it was made with mince and not what you would expect when ordering a ragu. We then ordered the bistecca (steak). We ordered it medium and it arrived overcooked, in my opinon it was well done Overall the venue is well designed, the food was tasty however there were some areas of improvement and it did not match the price tag. Would not go back

  10. Gina S.
    Gina S.
    • one review
    6/10

    The restaurant itself is such a beautiful venue. We took some Overseas guests for a dinner and they were so impressed with the setting it’s just such a disappointment that the food is not up to scratch. I ordered the cacio Pepe, a dish I love and have had in Rome. It was lacking flavour, it came out cold and gluggy. I love al dente pasta but mine wasn’t cooked. Same goes for the rest of the table, two of the guests were ill this morning. I hope that the owner reads these reviews and takes action as the place has so much potential.

  11. Theresa D.
    Theresa D.
    • one review
    10/10

    I was seated where I could see the open kitchen which added an entertaining feature to my solo lunch. I started with the house bread and special olive oil dip. The bread was so good I bought a loaf to take home! Then I had the broccolo for entree and for main the lemony deliciosness of the carcioncini! I loved every bite. Finished with a perfect long black. Just wish they had a house dark chocolate available to go with it as there was no way I could fit in any dessert.

  12. Melissa P.
    Melissa P.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    The service was disappointing, they served starters before delivering our drinks, they placed the starters down with no cutlery, they provided bread after starters. My second drink didn’t arrive until after my main meal was almost finished, we had to wave down the staff to get attention to order second drinks and get cutlery. I stood waiting to pay for around over five minutes with no staff offering to assist. The service was clumsy and repeatedly late which was disappointing for my third time at Garum. The food was excellent however.

  13. Christian L.
    Christian L.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Beautiful setting and just the right atmosphere for an enjoyable Saturday evening. Food was delicious and paired nicely with a full body red.

  14. Ronnie W.
    Ronnie W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Everything about the meal was fantastic. The building has been converted beautifully and fits so well with the ambience. The wait staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. I will definitely be back!!

  15. Sonia J.
    Sonia J.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    We had the 3 course lunch offer, which was great value. We enjoyed the food and the service was good. The restaurant is beautifully located and has a lovely ambience. We will definitely be back!

  16. Gary L.
    Gary L.
    • one review
    9/10

    Nice atmosphere and setting. Wait staff were very attentive so great service and great food. Perfect for special occasions and celebrations.

  17. Sandra K.
    Sandra K.
    • one review
    10/10

    My two guests and I all enjoyed our meal. Superb setting and restaurant fit-out with lofty spaciousness. Classy but not unwelcoming - good vibes for good times over food and drinks whose prices are on par with other peer outlets. Looking forward to my next visit.

  18. Jim M.
    Jim M.
    • one review
    6/10

    The pork dish veggies unrecognisable cannot be cut Crackling on pork could not cut it the pork itself good The fish was dry and needed oil and lemon to add flavour the pasta was way to aldente

  19. Alan V.
    Alan V.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Good Italian food done. Beer price too much for the little you get.

  20. Rinaldo D.
    Rinaldo D.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    We had booked for a table of 4 for 8pm on Saturday night, we arrived, and the room was less than 1/2 full. We received our menus (which were breakfast menu) and was told the kitchen is closing in an hour. We ordered 2 glasses of wine and our entrees. The Entrees came out individually spread over a period of 15 minutes, 3 of the entrees were the same (Polpo), 8.30pm 1st Entrée (Polpo), 8.40pm 2nd Entrée (pepperoni), 8.45 last two entrees (Polpo). Then the two glasses of wine arrived (move than 35 minutes after ordering). We asked if the mains could come out at the same time, which they did, 3 red emperor and 1 carcioncini. The red emperor was overcooked and rubbery, like it had been microwaved (however I don’t think it was) and the carcioncini where the two sheets of pasta join was rather undercooked. In fairness they did offer complimentary desserts, which 3 guests ordered. All in all, I would have expected a higher standard of both food and service, especially that this is a Guy Grossi restaurant.

  21. Jenny S.
    Jenny S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The most exquisite flavors that had us guessing the unique ingredients. Best quail I’ve eaten in my life. Great atmosphere and the staff were welcoming and attentive.

  22. Graham  H.
    Graham H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Great ambiance, but we were put on a table in the middle of an area so that staff had to turn sideways to get past us to the bar area. Staff friendly, but gave us a drinks list so I could pick a port to have with my cheese platter. Staff disappeared and didn't return for 20 minutes so i never got the chance to order the port. Food excellent so it was still a good night.

  23. Eileen S.
    Eileen S.
    • one review
    7/10

    Bad points - service was inattentive. Food served to the wrong table. few requests before water was topped up. Being asked how the food was before we started eating and when I wanted to comment, waiters were too busy and avoided eye contact. Carbonara was tasteless. Could only notify the waiter when paying the bill, and it was too late to do anything. Otherwise, other food was good.

  24. Sylvia P.
    Sylvia P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Staff were excellent, very helpful and knowledgeable. Food was beautifully cooked and presented. Good range of wines. Great midweek meal. Been a few times and never disappointed.

  25. Paul M.
    Paul M.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Great food average service

  26. Craig H.
    Craig H.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Both Pasta dishhes were really disappointing particularly carcioncini (ravioli) was very thick and quite hard. I understand it should be al dente but this was ridiculous. Maybe the chefs should try the pasta themselves.

  27. Nari Y.
    Nari Y.
    • one review
    3/10

    Food was disappointing, interior was okay but facilities looks cheap.

  28. Peter F.
    Peter F.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Service was excellent by our table waitress. Could not be faulted. Perth does lack good quality restaurants but Garum would be one of Perths best restaurants at the moment. Keep up the good work.

  29. Sandra N.
    Sandra N.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This was our New Year’s Eve night our with friends from Melbourne. Have been wanting to try for a while and we aren’t disappointed .. we had the most amazing service from our waiter and the food was to die for .. if you want a great night out , Garum is for you . It made our night the best night!

  30. Keith s.
    Keith s.
    • 10 reviews
    7/10

    it was was a shame that we had to keep asking for service,& staff where slow even thou the restaurant wasn’t full at the time

  31. Bianca M.
    Bianca M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food, great service and definitely one of my favourite restaurants!

  32. Wendy H.
    Wendy H.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    The food was really delicious however the let down was the lack of service. Our wait person did not seem to want to be there. We were constantly searching for our waitperson, a coffee order was even forgotten. Disappointing experience.

  33. Shane W.
    Shane W.
    • 2 reviews
    6.5/10

    We were looking forward to going to Garum as we had heard good things & we are Guy Grossi fans. Unfortunately, the food was just average & so was the service.

  34. Julia Dookie F.
    Julia Dookie F.
    • one review
    10/10

    The waitress that served us was so professional in explaining the dishes. The specials and her favourites. The children’s food was of such high quality as was all the dishes. But really it was our server that was outstanding.

  35. Victoria R.
    Victoria R.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    This was my second visit for the week and couldn’t fault anything. The staff were so lovely, food delicious , we had a great time !

  36. Elisa D.
    Elisa D.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very good food, fresh ingredients, professional and welcoming staff. Nice atmosphere. We loved it! Bread is the best in town!! Very good choice of desserts.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    9.5/10

    Authentic Italian food. Very professional staff and the best bread in town.

  38. Mili S.
    Mili S.
    • one review
    10/10

    A1 food / service atmosphere topped off with free valet parking as pat I’d Love Italy promotion

  39. Jo S.
    Jo S.
    • one review
    10/10

    We were greeted immediately at the door and throughout the meal the service was attentive but not obtrusive. Food was delicious and would definitely recommend to anyone.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    8.75/10

    One of the best in Perth, absolutely enjoyed the experience.