85 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.1
85 reviews
Recommended
(8.2)
Food
(8.2)
Service
(8.1)
Value for money
(7.1)
Atmosphere
(8.3)

dined on Sat, 19 Jan 2019

(10)
Lets just say every aspect of the night was amazing! From the moment i walked in the door i was made to feel welcome even as a solo dinner. From the Owner who greeted me as i walked in to the waitress explained the menu to me they were all amazing. The food was cooked to perfection and i had a different wine to match each culinary delight. When i first ordered i told my waitress that i would be ordering a different drink for each plate to my surprise she came over a few mins before each dish to take my drink order so my food arrived at the same time as my drink. She even helping me pick what would go nicely together. Keep up the amazing work One extremely high point of the night was watching the owner work the room making sure everyone was enjoying the night he even came and sat with me for a while just to say high and check i was enjoying myself. Later when i had finished my meel and decided to have a night cap or 3 he even took the time to tell the bar staff to look after me which the did with some amazing cocktails. So in a few words i rate George Banks 6 stars and will be back very soon

dined on Sun, 13 Jan 2019

(9)
This is a great place - the amazing eclectic decor is very classy and the menu has many interesting dishes. The service is professional and personable. Toowoomba doesn’t have any other restaurant like this one and open on a Saturday and Sunday for lunch as well.

dined on Thu, 3 Jan 2019

(10)
Got to love fancy pants behind the bar and old mate servicing us! X
Christina Hayes

dined on Wed, 2 Jan 2019

(10)
some items on the menu foodchoices were not available due to New years rush, I expect. However there were plenty of other items to select from. Service was good without being annoying,and the bar person suggested another wine as the one we selected was not available,when we agreed she then said they would discount this bottle to match the price of the one we selected which I thought was a nice gesture.I hope they do well as the whole atmosphere is great and long overdue here in Toowoomba. It will be nice to be able to recommend a venue to friends and visitors the bar person suggested another wine and discounted to to match our original choice so that was very nice.

dined on Mon, 31 Dec 2018

(10)
When I've eaten at other restaurants I've always felt empty. But leaving George Banks, I was delightfully full. Great service, friendly staff, good drinks, and the food was the best in Toowoomba.

dined on Fri, 28 Dec 2018

(4)
The food was trying to be fine dinning but it lacked any taste. Very expensive for the quality of the food. For a rooftop restaurant bar there was very little showing off of the view the smokers and the barmans back get better views than the patrons. Bit of miss given the location.

dined on Sun, 23 Dec 2018

(10)
Nothing additional

dined on Thu, 20 Dec 2018

(10)
Very hot day, needed to close doors sooner and turn up air-con.

dined on Tue, 18 Dec 2018

(9)
Beautifully presented restaurant. Wonderful table service.

dined on Sun, 16 Dec 2018

(6)
Food lacked flavour, service was very good.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

About George Banks

SUPERCALIFRAGILISTICEXPIALIDOCIOUS! ‘The Bank’ building's much-anticipated rooftop bar finally has a name and is set to launch this November. Say hello to George Banks. George Banks serves lunch and dinner, Tuesday to Sunday. Guests can expect an exciting array of share-style food, complemented by a unique wine and drinks menu.

George Banks Address

Google Map