9.2/10
Excellent
based on 326 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Anne K.
    Anne K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Geppettos in East Melbourne is a much admired local Italian restaurant with a well deserved reputation for good service, authentic Italian food and wines to match.

  2. Daryl K.
    Daryl K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    I have been going to Geppetto for just over 30 years and have never done the right thing and reviewed them. About time I did! The food is "Nonna" food, unfussed family food! Generous serves (you don't go home hungry from Geppettos) and punched full of flavour. They treat you like family and the whole experience is fabulous. It has been consistent for 30 years. I intend to continue going until I drop.

  3. Sue d.
    Sue d.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    We absolutely love Geppetto. Unfortunately we were seated upstairs tonight. Food and service still excellent however it was difficult to hear over the large group near us. Upstairs seating is usually for larger groups which makes sense but we were a group of 4 amongst them. Even so we still love Geppetto

  4. Marilyn H.
    Marilyn H.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    All our food choices were of excellent quality and value and all staff were courteous and helpful. My salmon timbale was well presented and delcious and my only comment is that ut was too big for an entree!!

  5. Batul D.
    Batul D.
    • one review
    10/10

    So glad we dined at this restaurant. Cute Italian restaurant with food that was beyond amazing. All dishes came out fresh and never dissapointing. Would highly recommend to eat here for some authentic Italian food.

  6. Simon B.
    Simon B.
    • one review
    10/10

    First time in Melbourne and this place was everything we hoped it would be, a quaint little Italian restaurant with a great atmosphere. Service was friendly and timely and not to forget the beautiful food, so fresh and Very tasty! The wine selection was well suited to the food being served. Definitely will return.

  7. Vittoria F.
    Vittoria F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Located just outside CBD Geppetto Trattoria was a great find. Ernesto, our waiter was personable and gave us exceptional customer service. My husband had the Osso Buco D'agnello which just fell off the bone and I had Vitello Saltimbocca with roasted potatoes which was delicious. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

  8. Rod  H.
    Rod H.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    This place has been around for over 30 years and we can we why.. great simple Italian food with good service and good value prices. Will be back for lunch what a find

  9. Harriet L.
    Harriet L.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    This treasure of a restaurant is just a short stroll from the heart of Melbourne. The staff were welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. There was a lovely cosy ambience but it wasn't cluttered - just busy! The food was just perfect - tasty, balanced flavours, delicious. Portions were just the right size. We'd happily eat here again and will be recommending it to friends and family.

  10. Alby N.
    Alby N.
    • one review
    8/10

    Overall the restaurant was good, but the antipasto platter was disgustingly expensive. For each person it was, $18.50 so for both a shared platter was $37.00 and not much on it. Being an Italian restaurant bread should be virtually immediate on the table, I had to ask for it. It was overall quite good with ample servings and quality, apart from the starter.

  11. Kevin P.
    Kevin P.
    • one review
    5/10

    We ordered fish and veal for mains. Despite nice presentation, both meals were over cooked and dry, losing all tenderness. Staff were pleasant and responsive.

  12. Bill L.
    Bill L.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    We were 10 min late, and 3 of the five we had booked for were unable to attend. The staff were very accommodating and found us a table for two. My wife chose fish of day, told it was trout fillets. Pretty sure it wasn't, it was salmon, but hey, it was ok. I had crumbed pork medallions, plenty of it but a bit dry. All in all an average eating experience. The staff were very busy, but very friendly and attentive.

  13. Sterling G.
    Sterling G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    This was a great place to eat. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. I especially enjoyed the Osso Buco. The cheese cake was very good. We would return in a heart beat.

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Thanks Sterling for you fantastic review and we hope to keep the standard up for your next visit! Grazie.

  14. Cynthia R.
    Cynthia R.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Very welcoming and helpful, as it was pouring rain when we entered, and we were a little wet. Coat taken to hang immediately. Very pleasant waiter.

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Very welcoming and helpful, as it was pouring rain when we entered, and we were a little wet. Coat taken to hang immediately. Very pleasant waiter. Thanks for taking your time to leave such a wonderful review and we're so glad that you enjoyed your evening! Grazie.

  15. Cheryl Q.
    Cheryl Q.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    It has been 2 years since we ate at Geppettos, and last night would certainly be the last time! After being shown to our table and then told the specials on the menu , we had to wait 15 minutes before anyone returned to our table to take our drink or food order. We then waited half an hour before we were served our entree. Geppettos is very popular with takeaway and Uber orders at the expense of their restaurant customers. People were coming in and getting their food while we were still waiting! We have noticed that this is now a common happening in restaurants!

    Geppetto Trattoria

    We are extremely disappointed with your recent dinner with us here at Geppetto's. Even though the restaurant was fully booked we do not make any excuses for the utmost professional and attentive service and it seems we have failed you on your last visit and we are sorry for that. In terms of our takeaways disrupting service we do not believe this is correct as we had only a handful of pickups from locals as we do not currently use UBER. Nevertheless, we should have been able to provide you with a better experience and have sent you an email to follow up with this incident. We are a family run restaurant of almost 40 years and expect everyone to leave here satisfied. We are sorry.

  16. Peter A.
    Peter A.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Geppetto’s is an excellent restaurant. Food great. Service great. Ambience great. No wonder it’s always full. I’m hesitant to recommend it so highly in case I can’t be accommodated next time I want to go there!

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Peter there will always be a table here for you! Thanks so much for your continued support over the years

  17. Julie C.
    Julie C.
    • 16 reviews
    10/10

    Geppetto is a wonderful Italian restaurant, serving beautiful food in a lovely setting. The waiters were excellent, with efficient service. Highly recommend.

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Grazie Mille! Thanks for taking your time to leave such an incredible review on your recent visit with us.

  18. Tom D.
    Tom D.
    • one review
    9/10

    Almost everything was superb. Aranchini crisp outside, creamy inside, gnocchi was excellent as was the sauce, but ragu was not cooked fully and was tough, Saltimbocca excellent and cannoli superb. Wines well priced with choices of Italian and Australian varieties. Go there it's great

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Thanks Tom for your lovely review and we hope to perfect our ragu upon your next visit!

  19. Vicki S.
    Vicki S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Have trammed past this restaurant hundreds of times and only went there for the first time last night only to realise I have been missing out all these years. Fantastic food, friendly and efficient service and BYO welcomed. I think this will become one of my new favourites!

    Geppetto Trattoria

    We are so very glad that you enjoyed your first visit here at Geppetto's and that you gave us a chance after passing us by on the tram so many times! Grazie

  20. Shirley B.
    Shirley B.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great little restaurant. Staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. Can highly reccommend and will hopefully have the chance to visit again in the near future.

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Thanks Shirley for you great feedback. We are so very glad that you would recommend us to your friends and that you plan on visiting us again in the future

  21. Alisdair S.
    Alisdair S.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Welcoming, relaxed atmosphere but with white tablecloths felt like a special evening out. Attentive and cheerful Italian-heritage wait staff. Unanimously we all had excellent food for all three courses . Fair prices. Absolutely no concerns. This will be one of our favourite places to eat out and take friends. Thankyou!!

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Welcoming, relaxed atmosphere but with white tablecloths felt like a special evening out. Attentive and cheerful Italian-heritage wait staff. Unanimously we all had excellent food for all three courses . Fair prices. Absolutely no concerns. This will be one of our favourite places to eat out and take friends. Thankyou!! What and incredibly positive review for all our team here at Geppetto's! We are truly humbled and hope that your next visit was as good as your first! Grazie.

  22. Greg E.
    Greg E.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Our favourite restaurant in Melbourne. Never lets us down. Thank you.

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Thanks for your incredible review and we can only hope that we keep up the standard upon each visit!

  23. Mark S.
    Mark S.
    • one review
    9/10

    We are from interstate and visited this restaurant many years ago and we always wanted to go back. It was our Anniversary and it was just as good this time round as before. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Thanks for coming back to visit us from interstate and we are so happy you enjoyed your second visit!

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great Meatballs!

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Thanks for your great feedback on Nonna's famous meatballs!

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    7.75/10

    We had booked by phone but when we arrived we didn't have a table set for us. Lucky there were a few spare tables.

    Geppetto Trattoria

    We are very sorry that your booking was misplaced and hope that you were able to enjoy your dinner and evening once you had arrived.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 243 reviews
    9.5/10

    Fabulous restaurant with a great neighborhood feel. Great food & wonderful staff.

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Grazie Mille from all the team here at Geppetto's!

  27. PAUL E.
    PAUL E.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    I love that byo wines are accepted at reasonable corkage rate of $12/btl. And their wine list is very good anyway!

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Thanks so much for your great feedback and are glad that you enjoy the BYO option!

  28. Mary H.
    Mary H.
    • 6 reviews
    9.25/10

    We have been to Geppettos many times over the years and it has always been a pleasure with great food and service. Having BYO is excellent too. And we shall continue to return.

    Geppetto Trattoria

    We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed coming here for such a long time and hope to continue for many more years to come. Grazie!

  29. Swee S.
    Swee S.
    • 40 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food & service

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Always a pleasure having you dine with us Dr. Seow!

  30. Michael E.
    Michael E.
    • 153 reviews
    10/10

    One of the very best Italian restaurants in Melbourne. Great special deals inc a $30 Monday night offer which is very tasty. Nino and staff are very friendly and attentive. A winner.

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Thanks Michael for your wonderful feedback on your recent visit here. We're glad you find the Monday night $30 special good value and that our staff looked after you and your guests!

  31. Jennifer T.
    Jennifer T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This is my favourite restaurant - food is wonderful, fresh, inventive. Service is always attentive and efficient. Just love it.

    Geppetto Trattoria

    We are honoured that we are your favourite restaurant in a city with so many wonderful choices. Grazie Mille1

  32. Julie R.
    Julie R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great friendly Service and good food.

    Geppetto Trattoria

    We are very glad that you enjoyed our food and service and we can only hope that we provide the same next time! Grazie!

  33. Daniel J.
    Daniel J.
    • one review
    8/10

    Not that much choice on the menu other than that was decent nice wines there and service was good

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Thanks for your feedback Daniel. We do have a relatively smaller menu as we prefer to make everything daily and keep everything fresh. We are glad you enjoyed the wine and service and we hope to see you again!

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    9.25/10

    Some years since I visited but still a great place and I will return soon.

    Geppetto Trattoria

    So glad to hear that after a few years that you were still able to have a nice experience! we hope to see again soon!

  35. Ponte P.
    Ponte P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Love Geppettos food and the welcoming staff....its our favourite restaurant in Melbourne

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Grazie Mille Lou. We are so glad to have such wonderful guests like yourself walk through these doors on a regular basis!

  36. Kylie C.
    Kylie C.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Great traditional food

    Geppetto Trattoria

    Thanks for your lovely review!

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 288 reviews
    9/10

    monday night special for $30 was excellent value and best meal for that price I have had in a long time

    Geppetto Trattoria

    We are glad you enjoyed our Monday night special and hope to see you again soon! Grazie!

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    8.25/10

    We are a waitress than started that day, she was friendly and professional but there was another fairly young waitress than not only never smiled once but actually sour. Not a good impression, I watched her deliver food to other tables and never once did she converse or smile. One table was a group of quite elderly gentleman, I’m sure that would have appreciated a warmer reception and at least a smile.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 246 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent meatballs with great service.

    Geppetto Trattoria

    We also love Nonna's meatballs - thanks for your lovely review it's much appreciated!

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    10/10

    Authentic food, great atmosphere and friendly service

    Geppetto Trattoria

    We greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback on your recent dinner and we hope we can keep up the high standard upon your next visit!