1933 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.9
1933 reviews
Recommended
(9.3)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(9.1)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.5)

dined on Fri, 30 Nov 2018

(9)
food is divine. however table was too dark, restaurant noisy and crowded. ambience is ordinary, table settings cheap, not the environment that does justice to the great food.
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We will definitely take it on board and address it. We hope to see you again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Mon, 3 Dec 2018

dined on Mon, 26 Nov 2018

(8)
Great selection of vegetarian and meat dishes
Hi, thank you for your review and score. We look forward to seeing you again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Wed, 12 Dec 2018

dined on Sun, 25 Nov 2018

(9)
Lovely dimly atmospheric restaurant. Tastes that I’ve never experienced before. Suited for a special occasion for foodies that like to try new sensations.
Hi, thank you for your score and wonderful comments. We look forward to hosting you again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Wed, 12 Dec 2018

dined on Sat, 24 Nov 2018

(10)
Fabulous evening - great food and service. Highly recommend!!
Andy Granger

dined on Fri, 23 Nov 2018

(10)
This place is nothing short of perfect! Never have we had a bad meal. If you want a culinary journey to get your taste buds tingling....then come on down!!! :-)
Hi Andy, thank you for your wonderful words and score. We look forward to having you back again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Tue, 8 Jan 2019

dined on Fri, 23 Nov 2018

(9)
I live in the area and visit Gerard's quite regularly both with my wife and for business meetings. Its a great neighbourhood restaurant.
Hi, thank you for the near perfect review and score. We look forward to hosting you again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Mon, 3 Dec 2018

dined on Wed, 21 Nov 2018

(9)
Still as good as the day they opened
Hi, thank you for your wonderful comment and review. We look forward to hosting you again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Tue, 27 Nov 2018
Richard Price

dined on Wed, 21 Nov 2018

(7)
A mixed bag for us. We had good service and good, not exceptional, food. Menu was interesting however dishes seemed to fluctuate in quality from exceptional (octopus) to disappointing (Wagyu). Bread was lovely, wine was served in the smallest possible quantity. Did not, in our opinion, justify the high price compared to similar restaurants in the city we've been to.
Hi Richard, sorry to hear your experience wasn't the best. We appreciate your feedback and will take it on board. However, if you would like to discuss further, please feel free to email me direct at johnny@gerardsbistro.com.au.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Tue, 27 Nov 2018

dined on Mon, 19 Nov 2018

(10)
Best meal I’ve had in Australia
Hi Maitiu, thank you for the perfect review and score. We are humbled and honoured, and look forward to hosting you again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Thu, 22 Nov 2018

dined on Sat, 17 Nov 2018

(10)
The food was amazing and Alison who looked after us was outstanding. One of the best dining experiences I have had and would definitely come back to Brisbane (from Sydney) just for this restaurant.
Hi and thank you so much for the amazing score and wonderful comments. I will pass on your compliments to Allison.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Gerard's Bistro

Hidden down a James Street laneway much like a Middle Eastern Bazaar, Gerard’s Bistro is a hidden treasure and an indulgent experience for food enthusiasts alike. The restaurant’s modern décor features a textured yet relaxing environment and is a masterwork of the Moubarak Brothers, Elie, Mel and Johnny, the avant-gardes behind Moubment Group. Serving lunch Tuesday to Sunday and Dinner 7 nights, Gerard’s Bistro offers a Modern Australian tapestry of flavours woven with inspiration from the great cuisines of the Maghreb and Middle East. Guests are encouraged to share the menu in a banquet experience, complimented by a unique and imaginative wine and drinks list. Since opening 4 years ago, Gerard’s Bistro together with Head Chef, Ben Williamson has received multiple accolades and notable mentions from various reputable publications including The Gourmet Traveller, The Weekend Australian’s Hot 50, Financial Review – Best Restaurant Queensland. Most recently Ben was awarded Chef of the Year in the 2017 Queensland Good Food Guide and the bistro picked up it’s second chef hat.

Gerard's Bistro Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

4.5/5
3.5/5
9/10