1933 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.9
1933 reviews
Recommended
(9.3)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(9.1)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.5)

dined on Sat, 17 Nov 2018

(9)
The best modern take on middle eastern
Hi Roger, thank you for your score and comments. We look forward to hosting you again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Mon, 19 Nov 2018

dined on Fri, 16 Nov 2018

(7)
Was our first visit therefore had difficulty in fully appreciating the the menu and what was on offer. This was made doubly difficult due to the poor lighting at the tables. Had to use iphone torch to read menu (saw a number of other guests doing the same). Additional lighting at the tables would help.
Hi, thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your feedback and will pass it onto management. We hope we will see you again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Mon, 19 Nov 2018

dined on Fri, 16 Nov 2018

(10)
Great atmosphere
Hi Arran, thank you for the perfect score and review. We look forward to hosting you again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Mon, 19 Nov 2018

dined on Tue, 13 Nov 2018

(10)
The food was swoonable! Delicious, fresh, tasty, amazing flavour!
Hi Julie, thank you for the perfect score and review. We are honoured by your wonderful words.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Thu, 15 Nov 2018

dined on Tue, 13 Nov 2018

(10)
This was the second time I dined at Gerard's and was not disappointed. I had an oyster to start the meal which was fresh and flavoursome. For the main, I had the Bekaa wings which have a great spice hit and a lovely yoghurt sauce to cool you down. I'm pretty sensitive to heat but I just love the taste of it so you might need some tissues if you're like me. I finished the meal off with charred pear ice cream with white chocolate, cardamon and pickled pair accompaniments. Very well balanced and not an overkill of sweetness so it was a perfect way to end the meal. Could not recommend Gerard's enough!
Hi and thank you for the detailed review and score. We appreciate your amazing feedback and look forward to hosting you again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Tue, 8 Jan 2019

dined on Tue, 13 Nov 2018

(9)
Amazing food, great service and a lovely place for lunch
Hi and thank you for your score and review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
Celia Carroll

dined on Fri, 9 Nov 2018

(10)
We had a wonderful night! The food was wonderful and the service was impeccable. I had Melbourne visitors with me and it was a great way to showcase Brisbane fine dining.
Hi Celia, thank you for the perfect score and review. We are honoured.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Mon, 12 Nov 2018

dined on Wed, 7 Nov 2018

(9)
Great food and atmosphere in the laneway. Service was attentive - definitely recommend and will return.
Hi, thank you for the amazing score and review. We look forward to seeing you back again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Sat, 10 Nov 2018

dined on Wed, 7 Nov 2018

(9)
Confit squid is the bomb.
Hi and thank you for your review and score. Glad you enjoyed the squid dish. We look forward to hosting you again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Sat, 10 Nov 2018

dined on Sun, 4 Nov 2018

(8)
Food is delicious
Hi and thank you for the near perfect review and score. We look forward to having you back again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Thu, 8 Nov 2018
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Gerard's Bistro

Hidden down a James Street laneway much like a Middle Eastern Bazaar, Gerard’s Bistro is a hidden treasure and an indulgent experience for food enthusiasts alike. The restaurant’s modern décor features a textured yet relaxing environment and is a masterwork of the Moubarak Brothers, Elie, Mel and Johnny, the avant-gardes behind Moubment Group. Serving lunch Tuesday to Sunday and Dinner 7 nights, Gerard’s Bistro offers a Modern Australian tapestry of flavours woven with inspiration from the great cuisines of the Maghreb and Middle East. Guests are encouraged to share the menu in a banquet experience, complimented by a unique and imaginative wine and drinks list. Since opening 4 years ago, Gerard’s Bistro together with Head Chef, Ben Williamson has received multiple accolades and notable mentions from various reputable publications including The Gourmet Traveller, The Weekend Australian’s Hot 50, Financial Review – Best Restaurant Queensland. Most recently Ben was awarded Chef of the Year in the 2017 Queensland Good Food Guide and the bistro picked up it’s second chef hat.

Gerard's Bistro Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

4.5/5
3.5/5
9/10