Back

Reviews Gingerboy

9.1/10

Excellent

based on 580 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Emma B.
    Emma B.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was delicious and so filling. Just when we thought it was over... the rounds of desserts came! Pair it with beer or champagne for the ultimate yum cha.

  2. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    8.75/10

    Amazing flavours in each dish and excellent service Sharing menu was a great way to try different dishes.

  3. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    9.75/10

    Great place in CBD of Melbourne. Will definitely go again!

  4. Karyan N.
    Karyan N.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Great service, food and atmosphere. My other party was running late so they gave me some seasoned bar snacks - whilst I was waiting at the table. We ordered a range of dishes, and the waitress suggested that we could get smaller serves of the Char kway Teow and red duck curry, which meant we could sample more dishes. Thanks Gingerboy!

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    7.75/10

    Price v food not quite aligned

  6. Joanne T.
    Joanne T.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    What I love: The son in law eggs, fantastic fish and pork belly. Service was also attentive. What I do not like: There's limited seats between tables. The lighting is also quite dim, although I suspect that was on purpose. Pricey, but you can use your the fork voucher

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    7/10

    Food was ok but not great.

  8. Janet W.
    Janet W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    My favourite restaurant Gingerboy never disappoints! The food tastes amazing and service is excellent. I recently took two friends visiting from Canada who stated it was an absolute highlight of their two months travelling across Australia. I will be back.

  9. Janet W.
    Janet W.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    My favourite restaurant and have introduced it to a number of people who have thiroughly enjoyed the food and service. You must try.

  10. Ian Y.
    Ian Y.
    • one review
    10/10

    Went for the basic full menu. It was awesome and included 5 deserts which were delicious but made the meal huge

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8/10

    Enjoyable food and overall good experience

  12. Craig P.
    Craig P.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food service and the decor of the restaurant was really fantastic and we were all from interstate and loved the experience

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great decor. Service was variable. Enjoyed the food. They could have seated us quicker given we had a booking rather than make us stand in a crowded doorway with people pushing past us. Other than that, liked the cool vibe.

  14. Devi T.
    Devi T.
    • 21 reviews
    8.75/10

    We had lunch with my friend & we chose the $50 lunch set menu.All delicious. Happy tummy :)

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    8/10

    Asian fusion, recommend the chicken ribs and sashimi

  16. Nigel P.
    Nigel P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food especially was truly amazing! You can pick up a cookbook with all the recipes if you wish to re create your night. My family and I will have fabulous memories of this wonderful experience on our last night in Melbourne.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 296 reviews
    10/10

    Great service, staff are very nice and helpful. Food was awesome! Everything was so tasty and flavorsome. Very accommodating to dietary restrictions, we did the Quick Trip banquet and some of the dishes were altered to meet dietary restrictions, so a big thank you! It was very filling. Thank you for a great night. We’ll be back.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    9/10

    A bit sad that you throw away food that hasn't been eaten. Takeaway is the norm, and it's a bit snobby for you to not offer that. But more importantly, you should be donating the food that isn't eaten. Whilst dining at Ginger Boy, it looks onto an alley way where homeless people can be seen looking for food. The least you could do is be more caring about the situation of others.

  19. Jesse W.
    Jesse W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great people, incredible food and love the atmosphere

  20. Joanne P.
    Joanne P.
    • one review
    7/10

    Had VERY noisy big table next to us... they should have been in a private dining area as they made it impossible for us to chat and enjoy....

  21. Emilio D.
    Emilio D.
    • 53 reviews
    10/10

    We caught up with friends from interstate and they too are in love with this place! Although we have been quite a few times before, each time we re-visit we ask why we don't come here more often! As usual the food was amazing and service exemplary! We are so coming back much more often! Thank you for a lovely evening!

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    6.25/10

    Average food. Over bearing service.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8.75/10

    Food was fantastic and service excellent

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    9.75/10

    Fabulous food, service was good except for waitress topping up wine. A pet hate. I like to be in control of how much I’m drinking. Other than that will definitely be back.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great vibe and atmosphere in the downstairs area.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    7.5/10

    NANANNAANANNANANAN

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    9.5/10

    We did the 70pp banquet menu and all the food was delicious! Everyone was impressed with the quality and will be back again. The only thing that I would personally say is that there was possibly a few too many fried items in the banquet we had, which made us feel a bit heavy afterwards, however everything was delicious nonetheless. The wines were lovely and the staff were very knowledgeable and on-the-ball. They catered to my dairy intolerance easily and didn’t miss a beat. Thank you.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious ??can’t wait to go back

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    9.5/10

    Absolutely loved it

  30. Helen L.
    Helen L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Fabulous place

  31. Jess W.
    Jess W.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Food was amazing and the staff were great. We sat upstairs which was really cool and the bartender went out of his way

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    9/10

    Love Gingerboy, food is amazing, never disappoints.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 303 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great food, great service - highly recommend

  34. Lilian Y.
    Lilian Y.
    • one review
    9/10

    The service was impecable. We had our 3 year old with us, I am pregnant and everyone was very accommodating. He is quite fussy with his food and woukd only eat rice. It had to be cooked earlier than normal just to accommodate out toddler. Who does that? Gingerboy is the best! Another option for entree was given to me because I could not eat raw food. So the chef made san choi bao for me. Hence we come back each time

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    9.25/10

    Food was absolutely amazing!!! Cannot wait to go back and try some more

  36. Belinda N.
    Belinda N.
    • 15 reviews
    8.5/10

    Gingerboy the food and taste was amazing and the share options are great to have with a friend.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    8/10

    Tasty but pricey!

  38. Karyn W.
    Karyn W.
    • 4 reviews
    9.75/10

    Thought that the food was delicious and we had a very good waitress

  39. Nicole A.
    Nicole A.
    • 17 reviews
    10/10

    Never disappointed eating here, always great food and service LOVE IT

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 294 reviews
    8.25/10

    Fabulous food as always