Back

Reviews - Grappa Ristorante & Bar

9/10

Excellent

based on 382 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Christine h.
    Christine h.
    • 9 reviews
    9.5/10

    Love the food at Grappa - wide selection and everything is beautifully crafted. Warm welcome from their people and good wines on offer. I think lunch is the perfect timing for this one because it can be a little noisy when their is a full house ;)

  2. Gina N.
    Gina N.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Authentic and tasty Italian restaurant. Great pizza and pasta

  3. Pamela T.
    Pamela T.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    We've been to Grappa many times and love both the food and atmosphere but unfortunately on this occasion we must have been invisible as service was extremely lacking. We were seated and from that point on, totally ignored. We had to flag down staff to take our order, our starters never arrived, and other than deliver our main, we were not approached once thereafter. The only redeeming feature was that our mains were delicious. I'm not sure what happened on this occasion as we could see all other tables around us we receiving very attentive service - we must just have had an invisibility cloak over our table.

  4. Yessica S.
    Yessica S.
    • one review
    10/10

    amazimg food, atmoshere and customer service was good. a+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

  5. Greg S.
    Greg S.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Great place for a romantic dinner or family affair, staff and owner very welcoming. Food was great, nice size portions and the service was excellent- highly recommended

  6. Tim B.
    Tim B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great Italian food - the pasta with crabbed chilli was perfection and the freshly baked sourdough awesome. Can't fault the food. Ambience and service was fine too.

  7. Denis Q.
    Denis Q.
    • 29 reviews
    5/10

    The staff were very good, but the main meal appeared too quickly and seemed like it had been dished straight from a ban marie out the back. I can make a better beef ragu myself

  8. Michelle H.
    Michelle H.
    • 13 reviews
    6/10

    Very busy Saturday night with lots of large groups and very, very noisy. Food was tasty but waiters/waitresses rather distracted looking after the larger groups.

  9. Virginia S.
    Virginia S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Best Italian restaurant in Sydney. Service, food and atmosphere is hard to beat. The menu both drinks and food is fabulous. You will find something you love ! Great restaurant!

  10. Carl G.
    Carl G.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    I've eaten at Grappa a few times. Service was great. The Saturday we ate tgere was packed with large groups.We were a party of 4 and were seated straight away. Drinks and starters came out within 10 mins of ordering. Mains came out well spaced out, so too did our desserts. Food was great and we'll portioned. Only 2 things I could fault. First was, it was incredibly noisy, which can't be helped with big groups celebrating birthdays and the second, it was really hard to get someone's attention atvtge end of the evening to arrange the bill. Quite a few staff were concentrating on cleaning up tables and the like. Actually had to get up after 20 mins of trying as the staff in our section had all but disappeared.

  11. Alice L.
    Alice L.
    • 11 reviews
    6.5/10

    The service is always friendly and the food is always superb (apart from kids chicken schnitzel which was far too small). The only drawback is the noise of the restaurant. When it’s crowded, you cannot engage in conversation and it is far from relaxing. We will return but will opt for midweek instead.

  12. David H.
    David H.
    • 15 reviews
    8.5/10

    Charlie and staff had a typically busy time being a Melbourne Cup lunch. We were well looked after. A very enjoyable long and relaxing lunch. Great food and great restaurant.

  13. John G.
    John G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great place, pound for pound no finer Italian in Sydney.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    7.25/10

    Excellent Italian food and reasonable service. The only downside is that only a few of the significant numbers of staff are permitted to take orders and those people are heavily overloaded and are quite easily distracted into long chats with people they know. Hence getting some services was unnecessarily delayed.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    9.75/10

    Amazing, super high quality food at a reasonable price. Great service

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    6.5/10

    Server was a bit bored.. Was drinking spirits with mixers and kept brining more mixer when not required and were on bill

  17. Zelimir P.
    Zelimir P.
    • 16 reviews
    8/10

    The best pizza in Sydney

  18. Greg S.
    Greg S.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Thanks - we enjoyed our night

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 302 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great food and service as usual.

  20. Terry J.
    Terry J.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Had a lovely time and well catered for. Thank you

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8.75/10

    Pricy but great for a special occasion.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    8.75/10

    We celebrated my daughter’s 14th birthday at Grappa. It is a vibrant, noisy (but not too noisy) Italian restaurant with quality food. Woodfire pizza was perfect, pasta delicious and the steak perfectly cooked. The birthday girl was treated to a candle in her dessert. Service was friendly but it was a busy Saturday night so a little hit and miss but big call out to the bald guy (owner? Manager?) who was amazing on the floor. Definitely in our list of family favourites.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8.75/10

    Fora restaurant to be operating in the Leichhardt area for over twenty years is a testament to Charlie and his wife for the high standards they set for themselves and whether you are only a couple or a group, you will experience the same standard of service, the food is exceptional and the wine list whilst not large has a few gems . Get the sommelier to recommend a gem.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9.75/10

    I like the BYO option

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 246 reviews
    9/10

    Great place always great food wine and service. Good for families too

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    9/10

    Really enjoyable experience, defiantly go back

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    9/10

    Food was excellent. It was a bit busy so we did feel a bit rushed as they were preparing for a large group. Otherwise it was a yummy dinner and service was good albeit rushed.

  28. Nicholas H.
    Nicholas H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We had a large table for a celebration lunch and Grappa was perfect. Great food and service and really worked well.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great food and service as usual.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great venue, great service and food

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    9.25/10

    Lovely place - my husband and I make sure we visit at least once a year. Our waiter was a little forgetful, however. We had to ask for both the butter and the bill from someone else, as we waited ages for him to bring them to us and they never came. The only disappointing part of the night.

  32. Frank A.
    Frank A.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a lovely restaurant, good food and service and atmosphere, definitely hope to go back

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 225 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great food. Not best value for money though. Location isn't easy to get to.

  34. Bertie S.
    Bertie S.
    • 2 reviews
    8.75/10

    The restaurant was very busy, yet the service was attentive and helpful with the menu choices and we did not have to wait long for our food orders.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    9/10

    Have been back several times and each time it's been as amazing as the last. Fantastic food, great vibe and the staff are always helpful.

  36. Andrew G.
    Andrew G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great service (although the restaurant was only 40% full), awesome food and great guidance on menu choices

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 246 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great food and service and love that you can BYO a nice bottle of wine.

  38. Phil L.
    Phil L.
    • 2 reviews
    9.75/10

    Absolutely loved grappe. Great food Great service Highly recommended

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent food and wine, service was attentive and atmosphere perfect for a special occasion, yet also inviting and friendly.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    8.75/10

    A lovely restaurant with delicious and fresh food. A little over priced. The service was great and the wait staff were very attentive.