Back

Reviews - Gymea Hotel

8/10

Very good

based on 83 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Samantha B.
    Samantha B.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    The pink haired barmaid could have been friendlier and cracked a smile...but everything else was good. The food was excellent. Plenty of quiet spaces.

    Gymea Hotel

    Thank you for the review Samantha your feedback is important to us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you again.

  2. Susan H.
    Susan H.
    • one review
    9/10

    First time I’ve ordered a steak and it was perfect. Filet Mignon actually. Cooked to perfection and veggies were so fresh and not over cooked. Have had a few lunches there, burgers are amazing! I’ll definitely be back. Much better than the Caringbah pub.

    Gymea Hotel

    Thanks for the positive review Susan. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again soon

  3. Diane W.
    Diane W.
    • one review
    8/10

    Food was great as we have been many times. The menu was limited but that’s just how it is. Bit sad to sit near the kitchen with it looking so empty. A few lights in the empty servery would be better. Or even a menu laminated on the table.

    Gymea Hotel

    Thanks for the review and feedback Diane. It is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

  4. Fiona B.
    Fiona B.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    It’s a favourite local

    Gymea Hotel

    Thanks for the review Fiona

  5. Jackie I.
    Jackie I.
    • 7 reviews
    7.5/10

    Nice quick meal

  6. Bronwyn S.
    Bronwyn S.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    A good variety of food and good value.

  7. Sue G.
    Sue G.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    The manager and staff went out of their way to manage my Low FODMAP Diet (required f or Irritable Bowel). Really fabulous service. The music (room next door) was a little bit loud by the time we left, but other than that we had a really good night.

  8. Rachael M.
    Rachael M.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Ordered a burger which we watched sit on the self for 15mins before our number was buzzed, by the time we got the burger it was cold! Not even warm! Took the burger back, we were then told they would remake it however 20mins later still no burger, the cooks/kitchen staff are the ones letting down the team here. The service staff were amazing and very apologetic.

  9. Alison L.
    Alison L.
    • one review
    8/10

    I arrived not being able to locate my table reservation, even though I had received a confirmation of my booking. Furthermore, this meant my request for a low table and chairs was not fulfilled. I will not be using the on line booking service in future.

  10. Sandra N.
    Sandra N.
    • one review
    5.25/10

    Days before we edited the booking to request a table away from the door to the outside as cold was an issue yet was given the second closest table to the door! The meal portions were small and basic. We appreciate it was a busy night yet this shouldn’t impact on meal size. We are Gymea locals so quite disappointing.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great neighbourhood pub to catch up with friends for a drink and casual dinner. decent and varied menu with something for everyone and bonus being there are specials for different weekdays/evenings. Will definitely return

  12. Lynn G.
    Lynn G.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good food and speedy service

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    7/10

    Portions are getting smaller each time we go ..

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9.25/10

    Good food. Big menu. Great live music.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    5.25/10

    Not sure what you can do about it, but found the place felt a bit rough. Some of the people wandering around and out the front in the smoking section made me feel a little unsafe with our two children with us. Not a family friendly vibe on the Thursday night we were there. We will go back to the Gymea bowlo. Pity as really good value with the food.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 243 reviews
    9/10

    Great food and service as usual.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    7.5/10

    Need a proper dance floor when bands are playing. Dancing on carpet is bad- no atmosphere for band when no one dancing due to lack of defined dance floor.

    Gymea Hotel

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate your feedback here, and we will be sure to take your comments on board in regards to the dance floor! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 291 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great food at a great price. Highly recommend.

    Gymea Hotel

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  19. Tara O.
    Tara O.
    • 8 reviews
    7.5/10

    greta food will be coming back

    Gymea Hotel

    Hi Tara, Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    6.25/10

    Classic pub food. I got a steak and it was good. The Kids menu is also good. We enjoyed the TheFork 50% off offer, so it was definitely a good quality/price ratio!

    Gymea Hotel

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great menu options and friendly staff, nice outdoor area too

    Gymea Hotel

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  22. Maggie C.
    Maggie C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Staff were friendly and helpful, meals were very nice and served quick and the price was very affordable, would definitely go back

    Gymea Hotel

    Hi Maggie, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us! Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit!

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    5.25/10

    Food was ordinary and very noisy

    Gymea Hotel

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We apologise that your expectations weren't met during your visit with us, and we appreciate your feedback here. We would like to know more about your visit with us, and urge you to contact us at gymeahotel@alhgroup.com.au or phone (02) 9524 0392 if you wish to discuss this further. We look forward to hearing from you, and we hope to see you again soon.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.25/10

    We were looked after but my booking wasn't confirmed at the hotel.

  25. Eleanor E B.
    Eleanor E B.
    • 27 reviews
    7.75/10

    very good lobster tonight

  26. Martin C.
    Martin C.
    • 3 reviews
    7.75/10

    Good quality pub food.

  27. DEBORAH B.
    DEBORAH B.
    • 5 reviews
    7.5/10

    Excellent thanks The Fork 50 % dining. We each had a tasty seafood dish that normally costs $26 ...so the total food bill was $26. What a bargain and delicious too.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 237 reviews
    9/10

    The food was good & drinks are good value. Self service with buzzer for food. Great value on"the fork" 50% off on selected days for food.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    7.75/10

    During the week this place has different specials, a nice local to drop in for dinner and a drink. Good variety in the menu and a great beer garden.

    Gymea Hotel

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience dining with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    8.75/10

    Loved this hotel good quality food & drinks. THEFORK discount was amazing.

  31. Anthony Y.
    Anthony Y.
    • 12 reviews
    8/10

    It’s a nice pub to go, a bit pricey if there’s no discount

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    8.75/10

    Good service and food

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 292 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great food at a local pub - great price too. We will be back.

  34. Mark S.
    Mark S.
    • 28 reviews
    10/10

    I loved this venue way better than I expected. Mumm champagne $10 a glass was fabulous!

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    6/10

    Great value. Nice little suburban pub.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    8/10

    fantastic happy hour and good division of sections depending on what you were going for (family, sports, outdoor)

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    8/10

    Big beef ribs, prawn pasta has lots of prawns.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    5/10

    All 5 members of our party were disappointed with our meals. I had the Angus hamburger which was very tough. 2 had the lamb dish which contained little meat but a lot of bone. 2 had the halumi salad which they said they wouldn't order again. General census was that the food was much better at Miranda Hotel.

  39. DEBORAH B.
    DEBORAH B.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    This was our first time eating at Gymea hotel and we were very impressed. We're re-doing our kitchen floor so wanted an inexpensive meal. We loved our great value,$10 Wed night special, chicken schnitzel. Piping hot and very tasty. Just the way we like it. Service was friendly and our meals were served amazingly quick. We'll be right back. The 2 for one Tuesday deal will be next. Beats cooking.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    7.5/10

    Band was very noisy