Back

Reviews - Handpicked Cellar Door

9.3/10

Excellent

based on 86 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Carol A.
    Carol A.
    • 26 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great team

  2. Brooke V.
    Brooke V.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing experience, we will be back!

  3. John B.
    John B.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Great cheese and wine

  4. Catherine B.
    Catherine B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wasn't expecting too much because I enjoy wine tastings at vineyards but this exceeded expectations. The service was great and the cheese and meat platter to match our wine flight was so good that we ordered 2 between 4 people. Will come here again for casual catch ups with friends!

  5. Sarah H.
    Sarah H.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Not bad, noty the greatest, menu has been cut short due to COVID-19 so the quality has substantially dropped. Also wopuld be nice to be greeted with someone who speaks fluent english

  6. Danielle C.
    Danielle C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing venue, attentive, friendly, knowledgeable staff. Kevin was really helpful with his wine knowledge. Cheese and wine pairings on point as always.

  7. Kylie S.
    Kylie S.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    The helpful staff and delicious wines and food at Handpicked make it an excellent choice for an evening of tasting and munching. We had the special truffle camembert which was oozing with deliciousness. The wine flight was amazing, every wine was high quality and full of complexity.

  8. Jen V.
    Jen V.
    • one review
    7/10

    Pairing was a good idea. But the tasting nites indicate the type of food that will go well with it. Would be nice to have more food choices and not just charcuterie plates. That would make it that extra more special. Like with with matching small plates.

  9. Lisa J.
    Lisa J.
    • one review
    10/10

    The best service and the wine was remarkably delicious! Let’s not forget the cheese and meats - an excellent experience! We’ll be back!!

  10. Dean R.
    Dean R.
    • 30 reviews
    10/10

    Wow - Lisha's service is second to none and the knowledge shared about the variety of wines we are tasting extends the great experience had by all.

  11. Pat R.
    Pat R.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Such a great idea! Wine and cheese yesssss!!! Friendly staff and beautiful venue. The antipasto plate little pricey for what it is but I would definitely recommend.

  12. Winnie C.
    Winnie C.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Handpicked is one of my favourite wine bars in Sydney. Comfortable, relaxing, great wine (love the flights!) and good service. The staff take the time to talk you through the wine list if you're so inclined and friendly without being overly chatty. Thanks for the great service Lia!!

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    7.75/10

    Wine is great, food a little overpriced and small portions

    Handpicked Cellar Door

    Hi Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed our wines. What food items did you order? I would love to know so as I can monitor those items. Regards Andrew

  14. Simone X.
    Simone X.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    Exceptional, food, wine and service. Shout out to Kevin and Andrew for looking after us.

  15. Vannary S.
    Vannary S.
    • 4 reviews
    6.5/10

    Great place for a tasting before heading out for dinner - and you can get your favourite one and BYO to Spice Ally

  16. Jacqueline W.
    Jacqueline W.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Absolutely love this place! The flights of wine paired with beautiful meats and cheeses make for such a nice experience. I celebrated my birthday here with a group and we had the best time. Service with a smile and epic tunes playing. Highly recommend it!

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    8.25/10

    Love the wine tasting- perfect for a pre-dinner drink and great atmosphere

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    9/10

    Wonderful experience, great wines. Fabulous service, left with 3 bottles. Thanks to our somme, Kev

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great service from Kevin. Attentive and educational.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8.25/10

    The wait staff was friendly but was rushed. I think they needed an additional staff member on

  21. Pierre  M.
    Pierre M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Awesome idea to have "live" seasonal cooking happening in the lounge Maybe update some of the tasting flights to include more of the experimental batch wines?

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    9.75/10

    Great service! The flaming cheese wheel truffle pasta was amazing!

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    8.25/10

    A tad bit pricey than needed, but lovely food, wines and service.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    5.5/10

    Not a place to eat at if you're hungry but a great place for wine and nibblies

  25. HOLLY B.
    HOLLY B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Such an amazing experience, it’s very good for groups and jack was a straight up legend! Thanks!

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food and drinks, but the food service was very slow. Would go back next time, but prepare to wait for your meals.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    10/10

    The atmosphere was lovely with live music and the service and food/wine was delicious!

  28. Milena & Olaf R.
    Milena & Olaf R.
    • 8 reviews
    8.25/10

    We went for the truffle pasta, which was really nice. Afterwards, we shared the truffle and wine flight with four different Pinot Noir.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    10/10

    The truffle pasta was amazing and such friendly service from everyone, thanks!

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    7.5/10

    Visited handpicked to get our hands on the cheese wheel pasta with truffle. The service was incredible. Staff were attentive and made great recommendations with wines, cheese and cured meats. Watching the way they made the pasta was fantastic however the brandy added in the dish made it taste awful. It was overpowering and we couldn't taste any of the cheese or truffle. Portions were small consdiering the price but definitely would go back for some wine and cheese.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    9.5/10

    A great experience Combining truffles and wine.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    8/10

    Great value for money. Really nice cheese list and truffle pasta. Would prefer some more international wines. Really nice vibe. But placing 4 people in a row on the bar for dinner doesn't make sense.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 291 reviews
    8.25/10

    sooooooo tasty! they need to do the raclette more often!

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 250 reviews
    7/10

    Tables a bit too small if you order a couple of share plates and wine flights

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    10/10

    Love the Raclette! Great wine pairing and atmosphere is sensational, will recommend to all my wine loving friends.

  36. Tatiana B.
    Tatiana B.
    • 8 reviews
    7.75/10

    We really enjoyed our raclette. While I found the portion size perfect, there were a couple of complaints about the small size. The wine went down a treat too!

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    10/10

    Great wine and cheese pairing.

  38. Anne-Maree L.
    Anne-Maree L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great service, warm, welcoming and hospitable. Staff go out of their way to make this a personalised experience. Wine flights are fabulous as are the cheese and cured meats.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    9/10

    Good for fried catching up or team drinks before dinner

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    4.75/10

    The staff seemed completely disinterested in the customers or the food or the wine or in being there. I was on a date and the staff wanted to seat us on a saga area between other parties - very close to the other patrons.