Back

Reviews - Harveys Bar and Bistro

9.5/10

Excellent

based on 117 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Danielle S.
    Danielle S.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly and attentive staff, fresh food, great coffee, quick service. Lovely outdoor atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle. The menu has a variety of options. Next time I’ll try the mince & lentils on flour tortilla.

  2. Dale F.
    Dale F.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    Nice social place to have a meal

  3. NICOLA S.
    NICOLA S.
    • one review
    10/10

    This is always my go to restaurant for good food and atmosphere. I think I have been an irregular diner for the last 10 years and they have never let me down with quality.

  4. Jen E.
    Jen E.
    • 6 reviews
    9/10

    Harveys never fails to please. It's our favourite. Great service and great atmosphere. There's always a buzz of friends meeting and diners enjoying the high quality, interesting and skilfully prepared seasonal dishes. Our dilemma is always whether to revisit favourite menu items or move on to 'fresh fields'. So, a combination of both options wins every time. Harveys, please don't ever take the duck pate and soft meringue with passionfruit curd and berries off the menu!

  5. Cherice C.
    Cherice C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Had a great night at Harvey's as usual! Staff are super-friendly; always recognise and welcome you. Service is great and food is always wonderful. The pleasure of the evening is all ours!!!!

  6. Kevin P.
    Kevin P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly and Professional Service. Just the right amount of time between courses and attention from the waiters. Food was well-presented with simplicity being the key. Unfortunately, if I'm being frank, I thought the value for money was less than average. Nevertheless, the positives outweighed the negative. The availability and option of dining indoors with AC was wonderful on a hot QLD summers day. All in all, my dining partner and I enjoyed the experience and will visit again.

  7. Bruce H.
    Bruce H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Harvey’s is a Brisbane treasure - lovely ambience and a taste experience - you never miss and in the heart of James Street - the making of our town - staff are brilliant - wine list exacting

  8. Dave M.
    Dave M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious food! Wonderful atmosphere and friendly staff. Beautiful location. Roasted eggplant was especially amazing - melted in the mouth - the best!

  9. Hilarie H.
    Hilarie H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great find on James Street. Fantastic food, local produce and excellent wine list. We added an extra 3 to our party, staff were very accommodating and service was excellent. Recommended.

  10. David W.
    David W.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Food was good - service was rubbish - they lost our order and we had to rush our lunch after having to ask for it again - drinks service was non existant

  11. Steve S.
    Steve S.
    • 16 reviews
    8/10

    There’s nothing not to like about this place. Delicious lunch served by friendly staff.

  12. Susan F.
    Susan F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Harveys is always excellent. Friendly efficient staff and the food always beautifully prepared and presented. A very broad range of beverages is also available.

  13. Steve S.
    Steve S.
    • 16 reviews
    9.5/10

    Super friendly staff serving up just delicious menu items. Try them you won’t be disappointed.

  14. Steve S.
    Steve S.
    • 16 reviews
    8/10

    Great service. Simple delightful menu. Excellent wine list. A little noisy as all restaurants are these days. I loved the fish special. Easy lunchtime dining

  15. Lauren P.
    Lauren P.
    • one review
    10/10

    This was a great find. The atmosphere was lovely the wait staff extremely helpful and prompt and the food was absolutely delicious! We came in for breakfast and would definitely come again

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    8.25/10

    Have had breakfast twice in a row we enjoyed it so much. Thank you.

  17. Marian J.
    Marian J.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely food and great service . Will be back soon.

  18. Scott H.
    Scott H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent quality and great atmosphere

  19. Debbie F.
    Debbie F.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    Love the gin bowls and the crème caramel is amazing

  20. Laura C.
    Laura C.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Always so consistent

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great soup, beautiful with bread

  22. Laura C.
    Laura C.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Always a favourite , great food and friendly service

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    8.5/10

    Have visited Harvey’s on several occasions and the food has always been delicious and the service very good. However yesterday the service was a bit slow, although the waitress and waiter were very friendly.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    10/10

    Harveys has always been an brilliant cafe, the service and the food have always been outstanding.

  25. Laura C.
    Laura C.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Always a favourite

  26. Debbie F.
    Debbie F.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    The creme caramel is amazing and vegetarian main was full of flavour. I loved the gin bowl I ordered and the service was faultless. The only negative was we were sat right next to the sliding door to the outside eating area, which was difficult for the staff to get through with plates and glasses.

  27. Steve S.
    Steve S.
    • 16 reviews
    8/10

    Great Saturday lunch spot

  28. Helen A.
    Helen A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Love the plates of food offered here. Never disappointed!

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    8.5/10

    All our food was lovely - the service was nothing to rave about but good - I had the haloumi encrusted chicken schnitzel - the accompanying salad was fresh with the little pops of pomegranate - the sweet potato puree was a little watery. My dessert was delicious - the French apple tarte - lovely and it arrived hot which was a plus. A lovely lunch spot - would definitely go back again.

  30. Steve S.
    Steve S.
    • 16 reviews
    8/10

    Great Lunch time restaurant

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    8/10

    Had a great night Food was fantastic We'll definitely be back soon

  32. Steve S.
    Steve S.
    • 16 reviews
    8/10

    Quick service and great simple meal

  33. Cara M.
    Cara M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Great staff and lovely food presentaiton

  34. Steve S.
    Steve S.
    • 16 reviews
    8/10

    Quick lunch break restaurant, fast friendly service

  35. Steve S.
    Steve S.
    • 16 reviews
    8/10

    Great James St Precinct Restaurant

  36. Steve S.
    Steve S.
    • 16 reviews
    8.25/10

    Easy lunchtime dining restaurant

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    7.75/10

    Fun atmosphere

  38. Steve S.
    Steve S.
    • 16 reviews
    8/10

    Great food & service

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    9.5/10

    Modern cuisine. Delicious menu. Great value!

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 246 reviews
    10/10

    A wonderful experience, sensational food and incredible service. The staff are amazing and without them the restaurant would not be where it is today. Thank you and i'll be back soon.