Back

Reviews Hickinbotham of Dromana

8.8/10

Fabulous

based on 65 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Rita C.
    Rita C.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The staff, service and quality of food are all great. A varied menu and drinks list complements the rustic and attractive surrounds. A cost fireplace completes the ambience.

  2. MARCIA  M.
    MARCIA M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our meet and greet we're sensational. Friendly atmosphere. We tasted wine after ordering our food. Staff came to Inform us our lunch was ready. Everything tasted amazing. The music was great, the weather perfect, and our guest from Sydney went home very impressed. Thank you Marcia & Tony

  3. con k.
    con k.
    • one review
    6/10

    We expected it to be better airconditioned and ventilated. Would not recommend as first choice. If its going to be advertised as a tourist spot then it needs to be more welcoming.

  4. Anoush B.
    Anoush B.
    • 24 reviews
    9/10

    Food was great and so was wine. My partner had a paddle and loved it. They were very busy so service was a little slow but expected at this time of the year. Staff very friendly. Can be loud when there are lots of groups and parties but that is also expected during this festive season. All in all a great day was had by all.

  5. Marilyn T.
    Marilyn T.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The restaurant was comfortable with good service and a good atmosphere. Dishes were beautifully served and the waiters helpful. Band outside contributed to the holiday atmosphere!

  6. Brenna C.
    Brenna C.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Service was very slow, took almost 2hrs for our mains to arrive. Food was okay, nothing too special. Wine was delicious, did the tasting sample which was 5 glasses, great way to try and few different wines.

  7. Gary Y.
    Gary Y.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Great place Great wine Great service Great food A must. We are definitely coming back

  8. Ron B.
    Ron B.
    • 4 reviews
    8.25/10

    Enjoyed our time immensely. Will return. Nice meal but wine overpriced.

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    5/10

    Most of the dishes missed the mark for lunch. - Burger $28: the roll was very wet due to dressing on slaw; juices drained and made the napkin on which it was placed saturated -Pizza small but reported as tasty - pork crumb with the scallops very hard, unpleasant. -icecream in affogato was glutinous, not nice -choc cake looked chocolatey but very little taste of choc

  10. Glenda M.
    Glenda M.
    • one review
    8/10

    THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS THE BEER WAS GREAT THE STAFF WHERE SO FRIENDLY

    Hickinbotham of Dromana

    Thanks Glenda, will pass the feedback to all the staff. It is nice to get positive feedback when you work hard! Cheers Terryn

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great atmosphere

  12. Kevin D.
    Kevin D.
    • 5 reviews
    7.5/10

    Very rustic setting, but ideal inside in front of the huge fire place on a cold winters day. Looking forward to a visit where we can experience the outdoor setting

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    6.75/10

    Great place for families

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very pleasant lunch/afternoon. Relaxed atmosphere.

    Hickinbotham of Dromana

    Thank you for your very positive review! Will pass it on to all of the team who enjoy when their hard work is recognised! Cheers Terryn H

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    9.25/10

    Nice Foods , Nice Atmosphere ! Reasonable prices.

    Hickinbotham of Dromana

    Thank you for your lovely review. I will make sure all the staff get this positive feedback!

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    9.75/10

    Lovely lunch and loved the live music

    Hickinbotham of Dromana

    Thank you for the lovely review I will pass it on to the staff so they know their hard work is appreciated! Cheers and see you next time!

  17. Alex S.
    Alex S.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Stunning views from the restaurant across the vineyard and over the bay are afforded from the restaurant and outdoor dining area. We went in winter and there was a nice open fire and live singer, which was nice.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    7.25/10

    The service was slow from ordering a meal and when it arrived at the table. The waitresses were great and friendly.

    Hickinbotham of Dromana

    Thanks for the review. Our food is all cooked as the orders come in so there is always a bit of a wait from ordering to delivery. Also we had one very large group on the Saturday you attended which can delay orders placed after. Glad you enjoyed the day overall!

  19. Sylvia w.
    Sylvia w.
    • one review
    10/10

    Stars unplugged was a great show, the lads never disappoint !

    Hickinbotham of Dromana

    Was a great night wasn't it. And yes I agree the Stars were amazing! We hope to have them back over summer. Look forward to seeing you next time

  20. Jan B.
    Jan B.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    The staff were wonderful. Probably the nicest and best I have seen for a while. Very friendly and efficient.

    Hickinbotham of Dromana

    Thanks Jan, it was a lovely night with The Stars unplugged, with wonderful music and a great crowd who were here to listen and enjoy! Our staff are very attentive and personable I agree, so I will pass that message from you on to them. It is lovely to get nice feedback about the staff from our guests! Cheers from all at Hickinbotham!!!

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    9.5/10

    Friendly service, good suggestions from staff. Inviting relaxed and rustic atmosphere - had a very "local" and social feel to it as the day progressed. Cosy up around the larger open fire.

  22. Wilma E.
    Wilma E.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Fabulous place with a great atmosphere to catch up with family or friends

    Hickinbotham of Dromana

    Thank you Wilma for the lovely feedback. I will let all the staff know as they all work hard to make sure everyone has an enjoyable experience at Hickinbotham. Cheers from the Hickinbotham team (including the muso's).

  23. Phil A.
    Phil A.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Always a good experience and the live music is a big plus.

    Hickinbotham of Dromana

    Thanks Phil for your lovely comments. Will pass them on to all the staff, (and the musicians) they all appreciate positive feedback! Cheers Terryn Hickinbotham

  24. Trevor u.
    Trevor u.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    had a great day the service from Zoe was very good the shared plater was very good as well huge and a great variety of foods.the guy on the guitar was great to listen to and we were very relaxed out in the sun and they didn,t rush us.we came over from colac for a day out on the ferry. wished I cold have had another pinot noir but had to drive.will be back. thank you

    Hickinbotham of Dromana

    Thanks Trevor! Sorry you couldn't have another glass of Pinot but very wise call when you are driving. This is what life is all about, nice weather, good food and wine, and a bit of live entertainment to help you enjoy the country air! Cheers from the team at Hickinbotham

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    8.25/10

    Always good atmosphere and service. Local gem.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great food, fast service, and live music on a Sunday that had a really friendly folksy vibe, and a nice volume that you could hold a conversation over. My only complaint was that it was 37 degrees, and for some reason they kept lighting the open fireplace behind us!

    Hickinbotham of Dromana

    Thanks for your great review other than the fire! That was definitely not meant to happen and once it lit we could not put it out without sending ash and smoke everywhere! So sincere apologies about that! Glad everything else was good! Come back in Winter then you will be glad of the fire... you can actually request to book that table which is the best seat in the house in the cooler months! Cheers

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    7.25/10

    Very hot bad ventilation and very noisy

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9.75/10

    Excellent - food, drink, entertainment and service

    Hickinbotham of Dromana

    Thank you so much for the lovely review of Hickinbotham. Our staff work very hard to make sure everyone is well looked after so you can have a wonderful experience and enjoy the views and the natural surroundings. It's nice to hear that the hard work is appreciated so I will let them all know your thoughts! Cheers!

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    8/10

    Great idea for a casual Sunday lunch with music and friendly staff

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 294 reviews
    8/10

    Lovely to sit outside and have a glass of wine and a meal!

  31. Siobhan  L.
    Siobhan L.
    • 8 reviews
    8.5/10

    Terrific group setting. Splendid way to spend a Sunday afternoon with family or friends. Staff were overly accommodating. Food was very very decent, well priced, great place for kids.

  32. Jo P.
    Jo P.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Loved this country winery, friday night had a singer and she was wonderful. Staff were so friendly and enjoyed the atmosphere!

    Hickinbotham of Dromana

    Thanks Jo for the lovely feedback. I will pass on your great comments to all the team at Hickinbotham as they all deserve the accolades! Hope to see you again soon. Cheers!

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely atmosphere. Inside or out dining.

  34. ChrIstina I.
    ChrIstina I.
    • one review
    10/10

    We love this place,

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    9.25/10

    Loved it all apart from the live music being quite loud, even though we weren't sitting close to it.

  36. Julia B.
    Julia B.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Great venue with fabulous food, wine and beer, excellent service in a gorgeous setting.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    10/10

    We celebrated a family birthday & we loved the rustic atmosphere. The live music was great as well as the service & food. It was fun to try the wines at the cellar door. We all enjoyed our visit there.

  38. Noha S.
    Noha S.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a great time and a wonderful experience

  39. Andriy R.
    Andriy R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Visiting this place regularly. Always great experience. Cellar door is a must.

  40. Pia B.
    Pia B.
    • 9 reviews
    8/10

    We came for Sunday lunch and shared a grazing platter and the smoked trout. Plenty of food all delicious. The platter provided amble food but the winner was the smoked trout with a lovely salad. Bookings are certainly recommended the restaurant was very busy and deservedly so