Back

Reviews - Highbury Hotel Bistro

8.4/10

Very good

based on 204 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Neil M.
    Neil M.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Meals took nearly 40 minutes to arrive my wife’s Caesar salad consisted of cold chicken and bacon that she felt came from the fridge. The Asian greens on my pork belly were cold

  2. Janet S.
    Janet S.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    I have eaten here several times now and not had a bad experience yet.. service is good.. food is well presented and not very often is there anything left on anyone's plate..

    Highbury Hotel Bistro

    Hi Jenet, Very happy to hear our service met your expectations and that everyone enjoys their food. I will be sure to pass along your feedback to the entire crew. Kind Regards Anthony Venue Manager

  3. Gavin L.
    Gavin L.
    • one review
    8/10

    Staff are very friendly, food came out in a timely manner, steak cooked the way we ordered. All in all a good night at the Highbury

    Highbury Hotel Bistro

    Hi Gavin, Fantastic to hear you had an overall good night here. I will pass on your compliments to the chef. Kind Regards Anthony Venue Manager

  4. Jacqui H.
    Jacqui H.
    • one review
    10/10

    We arrived early and the dining room was not ready, so the staff member was helpful and seated us elsewhere. She then asked if we wanted a drink and got us our menus in preparation. Overall she was very polite and accommodating.

    Highbury Hotel Bistro

    Hi Jacqui, I am very happy to hear that you were well looked after and that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to having you back again soon. Kind Regards Anthony Venue Manager

  5. Angie M.
    Angie M.
    • 17 reviews
    8/10

    My meal the lamb shank was great but my sister ordered the seafood duo the fish was good but the calamari was dry and chewy and she couldn't eat it.

    Highbury Hotel Bistro

    Hi Angie, I am happy to hear the Lamb Shank was great and seafood duo good, I am sorry to hear the Salt and Pepper Squid was not up to standard. I will pass along to feedback to the kitchen. Kind Regards Anthony Venue Manager

  6. Tricia H.
    Tricia H.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Their steaks are my favourite menu item. Every time I order something else, I think afterwards that I should have gone with the steak! Last night had Pork Ribs - & they were tasty. One of the specials also looked speccie - Meat Lovers Chicken Schnitzel. Their chicken fillet dishes (2 to choose from) are both excellent as well.

  7. Nicole S.
    Nicole S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The highbury hotel is always good the staff are just above fantastic their customer service is always exceptional

  8. Glenys P.
    Glenys P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Restaurant was very busy and although we waited nearly 1 hour for our meal, our meals were beautifully presented, all 8 guests were more than happy, big serving sizes, you would not leave hungry. Young male who cleared our table was very friendly, asked us if we enjoyed our meal and hoped to see us back. As soon as table was vacated there was someone there clearing and wiping down.

  9. Julie M.
    Julie M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was really good. Had the Arancini which were just right and not too heavy. Yummy crunchy chips. Staff friendly and helpful. Very enjoyable catch up with a friend

  10. Judy T.
    Judy T.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    The staff are always lovely, but this time my beef schnitzel was almost too tough to eat and when we ordered coffee and hot chocolate, although we requested very hot, it was only just lukewarm.

  11. Mel M.
    Mel M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was amazing

  12. Jye w.
    Jye w.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    was greeted by im assuming was manger was very cheerfull and welcoming and so was other servers.. clean and comfortable restaraunt as for food i only we only ordered a beef and chicken schnitzl BUT they was cooked perfectly not over done like other pubs... so def will be back to try more of the menu

  13. Monika W.
    Monika W.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had been to the Hihgbury before the covid19 business & weren't our favourite spot but this time around we were very impressed with the lovely service we shall be back.

  14. Bruce S.
    Bruce S.
    • one review
    10/10

    We have lived in the area for well over forty years and the Highbury Hotel has been a favorite place to eat for much of that time! For several years know we have bee bringing interstate and overseas guests to the Highbury knowing that the food, service and outlook is first class! Following their re opening after the Covet look-downs that same level of service and food is there above and beyond! Well done guys following I am sure tough times!

  15. CAROL J.
    CAROL J.
    • one review
    9/10

    We arrived at 1130 am & were the only ones there for at least 30 mins. By the time we left at 1230, many more were there. Online booking said we could arrive at 1130 or 1 pm. I would have preferred to arrive at 12 but there was no option for that online

  16. Samantha W.
    Samantha W.
    • one review
    3/10

    Apparnetly someone already had taken my table using my name. Food was not bad, not worth the price. Customer service left some imagination. Wont return

  17. Yvonne T.
    Yvonne T.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Food served in good time freshly prepared and to everyone’s liking. The Salmon dish was well presented, hot and delicious accompanying roasted potatoes and fresh salad.

  18. Lois M.
    Lois M.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    The waitressing was understaffed. We waited a while to be shown our booked table. We waited more than half an hour for our meal. I had mentioned that one of us needed GF food but the bread rolls were both wheat. There was no attendance at our table to see if all was well. My meal of lamb shanks was fine. My partner's Hamburger was too rich (fatty) for him to finish it. The atmosphere was family oriented and okay. Distancing was adhered too.

  19. Leanne G.
    Leanne G.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Meals took a while considering there was only a couple of tables. Soon after we ate the heating was turned off so it made it very uncomfortable on a cold night. The food was nice and decent sizes for entree and mains and staff were friendly.

  20. Marilyn M.
    Marilyn M.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    Staff were welcoming and friendly,,but food lacked imagination and was overpriced. Disappointing!! Given that hotels have been closed for a time more attention to what you offered could have been better.

  21. Jenni J.
    Jenni J.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    COVID-19 restrictions made the atmosphere sterile and cold, not the place I recall from my last visit where vibrancy, salad bar and playground added to the experience. Not the hotels fault but pleased to support them in this time of crisis

  22. Nat P.
    Nat P.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    We have always had a great meal at the Highbury. The staff are friendly and always helpful. We will continue to eat there regularly. The menu is varied and suits all tastes.

  23. Andrew A.
    Andrew A.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    good to see the "Bury" back in action. Love this place and the meal was, as always awesome. shame that there weren't enough people there but lets hope the Highbury gets it's regulars to support them through the tough times! Go the Highbury burger!!!!!

  24. Nicole S.
    Nicole S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The service is always fantastic at the highbury the food is always brought out together for every one which is such good service there is nothing worse than going out for tea and everyone gets their meals at different times the highbury are always spot on ... Thankyou for accomodating us and your fantastic customer service :)

  25. Dayan T.
    Dayan T.
    • 8 reviews
    9.5/10

    Fantastic schnitzel night

  26. Trevor Y.
    Trevor Y.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    A lot of people/families eating here. Service was really good, meal sizes generous in the main, but some of the meat was a little overdone. All in all a nice place to eat.

  27. Dayan T.
    Dayan T.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Schnitzel night excellent. Juicy chicken and sauces were lovely. Will definitely come back for schnitzel night again soon

  28. Bindi-ann k.
    Bindi-ann k.
    • 31 reviews
    6/10

    We rang on night2change our booking from 6pm to 8pm&were told couldnt coz kitchen closes@8pm; so had2race2get there by 7.3-7.45pm. While we were eating, noticed kitchen added fresh hot vegies to vegie bar@7:59pm&were still taking customer orders4food@8:29pm as we left&staff were also still cooking in kitchen........ staff need2communicate with kitchen better-coz they were obviously ill-informed...... the mash potato with pie tasted like powdered&wasnt that nice&super stodgy!!!! The mushy peas were tasty, but not mushy=smashed, more like almost pureed&they never gave enough gravy with either main meal..... considering restaurant pretty empty, meals took ages to come out&even though staff bring meals2table, they wouldnt take drink orders while@table!!!!! Big restaurant dining area in 3sections-but we were put right next2other table that were talking very loudly, instead of all being spread out a bit=strange!!!!

  29. Bob S.
    Bob S.
    • one review
    8/10

    Welcoming, receptive and accommodating staff. Requested new table to accommodate increased table number. Salio was obliging, prompt and courteous.

  30. Cheryl L.
    Cheryl L.
    • 14 reviews
    6/10

    portion shrunk, prosciutto only 1/3 of strip

  31. William C.
    William C.
    • 38 reviews
    8/10

    The choices were great. Good for family outing. Buy one get one free was good value. The staff was friendly. The free salad bar was wonderful. Nice venue!

  32. Jarred C.
    Jarred C.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    The staff were smiling and friendly. The food was of great quality and was served nice and hot. The bistro was very clean and tidy. I would definitely return.

  33. Dayan T.
    Dayan T.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Really enjoyed steak night. Salad bar good.will return. Purchased a bottle of Smith and Shaw wine which was very reasonably priced and enjoyable.

  34. Tania S.
    Tania S.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    We went on a Wednesday night which is Schnitzel night, all $10. Smaller than a normal schnitzel but great value for the price and staff were very nice. Bonus if you have kids is the indoor playground.

  35. Laurine V.
    Laurine V.
    • 24 reviews
    10/10

    I have booked many times with Fork to go to The Highbury Hotel & I only noticed today that they have the wrong address listed. It should be 1017 Lower North East Rd Highbury I have sent an email to Fork to inform them as well

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    9.5/10

    it was a great experience. having the children's play area was wonderful.

  37. GILL L.
    GILL L.
    • one review
    6.25/10

    Could have had extra staff when ordering and too much rice on ourmeal

  38. Laurine V.
    Laurine V.
    • 24 reviews
    10/10

    Once again a delicous meal The 2 meals for 1 is definately a draw card Very busy which is nice to see

  39. Terry B.
    Terry B.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    Often lunch and dine here. Good value and the steaks (blue) are blue! Essential!

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8.75/10

    Went for the new buffet breakfast. Kids ate free during Sept which was good as our kids are under 4 and don't eat much. Food was nice although some key breakfast items couldve been included - beans, omelette, croissant, waffles, butcher Musli, coffee. What food there was, was tasty. Will return if special price continues