Back

Reviews - Highlander Whisky Bar

  1. Simone N.
    Simone N.
    • one review
    6/10

    Service was a bit lack lustre, was hard to get attention for more water and afternoon tea came without utensils to eat it with, had to go to the bar to ask for it as couldn’t get attention of staff. We had the French champagne option, it was the tiniest glass! Food was ok, I had the clean option and my company had the normal option.

  2. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8/10

    Good customer service.

  3. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    7.5/10

    Lovely service

  4. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9/10

    Fantastic service and nice food. Whisky high tea and elegance high tea both very good. Lovely atmosphere.

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    8.25/10

    We liked the deco and atmosphere but there was a bit of musty smell that you smell sometimes in an old building. I felt not so great eating food in the smell. The food was nice but the portion is tiny and quite expensive but we just thought this is hotel price. We discovered a new Australian whisky on that day which we liked and bought a bottle straight after coming back from this place. It was good to get advice and recommendation on whisky and the price of whisky was reasonable. If the food is a bit better we'd go back but in the city there are so much cheaper and better options.

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    8.5/10

    The Whisky Bar has a good selection and it is a nice and convenient place to have a drink and meal before going to concerts at the Opera House or Conservatorium. The music playlist on Saturday night was not the best. Too loud and too much pop. A quieter jazz or blues theme would suit the bar much better.

  7. Schatzi S.
    Schatzi S.
    • 26 reviews
    9.5/10

    Our second visit and we LOVED it - we chose asian food dishes to share (satay sticks, curry puffs and dumplings) and they were superb! And of course - the cocktails are always excellent! Staff are divine too! Shout out to Donovan who helped us locate a scarf that we'd dropped before leaving - we called back whilst on the train home, Donovan helped find it and left it at the Sir Stamford for us to collect. Thank you SO much! We will be back!

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 288 reviews
    7.5/10

    My phone call information the day prior about adding an extra person wasn’t acted on. Our table didn’t have enough space to put a plate and tea cup down.

  9. Jasper W.
    Jasper W.
    • 17 reviews
    10/10

    Love this atmosphere, love background classic music, lovely service ,outstanding high tea set and great tea selections!

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    8.5/10

    My guest and I were accompanied by a 13-month baby in a push-chair for afternoon high tea, so appreciated the high chair provided and the excellent attitude and actions of staff.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    8/10

    Went for the whiskey high tea. Great food and service. Would definitely go back again.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8/10

    As a whisky bar enjoy one of their whisky Cocktails... They are delicious! The best for me is the environment. The place is a really pretty and old style bar.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great and tasty scones .

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    7.75/10

    Food was enjoyable. We found the service a bit slow as staff seemed confused and distracted. Staff were dealing with technical computer issues over the phone in the dining room which was not ideal when we were trying to enjoy a relaxing meal.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9.25/10

    Excellent customer service.

  16. Lucinda K.
    Lucinda K.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Great experience

  17. Robyn P.
    Robyn P.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    attentive but unobtrusive service and appealing food

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    4.5/10

    The service was non-existent. It was almost impossible to get any attention and the dirty plates and glasses were left on the table. Such a shame as the bar itself is atmospheric and cosy.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9.75/10

    This is an excellent venue for High Tea- which we had with a group of ladies. They also have a light menu for having with drinks. It is an elegant bar. The hotel has Period Decore- very nicely decorated- comfortable lounge chairs as well as tables and chairs. Really lovely high tea. Would highly recommend this venue.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    7.5/10

    Good customer service. Scones should be served fresh and warm and not microwaved and hard in the middle.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    5/10

    Good. Expectations was not met.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    9/10

    A great location for a pre-Vivid meal and drink. The burger is highly recommended!

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    4/10

    He went for high tea. We wanted 2 traditional high teas, 2 vegetarian and a ‘guilt free’ high tea (as advertised on their website) Despite several emails about these fairly simple dietary requirements they didn’t get it right. Sandwiches were fairly bland and tasteless. The avocado sandwich was literally just that... avocado and bread. No seasoning or condiments. Ditto the fig sandwich! The cream cheese and cucumber sandwich barely had any filling. Bread wasn’t very fresh. Seriously, how hard is it to make a decent sandwich?! The scones were fine but I’ve had much better, there wasn’t enough jam or cream served with them. The desserts were average. I wouldn’t go back.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    8.25/10

    Relaxing, old world charm. Enjoyed high tea.

  25. Jenny G.
    Jenny G.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Lovely setting, ornate paintings, elegant chairs and a quiet atmosphere, where you can sit back and have a conversation without being disturbed. Great service, waiters and waitresses very helpful and friendly.

  26. Julie E.
    Julie E.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    I think EVERY table should have a tablecloth, not just the ones for high tea. Disappointing. Otherwise excellent.

  27. Jane H.
    Jane H.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    I came here with a group of friends (6) for afternoon tea. The food was really good, the staff friendly and nice. However, I did feel we could have had slightly more attentive service ie our pots of tea were very late arriving, we did not have a pot of hot water to top up the tea, we had to ask for water a couple of times. Saying this I would have afternoon tea here again, the food was very fresh and nicely presented. Good value for money.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    6.5/10

    We came for the high tea. Service was friendly enough but too slow. The sandwiches tasted better than they looked. We were in the dining room, which had less of a vibe than the bar area which we stopped into on our way out. All in all it was fine, but I wouldn't race back.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great customer service.

  30. Nelson C.
    Nelson C.
    • 2 reviews
    8.75/10

    no comment and feedback

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.25/10

    Enjoyable experience. Staff friendly and helpful

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    10/10

    Service is top class. Venue very atmospheric. Nice food and drinks.

  33. Kim P.
    Kim P.
    • 14 reviews
    6/10

    We selected the Guilt Free High Tea which I've had previously at the Sir Stamford and previously really enjoyed. However, this time was very disappointed. The food wasn't fresh and was quite bland and tasteless. I won't be returning.

  34. Jo-Ann C.
    Jo-Ann C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Really enjoyed the high tea experience. Very understanding staff when 2 of my party didn't arrive. Always love to visit as love the relaxed atmosphere and old world atmosphere

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    10/10

    Loved the atmosphere and the old world charm. The staff were fantastic. We will be back.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    9.5/10

    Love the old English ambience...

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great customer service.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 242 reviews
    7.75/10

    The wait staff pour our wine at the beginning but never came back .... we had finish our food and waited and waited for the plates to be removed... in the end waving for 5 minutes before any action was taken ....

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    8.75/10

    Tasty scones and great customer service.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    7.75/10

    Very tasty scones.