Back

Reviews - Ho Jiak Haymarket

7.5/10

based on 383 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Adeline L.
    Adeline L.
    • 15 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food was great, service was fast and friendly. Only negative was that it was quite loud inside the restaurant

  2. Dina M.
    Dina M.
    • one review
    2/10

    The restaurant was actually closed which is disappointing that we were able to book and also very inconvenient as we had to find alternative arrangement when everyone is hungry

  3. Mabel T.
    Mabel T.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    They practised social distancing & excellent service. Yummy char kway teow and crispy rendang.

  4. C C.
    C C.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    They had the asam laksa in the monthly specials. It’s authentic and tastes like home! We also ordered fish head curry which is as good as I remembered.

  5. Vivienne C.
    Vivienne C.
    • 17 reviews
    9/10

    We had a very good meal. Will absolutely go back again..

  6. Serena C.
    Serena C.
    • 18 reviews
    8/10

    Great Malaysian food. I recommend the salted egg fried chicken wings. Really yummy!

  7. Cynthia Y.
    Cynthia Y.
    • 15 reviews
    8/10

    Been here many times and always walk out feeling good about the food

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing meal as always. Will return again soon..

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, thank you for dining with us. We're delighted to hear that you have enjoyed dining with us and we can't wait to have you come back again soon!

  9. Theressa K.
    Theressa K.
    • 13 reviews
    9.75/10

    Our first visit to Ho Jiak and it won’t be our last ! This busy , bustling restaurant served delicious food The beef rendang was worth every cent. Service was spot on and friendly.

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional time and that you had thoroughly enjoyed dining with us. Our Wagyu Rendang is definitely a favourite and we can't wait for your next visit!

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    9/10

    Was craving for their duck egg char koay teow but unfortunately they don't have the duck egg. Will need to return again then...

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, thank you for dining with us. We're so sorry that we were out of duck eggs but definitely hope that you'll be able to have them next time you come! :)

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    10/10

    Always great and tasty food! Best to book on weekends as it’s always busy!

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    8/10

    Delicious, authentic Malaysian food, able to adjust spice level to taste.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    10/10

    We keep coming back here whenever we feel like malaysian food. Very good meal as always. Will absolutely go back again..

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, thank you for dining with us and leaving us with such a lovely review! We're delighted to know that you have been back again and again and absolutely love dining with us :) Can't wait for your next visit.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    10/10

    The best chicken rice in town

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    7.75/10

    Feels like you’re in Asia

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, great to see that you had enjoyed dining with us! We love transporting our diners back to where our Head Chef grew up in, Malaysia! Can't wait to see you back again soon.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    7.75/10

    Satay was good, better than I expected.

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, thank you for dining with us! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the satay and can't wait to see you again soon :)

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    9.5/10

    Salt egg yolk chicken wings are tasty

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, thanks for dining with us and letting us know that you enjoyed our Salted Duck Egg Yolk chicken wings! They are definitely finger-licking-good! Hope to see you soon again :)

  18. Stephanie L.
    Stephanie L.
    • 12 reviews
    10/10

    Loved the chilli prawns!

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi Stephanie, thank you for letting us know that you had enjoyed dining with us! We're glad to hear that you really enjoyed our Chilli King Prawns, and we can't wait for you to be back to try some of our other dishes! Hope to see you soon!

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    9/10

    The laksa is nice and rich.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 246 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great authentic Malaysian food highly recommended

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, thanks for dining with us, we're glad to hear that you've enjoyed it! Can't wait to see you back again soon!

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    7.75/10

    Good Malaysian food. Rather pricey though

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, thanks for dining with us! We're glad to see that you have enjoyed our dishes. Our Head Chef believes firmly in using only the freshest local produce where available in order to deliver the best through our dishes, hence it is quality over price for us! We do hope to see you pop by soon again :)

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    9/10

    Tasty food!

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food are fresh and tasty.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    9.5/10

    Good Malaysian food

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great food, they recently changed the menu so the variety is not as many as before. having said that, they introduce new menu from time to time, so all good, I suppose

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there! We definitely are always streamlining our menu in order to cater to what our customers want! But also yes indeed, our Head Chef gets bored of cooking the same dishes, and thus loves experimenting and putting new dishes on the menu! We hope you've found something else that you've enjoyed, but feel free to always drop us an email if there are any particular dishes you are after :) Looking forward to seeing you soon.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    9/10

    Generous portion and delicious

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, thank you for the lovely review! We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed dining with us and we can't wait to see you again!

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great Malaysian food in the heart of China town. Good seating upstairs. The menu offered variety, and from what we had ourselves and saw on other tables worthy of many return visits.

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, glad to hear that you have enjoyed dining with us at Ho Jiak! We look forward to having you back again soon - and trying out many new dishes! :)

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    9.5/10

    Food was very authentic and delicious. Wagyu beef rendang is amazing. We absolutely love it and will definately going back.

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi, thank you for dining with us. We are glad to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed our dishes, especially the Wagyu Rendang! We look forward to seeing you again.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 291 reviews
    7.25/10

    There are better Malaysian food around.

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, thank you for letting us know of your thoughts regarding dining at Ho Jiak. Should you have any feedback for us, please feel free to drop us an email at hello@hojiak.com.au so that we may be able to look into it, whether it be our dishes or our service. We love hearing constructive feedback from our diners in order to improve! Thank you.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    9/10

    Great service and food. Recommend the char kway teow.

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi! Thanks for dining with us and letting us know that you've enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you back again, for our Signature Char Koay Teow and more!

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    7.5/10

    Fav malaysian restaurant

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, thank you for dining with us and letting us know that we're your favourite Malaysian restaurant! We're glad to hear that and would love to hear any other thoughts you might have with regards to your experience - please feel free to drop us an email at hello@hojiak.com.au anytime! Hope to see you soon again.

  32. Margaret  S.
    Margaret S.
    • 16 reviews
    9.25/10

    The food here never disappoints ! It is always very good . The wagyu rendang is just delicious but pricey @$45 . Ordered the Hai NaN chicken which was tender & delicious . The salted egg squid & noodle Kway Teow was also excellent .

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi Margaret, we love having you dine with us! Thank you for the lovely review, our slow cooked Wagyu Rendang made from Grade 6+ Wagyu is definitely worth the indulgence! Glad to hear that you enjoyed our house favourites Char Koay Teow, Hainan chicken and Salted duck egg yolk squid too! Hope to see you back again soon!

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    7.5/10

    Menu is extensive. Unfortunately, I did not quite like what bak chor mee thst we ordered as it's too sour. Char kway teow and kiam ah nuy was great though. Will be back to try out other items.

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, thanks for dining with us and letting us know your thoughts! We're sorry to hear that the Bak Chor Mee was not to your liking, but are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Char Koay Teow and Kiam Ah Nui dishes! We hope to have you back soon and that you'll try out some other dishes!

  34. Marie Christine L.
    Marie Christine L.
    • 15 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food and service were great

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi Marie, thank you for dining with us and leaving us with your thoughts! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it all and we can't wait to see you again soon!

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    8.5/10

    One of the best Malaysian cuisine in Chinatown area.

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, thank you for dining with us and leaving us with a lovely review. We hope to see you in again for more delicious Malaysian dishes!

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    9.25/10

    Food was affordable and great serving size! Only issue was we were seated in the back area upstairs with no ambiance. I was hoping they would get us a better table as we booked the table a month in advance.

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, so glad to hear that you enjoyed dining with us! We usually seat customers based on the best arrangement in terms of other bookings for the night, but if you have a favourite spot please feel free to let us know in a special request, and we are always happy to do our best to accommodate! :) Looking forward to having you dine with us again.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8.75/10

    The food at Ho Jiak Haymarket was excellent and have generous serving. We were sitting on Level 1 and it was very noisy (not sure if it is because of where we sat). It got to the point where we left early so that we can talk properly.

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, thank you for dining with us! Yes, unfortunately when it gets to peak hours, it can get pretty lively in the restaurant! We're glad that you enjoyed your meal overall, and we definitely recommend coming by early (before 6pm) or later (after 9pm) if you prefer quieter seatings. Otherwise, our High Tea sessions are perfect for catch up sessions and they're between 2.30pm to 5pm. Hop on to our website to find out more! :)

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    9/10

    Nice restaurant with a lovely relaxed vibe. The food is good value and the customer service is attentive. I would definitely visit again.

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, lovely to hear that you had enjoyed dining with us! We're glad that our teams had delivered a wonderful time and we can't wait to see you again soon!

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great food and atmosphere!

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, glad to hear that you have enjoyed dining with us! We hope to see you soon again.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food, great service, will definitely be back. Thank you for a wonderful lunch and lovely dessert platter. :-)

    Ho Jiak Haymarket

    Hi there, it's lovely to hear that you've enjoyed dining with us! We can't wait to see you again soon :)