395 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8
395 reviews
Recommended
(8.4)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.1)
Value for money
(7.5)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Sun, 2 Jun 2019

(10)
We have been coming to the homestead brewery for lunch since 2016 and it never disappoints. I would highly recommend the winery to anyone. We also enjoy the gallery as well. Very very enjoyable. We brought my mother-in-law from Sydney, she always asks if we are going to Mandoon Estate

dined on Mon, 12 Aug 2019

(7)
We ate a late lunch for 2 on Monday 12 th August. I had to ask several times to have a drink order taken. We ordered some bread and I asked for a little gap before our main came out. It seemed lots of people were receiving their orders and we were not, after an hour and a half a waitress came to confirm our order as they lost the original order. Just disappointed as I brought my daughter from Melbourne to showcase your venue.

dined on Sun, 11 Aug 2019

(5)
Restaurant manager was very helpful. We were there at 16:30, place was empty and ordered 2 meals, 2 kids meals. We noticed other meals coming out to people who had recently arrived. 45mins our meals came, daughter's kids burger was tiny, waited a further 10 mins for second main meal. Mushroom & Artichoke pizza had no artichoke!. We received a discount which was very generous however our special occasion was ruined

dined on Sun, 11 Aug 2019

(8)
Unfortunately our meals took a very long time to arrive Your waitress handled everything beautifully

dined on Sat, 10 Aug 2019

(4)
We booked this table two months in advance and were put in the worst spot ever while other tables unoccupied. The location was right near the kitchen entry by yhe5 outside door that wait staff slammed or left open to the cold ever 1 minute. How come when I book so early I get the worst table. They should treat regular customers with more respect
Hi Leanne, Thank you for your feedback. I can see that you did make a reservation on the 12th July which is 4 weeks in advance not two months as stated. We feel all our tables are comfortable and just as good as the next. Sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the table. We had a table reserved for you outside as requested, however, on the day you changed your mind. We were fully booked but managed to shuffle your table around to move you inside. Unfortunately with alfresco seating our staff need to walk in and out the doors to accommodate guests. When you expressed this as an issue we than offered you another table further away from the doorway but you said you were fine and did not wish to move? We did as best we could considering the circumstances and were very accommodating. Unfortunately the comments don’t reflect our efforts. I’d be happy to discuss this further and can be contacted on 6279 0500
Gavin Fyffe, Homestead Brewery responded on Sun, 11 Aug 2019

dined on Sun, 4 Aug 2019

(9)
A very welcome destination venue where you can spend a full afternoon enjoying the many different things it has to offer inside and outside. Especially suited to families with children as they have space to run free. Will definitely be going back.

dined on Sun, 4 Aug 2019

(9)
First time there,Was very pleased. Will go again
Elly Lukic

dined on Fri, 2 Aug 2019

(5)
I had the Squid with salad. I didn't think 8 small pieces of squid was good value for money, this is usually what I receive for a starter size. The salad was also very overdressed and oily, I couldn't eat much of it. I've eaten here before and had delicious mussels and I was happy with that meal. This time was a disappointment. However the service is really great and wines are lovely. I would return.

dined on Mon, 29 Jul 2019

(9)
The Homestead Brewery was a relaxed dining experience which was so appreciated but had great food, drinks and service. In an amazing location and the grounds of Mandoon Estate were so beautiful and tranquil. Our first visit to Mandoon Estate but we will be back!

dined on Sun, 28 Jul 2019

(5)
Service was poor and it ruined the visit. We had to wait for service every step of the way. Waited a while for a first drink order, had to ask for water twice, French male waiter who was allocated our table did not seem to care, waited 30 mins for finished entrees to be cleared and even longer to get the main course to arrive he either forgot to order it or didn’t call it away whatever it was he tried to blame the kitchen. Once the main finally arrived he brought share plates all were wet and and one which was still very dirty. We ate and left quickly after. What was most disappointing was watching wait staff in other sections look after their guests promptly and with a friendly smile and duty managers all walk past our table constantly and not help a table who clearly needed service nor did anyone help a waiter who couldn’t manage his tables.
Hi Daniel, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am deeply disappointed at the level or service you received from our waiter and managers. Thomas is a new staff member still learning our systems, however, is capable and should have been able to look after your table. I would love the opportunity to turn this around and discuss your experience. warm regards, Gavin Fyffe Hospitality Manager
Gavin Fyffe, Homestead Brewery responded on Thu, 1 Aug 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

About Homestead Brewery

Home away from home. A short thirty minute drive out of the city, in the relaxed town of Caversham you’ll find at great space that is Homestead Brewery. The high ceilings combined with steel fittings and wooden tables make this space very comforting. If you’re visiting in the colder months, you’ll find the crackling fire absolutely inviting, while in summer the spray misters outside will leave you feeling cool and crisp. The menu consists of small snacks as well as pizza’s and substantial meals. However you’re stomach is feeling, there’s something on the menu that’s perfect for you. Best dish: Wagyu burger - cheese, tomato, lettuce, pickle, house made ketchup, chips.

Homestead Brewery Address

Google Map