INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Rafael Loggiodice.

Rafael Loggiodice

Head Chef Rafael Loggiodice adds his magic touch to Hoosegow with his love of food, flavour and chilli! His Venezuelan taste buds bring a unique fusion of Latin American, Eastern and Asian dishes cooked on charcoal to Hoosegow's mostly gluten free menu. Chef Rafael and his team are one of a kind. Harmonious, fun, passionate with 'nothing but the best will do' attitude. Chef Rafael says; ""I believe, when you cook from your heart ... the passion, the love and the flavour wins. Every time.""

502 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

9.3
502 reviews
Recommended
(9.5)
Food
(9.2)
Service
(9.6)
Value for money
(8.6)
Atmosphere
(9.2)

dined on Tue, 6 Nov 2018

(9)
Great food and service. Was our first time but definitely will not be our last!
Thank you Karina for dining at hoosegow and for your GREAT review! We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Wed, 7 Nov 2018

dined on Sat, 3 Nov 2018

(10)
great service, AMAZING food, stunning decor.

dined on Sat, 27 Oct 2018

(8)
Such a lovely place. Wished I knew of it sooner! We went on a birthday dinner date on a busy Saturday night and the food was amazing! Despite the longer than expected wait for our mains, the wait was worth it as the food and service made up for it. We ordered a chargrilled scotch fillet and a rump steak. It was so good that you can actually smell and taste the charcoal flavours. Can't wait to be back!
Thank you SO much for your fabulous review and for choosing hoosegow for your birthday celebration dinner!! We look foward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Tue, 30 Oct 2018

dined on Sat, 20 Oct 2018

(9)
Hidden gem, great food, great atmosphere. I will be back
Thank you for your wonderful review and for dining at the hoose!! We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Tue, 23 Oct 2018

dined on Sat, 20 Oct 2018

(10)
Had a fabulous meal at this restaurant last night & the staff are fantastic - definitely recommend
Thank you for dining at hoosegow and for your AMAZING & FABULOUS review!! It was our absolute hoose-pleasure. We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Tue, 23 Oct 2018

dined on Fri, 19 Oct 2018

(10)
Brilliant. The signature chilli chicken is a must
Thank you SO MUCH Jason for your hoose-tastic review and for dining at hoosegow!! Great to know you enjoyed your hoose-dining-experience and our Signature Chilli Chicken!!! We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Tue, 23 Oct 2018
Richard Oborn

dined on Wed, 17 Oct 2018

(8)
Second time I have eaten here, and i will certainly return. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was very well cooked, in good quantity, and walked a good line between familiar and different. Good choice of food for starters, small meals, mains and desserts. they call themselves Latin American fusion, and that wold be about right.
Thank you Richard for your GREAT review and for your continued support :) We look forward to seeing you again (and again!!). The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Tue, 23 Oct 2018

dined on Tue, 16 Oct 2018

(10)
Amazing night and excellent service! Great food!
Thank you SO MUCH for your AMAZING review and for dining at hoosegow!! It was our absolute hoose-pleasure. We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Tue, 23 Oct 2018

dined on Sat, 13 Oct 2018

(6)
Service began well enough. Once we had finished eating nobody came to clear our dishes, ask if we wanted any more drink etc. However, everyone was friendly, just not very attentive to our needs. As it was our first visit, we chose to go for the meat plate. While tasty, we didn't feel it was value for money. We spent $200, had a selection of four or five meats, some coleslaw, half a dozen small potatoes and one alcoholic drink each. Overall we were a little disappointed.
Thank you Malcom for dining with us and for your review :) Your feedback is appreciated. We will address the points you have raised. Thank you. We hope to see you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Mon, 15 Oct 2018

dined on Sat, 13 Oct 2018

(8)
Food was enjoyable and service was friendly. Probably high end of pricey..
Thank you for dining at hoosegow and for your great review :) See you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Specials

Hoose Dinner with Molly Dooker

Save this date: Thursday, 4th of July - $140pp Come along and taste some AMAZING wines matched with hoosegow's flavours! You will hear about the Mollydooker Wines Story... vineyard management, the famous ‘shake’ and much more! Hosted by Wine Maker Matthew Walker-Brown and Matt Willmer! We request that you provide your credit card details to secure your reservation with full pre-payment of $140 per person. This fee is non-refundable.
When
04 Jul 2019
Thu 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Flamenco & Dinner at the Hoose

Flamenco & Dinner at the Hoose FRIDAY 26th July Reduced A-la-carte menu FREE ENTRY We are excited to announce that Alma Flamenca will be preforming at Hoosegow again this year. They recieved 'Best Dance Award for the Adelaide Fringe 2019’ We request that you provide your credit card details to secure your reservation. If you fail to show up, number decrease or cancel without at least 24 hours notice, you will be charged a no-show fee of $25 per person.
When
26 Jul 2019
Fri 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant

Prisoners of Food If you go gooey over succulent chargrilled meats which have been loaded with spice and laden with finger licking sauce, then you can't go wrong with Hoosegow Charcoal. Hoosegow - which translates to ‘jail’ in english - has certainly captured our hearts and our tastebuds. Here they’re serving a blend of Latin American, Asian and Eastern flavours in damn fine fashion. For the ultimate dish try their signature chilli chicken which is deliciously smoky and spicy. What more can we say, its simple charcoal deliciousness! Best Dish: Signature Chilli Chicken

Features

Insider

Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant Address

Google Map