INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Rafael Loggiodice.

Rafael Loggiodice

Head Chef Rafael Loggiodice adds his magic touch to Hoosegow with his love of food, flavour and chilli! His Venezuelan taste buds bring a unique fusion of Latin American, Eastern and Asian dishes cooked on charcoal to Hoosegow's mostly gluten free menu. Chef Rafael and his team are one of a kind. Harmonious, fun, passionate with 'nothing but the best will do' attitude. Chef Rafael says; ""I believe, when you cook from your heart ... the passion, the love and the flavour wins. Every time.""

502 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

9.3
502 reviews
Recommended
(9.5)
Food
(9.2)
Service
(9.6)
Value for money
(8.6)
Atmosphere
(9.2)

dined on Sat, 15 Jun 2019

(8)
The fish dish was way too spicy, even though menu description was not indicated as HOT dish. Staff offered to make meal again minus the hot sauce, and minus chili in the vegetables, however could not eat any more after this. Did not expect to have to pay for this dish, as was inedible to me but was still charged the $44 fee. I was offered a complimentary desert. But I would rather have paid for desert and not the meal which I could not eat. Staff and service was excellent.

dined on Sat, 15 Jun 2019

(10)
Hidden gem in the east

dined on Fri, 14 Jun 2019

(9)
Everything was absolutely top notch. The staff were friendly and incredibly helpful, but also clearly enjoyed being around each other. The food was divine; I would say it was easily one of my top three. I’m a pretty good home cook, but there was not a single dish that I tasted and thought I could match. It’s not cheap, but given the quality of ingredients and obvious care taken, it’s certainly not overpriced. The ambience is delightful, and the occasional soundproofing panel on the ceiling and the walls make table conversation perfectly audible. Interestingly, the dish that blew me away the most was one that I expected to just be interesting (smoked vegetable empanadas). This is the perfect location for a special occasion or romantic date. Another table had a birthday cake and the entire serving staff came over to sing happy birthday; such fun!

dined on Wed, 12 Jun 2019

(10)
Very friendly service and great food. We had the seafood platter and it was a good mix of seafood and all well cooked with complementary flavours
Thank you for dining at hoosegow and for your BRILLIANT review!! So fantastic to know you enjoyed your hoose-experience! We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Thu, 13 Jun 2019

dined on Tue, 11 Jun 2019

(10)
Best restaurant in Adelaide
Thank you SO MUCH for dining at hoosegow Samer and friends AND for your 10/10 FANTASTIC & BRILLIANT review!! It is always great to see you at the hoose! We look forward to seeing you again (and again!). The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Wed, 12 Jun 2019

dined on Sun, 9 Jun 2019

(10)
Serves and sides are generous, amazingly tasty with complex collection of favours and techniques without being tricky. Service is just outstanding and friendly. Beverages and wine list is thoughtful and diverse. Even on a Sunday night it was chockablock clearly a neighbourhood treasure.
Thank you SO MUCH for dining at hoosegow (on a Sunday!) and for your BRILLIANT review!! We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Tue, 11 Jun 2019

dined on Fri, 7 Jun 2019

(10)
From start to finish, everything was perfection! We will be highly recommending this place to everyone and we’ll definitely be back!
WOW!! Thank you SO MUCH for dining at hoosegow and for your BRILLIANT 10/10 review!! We look forward to seeing you again AND again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Sat, 8 Jun 2019

dined on Fri, 7 Jun 2019

(10)
Best restaurant in Adelaide, hands down!!! A must try. Food and service is the best you’ll get. Cannot recommend enough.
Thank you SO MUCH Jaad for dining at hoosegow and for your SUPER BRILLIANT 10/10 review!! We look forward to seeing you again AND again AND again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Sat, 8 Jun 2019

dined on Tue, 4 Jun 2019

(10)
This food here is the best - the flavours are amazing. Staff friendly and efficient. First time there and can’t wait to come back. Thanks Hoosegow, you made our special night perfect
Thank you SOOOO MUCH for your AMAZING review!! So fantastic to know you enjoyed your hoose-dining-experience! We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Wed, 5 Jun 2019

dined on Tue, 4 Jun 2019

(10)
Delicious... as always. Except maybe the pina colada recipe needs to be relooked at, it was a little watery - at least to my liking
Thank you Anastasia for dining at hoosegow and for your WONDERFUL review!! Next time I will ensure your Pina Colada suits your taste buds!! We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Wed, 5 Jun 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Hoose Dinner with Molly Dooker

Save this date: Thursday, 4th of July - $140pp Come along and taste some AMAZING wines matched with hoosegow's flavours! You will hear about the Mollydooker Wines Story... vineyard management, the famous ‘shake’ and much more! Hosted by Wine Maker Matthew Walker-Brown and Matt Willmer! We request that you provide your credit card details to secure your reservation with full pre-payment of $140 per person. This fee is non-refundable.
When
04 Jul 2019
Thu 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Flamenco & Dinner at the Hoose

Flamenco & Dinner at the Hoose FRIDAY 26th July Reduced A-la-carte menu FREE ENTRY We are excited to announce that Alma Flamenca will be preforming at Hoosegow again this year. They recieved 'Best Dance Award for the Adelaide Fringe 2019’ We request that you provide your credit card details to secure your reservation. If you fail to show up, number decrease or cancel without at least 24 hours notice, you will be charged a no-show fee of $25 per person.
When
26 Jul 2019
Fri 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant

Prisoners of Food If you go gooey over succulent chargrilled meats which have been loaded with spice and laden with finger licking sauce, then you can't go wrong with Hoosegow Charcoal. Hoosegow - which translates to ‘jail’ in english - has certainly captured our hearts and our tastebuds. Here they’re serving a blend of Latin American, Asian and Eastern flavours in damn fine fashion. For the ultimate dish try their signature chilli chicken which is deliciously smoky and spicy. What more can we say, its simple charcoal deliciousness! Best Dish: Signature Chilli Chicken

Features

Insider

Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant Address

Google Map