INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Rafael Loggiodice.

Rafael Loggiodice

Head Chef Rafael Loggiodice adds his magic touch to Hoosegow with his love of food, flavour and chilli! His Venezuelan taste buds bring a unique fusion of Latin American, Eastern and Asian dishes cooked on charcoal to Hoosegow's mostly gluten free menu. Chef Rafael and his team are one of a kind. Harmonious, fun, passionate with 'nothing but the best will do' attitude. Chef Rafael says; ""I believe, when you cook from your heart ... the passion, the love and the flavour wins. Every time.""

550 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

9.2
550 reviews
Recommended
(9.4)
Food
(9.2)
Service
(9.6)
Value for money
(8.5)
Atmosphere
(9.3)

dined on Fri, 28 Jun 2019

(10)
My partner and I had our first date here and we come back every year and are never left disappointed. Beautiful food & a great friendly service.
WOW!! Thank you SO MUCH for dining at hoosegow again and for your 10/10 BRILLIANT review!! We look forward to seeing you again - same time next year :). The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Sat, 29 Jun 2019

dined on Sat, 22 Jun 2019

(9)
Always excellent service and food.
Thank you Glenn for dining at hoosegow and for your EXCELLENT review!! So good to know. We look forward to seeing you again (and again!). The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Wed, 26 Jun 2019

dined on Fri, 21 Jun 2019

(10)
Amazeballs!!!!!!!!!!
Thank you SO MUCH for dining at hoosegow Eric and for your AMAZEBALLS :) 10/10 review!! So wonderful to know you enjoyed your hoose-dining-experience. We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Sat, 22 Jun 2019

dined on Sun, 16 Jun 2019

(8)
We were quite satisfied with the dishes. The meat was very tender, well seasoned and the sauce was special too. We did found both dishes were a bit fatty though. We shall return to try the steaks.
Thank you for dining at hoosegow and for your review! We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Tue, 18 Jun 2019

dined on Sat, 15 Jun 2019

(8)
The fish dish was way too spicy, even though menu description was not indicated as HOT dish. Staff offered to make meal again minus the hot sauce, and minus chili in the vegetables, however could not eat any more after this. Did not expect to have to pay for this dish, as was inedible to me but was still charged the $44 fee. I was offered a complimentary desert. But I would rather have paid for desert and not the meal which I could not eat. Staff and service was excellent.
Thank you for dining at hoosegow Rachel and for your review. I will be in touch soon. We truly look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Mon, 17 Jun 2019

dined on Sat, 15 Jun 2019

(10)
Hidden gem in the east
Thank you SO MUCH for dining at hoosegow and for your GREAT review!! We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Mon, 17 Jun 2019

dined on Fri, 14 Jun 2019

(9)
Everything was absolutely top notch. The staff were friendly and incredibly helpful, but also clearly enjoyed being around each other. The food was divine; I would say it was easily one of my top three. I’m a pretty good home cook, but there was not a single dish that I tasted and thought I could match. It’s not cheap, but given the quality of ingredients and obvious care taken, it’s certainly not overpriced. The ambience is delightful, and the occasional soundproofing panel on the ceiling and the walls make table conversation perfectly audible. Interestingly, the dish that blew me away the most was one that I expected to just be interesting (smoked vegetable empanadas). This is the perfect location for a special occasion or romantic date. Another table had a birthday cake and the entire serving staff came over to sing happy birthday; such fun!
Thank you SO MUCH for dining at hoosegow and for your BRILLIANT review!! So fantastic to know you enjoyed our 'empanadas with smoked vegetables' We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Mon, 17 Jun 2019

dined on Wed, 12 Jun 2019

(10)
Very friendly service and great food. We had the seafood platter and it was a good mix of seafood and all well cooked with complementary flavours
Thank you for dining at hoosegow and for your BRILLIANT review!! So fantastic to know you enjoyed your hoose-experience! We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Thu, 13 Jun 2019

dined on Tue, 11 Jun 2019

(10)
Best restaurant in Adelaide
Thank you SO MUCH for dining at hoosegow Samer and friends AND for your 10/10 FANTASTIC & BRILLIANT review!! It is always great to see you at the hoose! We look forward to seeing you again (and again!). The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Wed, 12 Jun 2019

dined on Sun, 9 Jun 2019

(10)
Serves and sides are generous, amazingly tasty with complex collection of favours and techniques without being tricky. Service is just outstanding and friendly. Beverages and wine list is thoughtful and diverse. Even on a Sunday night it was chockablock clearly a neighbourhood treasure.
Thank you SO MUCH for dining at hoosegow (on a Sunday!) and for your BRILLIANT review!! We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Day of the Dead Dinner

Day of the Dead Dinner - FRIDAY November 1st Live Entertainment by La Bomba - Entertainment Book cards are accepted.
When
01 Nov 2019
Fri 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant

Prisoners of Food If you go gooey over succulent chargrilled meats which have been loaded with spice and laden with finger licking sauce, then you can't go wrong with Hoosegow Charcoal. Hoosegow - which translates to ‘jail’ in english - has certainly captured our hearts and our tastebuds. Here they’re serving a blend of Latin American, Asian and Eastern flavours in damn fine fashion. For the ultimate dish try their signature chilli chicken which is deliciously smoky and spicy. What more can we say, its simple charcoal deliciousness! Best Dish: Signature Chilli Chicken

Features

Insider

Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant Address

Google Map