INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Rafael Loggiodice.

Rafael Loggiodice

Head Chef Rafael Loggiodice adds his magic touch to Hoosegow with his love of food, flavour and chilli! His Venezuelan taste buds bring a unique fusion of Latin American, Eastern and Asian dishes cooked on charcoal to Hoosegow's mostly gluten free menu. Chef Rafael and his team are one of a kind. Harmonious, fun, passionate with 'nothing but the best will do' attitude. Chef Rafael says; ""I believe, when you cook from your heart ... the passion, the love and the flavour wins. Every time.""

507 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

9.3
507 reviews
Recommended
(9.5)
Food
(9.2)
Service
(9.6)
Value for money
(8.6)
Atmosphere
(9.2)

dined on Tue, 26 Feb 2019

(10)
Delicious food, friendly staff and great ambiance! Will definitely return.
Thank you so much for dining at hoosegow and for your WONDERFUL review!! It was our hoose-pleasure! The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Fri, 1 Mar 2019

dined on Sun, 24 Feb 2019

(8)
Always a good time. Great food and great service.
Thank you SO much for dining at hoosegow and your review. We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Wed, 27 Feb 2019

dined on Sat, 26 Jan 2019

(7)
The berries on the pannacotta were far too sweet. It would be better with fresh berries. Steak and chips were good
Thank you for dining at hoosegow and your review. Your feedback is appreciated! The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Fri, 15 Feb 2019

dined on Fri, 25 Jan 2019

(9)
The service was excellent at Hoosegow. I was impressed by the fact the wait staff did not take our plates away until the last person had finished their meal....you don't see that very often and it's the way it should be. The wait staff were extremely polite and courteous and personable. The food was excellent also....at last....a chef who can cook a steak to perfection! My husband enjoyed his steak so much...he didn't leave anything on the bone! All in all an extremely professional restaurant. I would certainly recommend eating there.
THANK YOU SO MUCH Tracia for your wonderful review and dining at hoosegow!! So great to know you enjoyed your hoose-experience and your husband loved his steak!! See you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Mon, 28 Jan 2019

dined on Sat, 19 Jan 2019

(9)
Great food and service. Just wish they had a Reisling by the glass!
Thank you for dining at hoosegow and for your great review!! We will look into having our Riesling by the glass soon! The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Mon, 21 Jan 2019
Connie

dined on Sun, 6 Jan 2019

(10)
Food was amazing highly recommend. The service from all staff was excellent especially from the owner, she was very informative and friendly. I would definitely return.
Thank you for dining at hoosegow and for your AMAZING review Connie!! We look forward to seeing you again! The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Tue, 8 Jan 2019
Mark Lillie

dined on Sun, 30 Dec 2018

(9)
Wow ! What a very pleasant surprise. We went for an intimate cellebration and they delivered. Lamb back strap 10/10 - 800g Rib Eye (medium) cooked to perfection, lovely char-grill - tender, moist, juicy and full of flavour. Service second to none, with a lovely host - We will be back !!!!
WOW!! Thank you SOOOO much for your 'BRILLIANT' review!! So great to know you enjoyed your hoose experience and our charcoal deliciousness! Look forward to seeing you again in 2019. The hoose-team ??????
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
Aarron Phillips

dined on Sat, 29 Dec 2018

(10)
Fabulous service fabulous food great coffee terrific atmosphere
Thank you for dining at hoosegow... and ...THANK YOU SO much for your '10/10' review!! So wonderful to know you enjoyed your hoose experience!! See you again soon. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Mon, 31 Dec 2018

dined on Fri, 28 Dec 2018

(9)
Service was exceptional. Will definitely be going back again and look forward to trying other options on the menu.
Thanks SO MUCH for your 'EXCEPTIONAL' review and for dining with us! We look forward to seeing you again. The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Sat, 29 Dec 2018

dined on Sun, 23 Dec 2018

(10)
We had a lovely, memorable evening at Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant. The service was excellent and the food was plentiful and delicious. It wasn't cheap, but as it was a special occasion (our friend's 60th birthday) we wanted it to be good quality. We are planning to go again on our return to Adelaide next year to sample more of the interesting menu. Thank you to the warm and friendly staff members for your advice in choosing dishes. Chris, John, Tanya & Hadyn.
Thank you Chris, John, Tanya & Hadyn for choosing Hoosegow for your dinner and THANK YOU SO MUCH Chris for your wonderful review!! We look forward to seeing you all again! The hoose-team :) :) :)
Restaurant Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant responded on Thu, 27 Dec 2018
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Specials

Hoose Dinner with Molly Dooker

Save this date: Thursday, 4th of July - $140pp Come along and taste some AMAZING wines matched with hoosegow's flavours! You will hear about the Mollydooker Wines Story... vineyard management, the famous ‘shake’ and much more! Hosted by Wine Maker Matthew Walker-Brown and Matt Willmer! We request that you provide your credit card details to secure your reservation with full pre-payment of $140 per person. This fee is non-refundable.
When
04 Jul 2019
Thu 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Flamenco & Dinner at the Hoose

Flamenco & Dinner at the Hoose FRIDAY 26th July Reduced A-la-carte menu FREE ENTRY We are excited to announce that Alma Flamenca will be preforming at Hoosegow again this year. They recieved 'Best Dance Award for the Adelaide Fringe 2019’ We request that you provide your credit card details to secure your reservation. If you fail to show up, number decrease or cancel without at least 24 hours notice, you will be charged a no-show fee of $25 per person.
When
26 Jul 2019
Fri 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant

Prisoners of Food If you go gooey over succulent chargrilled meats which have been loaded with spice and laden with finger licking sauce, then you can't go wrong with Hoosegow Charcoal. Hoosegow - which translates to ‘jail’ in english - has certainly captured our hearts and our tastebuds. Here they’re serving a blend of Latin American, Asian and Eastern flavours in damn fine fashion. For the ultimate dish try their signature chilli chicken which is deliciously smoky and spicy. What more can we say, its simple charcoal deliciousness! Best Dish: Signature Chilli Chicken

Features

Insider

Hoosegow Charcoal Restaurant Address

Google Map