1150 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.2
1150 reviews
Recommended
(8.5)
Food
(8.3)
Service
(8.2)
Value for money
(7.4)
Atmosphere
(7.6)

dined on Sat, 1 Dec 2018

(9)
Beautiful food, good service, good wine list. Chef must stay!

dined on Thu, 29 Nov 2018

(9)
The Hungry Duck in Berry is, as they say, The Duck's nuts. Using local produce, the food is both delicious with interesting flavours and a strong Asian influence. We had 4 courses and all were superb, we couldn't fault a thing. In fact I would have been happy to go back and do it all again the next night! One small thing, we booked for 6.30 knowing that we had to be out by 8.30. When we arrived, our waiter pounced on us looking to take our order, not even asking if we'd like a pre-dinner drink. As a consequence we were finished by 7.30. Take it a little easier guys! 2 hours is plenty of time. But all in all an excellent dining experience!

dined on Sun, 25 Nov 2018

(2)
Very dissapointing experience this time around. Sashimi was not great with a lot of the bloodline left in the fish giving it a very unpleasant taste. The duck curry was terrible (usually one of my favourite here) the sauce was watery and tasteless. After complaining i was told they only had a small amount left so the apprentice watered it down to make up the volume. I later found out it is under new ownership. Won't be going back in a hurry.
Paul Kettle

dined on Sun, 25 Nov 2018

(6)
Food selection was different Modern Asian Sorry guys nice atmosphere and service but some of your dishes were a bit lacking and way to salty

dined on Fri, 23 Nov 2018

(9)
Wine list was clearly not stocked and several had to be crossed off drinks menu after ordering. Need a variety to complement the menu.

dined on Thu, 22 Nov 2018

(8)
Excellent menu, plenty of options. Good presentation and service.
Tamara

dined on Thu, 8 Nov 2018

(10)
Our favorite restaurant in the Shoalhaven. We save our visits for special occasions such as our wedding anniversary. The service is always wonderful and the food is always delicious.

dined on Thu, 8 Nov 2018

(8)
Great service and food

dined on Fri, 12 Oct 2018

(10)
Excellent service and food.

dined on Sun, 30 Sep 2018

(8)
Several wines not available but the best pork buns I have ever had
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Hungry Duck

South for the winter The gentle rolling hills of Berry are a popular destination for city slickers wanting a bit of green and fresh air – and eateries like Hungry Duck are an equally motivating reason to head south for the winter – or any time of year, for that matter. Hungry Duck is helmed by chef David Campbell whose impressive cooking pedigree includes stints at Wockpool and Billy Kwong. As the name implies, duck features heavily on the menu, with duck three ways (duck spring roll, rare caramelised breast meat and a crisp Szechuan peppered leg) a hit with regulars. Open 6 days for dinner only (no BYO Friday and Saturday), bookings are essential if you want the opportunity to try the Jervis Bay squid chips, crab ravioli, wok-fried saltbush lamb or the Wagyu cheek and tail dumplings. As you can see, the menu is a paean to fresh, local produce cooked in traditional Asian style with a welcome twist. Leave room for dessert, though – you won’t want to miss out on the kaffir and Tahitian lime tart or the warm chocolate fondant with strawberry and lychee sorbet. This cosy diner even has an outdoor area, perfect for summer dining. Best dish: Duck spring rolls

Hungry Duck Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14.5/20
77
5/5