Back

Reviews Hutong Peking Duck & Dumpling

8.1/10

Very good

based on 261 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Margaret G.
    Margaret G.
    • one review
    8/10

    Dumplings were delicious - especially the spinach and it's a relaxing atmosphere with great service and not noisy you can actually have a good conversation.

  2. Paula B.
    Paula B.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent dumplings and good service. Staff were very accommodating to our large group.

  3. Thomas T.
    Thomas T.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    We had the 7 course menu with wine and the food, wine and service was good. Very quick and the service on time. As it was the last day of the year, the restaurant was very busy and crowed. The stuff seems very stressed, we felt sometimes like it was „too much“ for them but in total a good experience.

  4. Tony B.
    Tony B.
    • 10 reviews
    6/10

    we keep going back, however, for the most part, the food has become inconsistent on every occasion. at least one or two dishes every time is either cold / lukewarm, and the same dish is different to the previous time.

  5. Liz H.
    Liz H.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great food and great service, love watching staff make dumplings in the window. Food and dumplings are very tasty! . Staff are attentive and service is very good. Been her many times and it’s always great.

  6. Laura K.
    Laura K.
    • 7 reviews
    7.5/10

    Good place for a team dinner. Lots of yummy plates to share. Mains, dumplings, across all proteins and vegetables. Quiet enough to hear everyone around the table.

  7. Mark B.
    Mark B.
    • 43 reviews
    8/10

    A nice meal at Hutong's with friends and family - good value for the meal - good experience - good food. We have dined here before and will likely be back again in the future.

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    6.25/10

    Food was not even warm. You can get better food with cheaper prices at other places.

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 288 reviews
    9.75/10

    You can't go past the Xiao Long bao. They are so good! We also had the duck pancakes which were delicious. Staff were very friendly and attentive too. Looking forward to going back!

  10. Henry Y.
    Henry Y.
    • 13 reviews
    9/10

    Attentive service. the XLB were nice but two out of six were broken by time they arrived on our table, which is a shame as you lost all the juicy goodness!! Otherwise great standard as usual

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    8/10

    Good quality of food. Attentive services. Shame 2 out of the 6 XLBs were leaking!

  12. Avinash M.
    Avinash M.
    • 43 reviews
    8.5/10

    Delicious food and attentive service. Very good value for money.

  13. Mark B.
    Mark B.
    • 43 reviews
    7/10

    We have had many meals at Hutong, but this time was a disappointment as our food was very slow in being delivered to our table. It smelled like the kitchen had burnt something, and we had to chase our order with our waitress. There was nothing proactive or apologetic about the delay - so service on the night could have been much better.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    8.5/10

    nice but a bit pricy, $9 for one piece of duck san choi bao

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    7.25/10

    Food is always nice here!

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9/10

    Good food. Attentive service but did take a while to come and give me the bill.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    6.25/10

    Was good, but not as good as it used to be. The city one is better.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 288 reviews
    9/10

    Been coming here for some years. Food and service has always been consistent although on this occasion, many food choices were not available. Still one of the best Yum Cha places around Prahran/Windsor/South Yarra area.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely food - quick!

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    7.25/10

    Food is good and it would be better with friendly service.

  21. Avinash M.
    Avinash M.
    • 43 reviews
    9/10

    Great food as always and service has improved over the last 6 months.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    5/10

    Very disappointing and did not acknowledge the Fork booking at all.

  23. Mark B.
    Mark B.
    • 43 reviews
    8/10

    Always a pleasure to dine at Hutong's - where the food is always great!

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great food with better service than last time.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    6/10

    Nice dumplings but yum cha dishes are expensive compared to other places.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    7.25/10

    Always a nice meal

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8/10

    Affordable chinese food in a nice setting

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    2.5/10

    Months ago I had heard great things about Hutong Prahran. Finally got to visit. Maybe it's changed hands? The food arrived so fast it must have been pre-made. AND it was cold. Maybe our first course, dumplings, went to another table and they hadn't ordered them as we'd hardly placed our order when they arrived. The staff did not look at us … just this robotic look in their eyes and no eye contact upon departure. Very disappointing. Don't bother.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    7/10

    Food was great. Pity about the service, had to wait over 15 minutes after I had finished my meal for the bill to arrive.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great location with spacious seating and lovely decorations. Service can be a little bit slow - no one greeted us when we walked in despite four or five staffs walking past us. Otherwise, food was impeccable - we have lovely juicy XLBs and a claypot dish.

  31. Mark B.
    Mark B.
    • 43 reviews
    7.25/10

    We have been many times to Hutong and have enjoyed the food and service. Tonight though we must have caught them on an off night, as the food was not as good as usual (delivered warm - not hot, and the eggplant was still green and under cooked). Hopefully this was just an anomaly, and the next time we enjoy our visit as we normally do.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    7.5/10

    Yum cha was ok.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    7.25/10

    Great quality dumplings!

  34. Jin X.
    Jin X.
    • 13 reviews
    9/10

    Nice food as usual and the service always great.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    1/10

    What a terrible disappointment this restaurant is... all meals came out lukewarm (at best) They were poorly presented meager servings handed out unfriendly staff.. Nothing positive about the evening which was a shame as we had gone for a special occasion

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    8/10

    Still one of the best Yum Cha places in South Yarra/Prahran area.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    6.25/10

    Too oily and too sweet. Dinner is more of a western take on Chinese cuisine. Their dumplings are fabulous. Go for lunch or just go for dumplings anytime.

  38. James P.
    James P.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    When booking make sure you are not day in the back function room - terrible

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.25/10

    Dumplings are fantastic. Peking Duck pancakes were delicious. Wine is very reasonable priced. Great night had by all.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8/10

    An excellent yum cha lunch with many choices and very good service. We look forward to returning.