1376 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.4
1376 reviews
Recommended
(8.5)
Food
(8.5)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.5)
Atmosphere
(8.3)

dined on Fri, 28 Dec 2018

(4)
We have been regular visitors of Il centro for the last 7-8 years being that my wife was working in Brisbane and also a major fan of the sand crab lasagna. Last night was the all time low for il centro where firstly when we arrived the maitre d’ made a big sing and dance that one of guests had a little child and we requested that we had a little space next to the table so that we could park the Pram for the child. His personality does not suit the role he was conducting where he was no where near being bubbly and social or cooperative. The serving between starters entrees and mains were more than 1 hour for each serving, the meals were not of quality standard (I had the barramundi which was over cooked and required dental records to identify it, and one of our guests asked for her sand crab lasagna be heated up as it was cold). Furthermore there was a major argument and tension between the head chef and the maitre d’ to the point that it almost escalated to both of them having to resolve it out side. Like a live version of Gordon Ramsay Hell’s Kitchen show. Quite entertaining for me but is a big no no for a fine dining restaurant as what Il Centro once was. I regret that I need to write such a review but it has got to the point where my wife regarded Il Centro as an institution to saying last night that it was the last time we will visit. I am of understanding that one of the guests that was with us has contacted the owner and will further discuss.

dined on Sat, 22 Dec 2018

(9)
Sand Crab Lasagne is alway a must when dining here. A great night had by all my guests
Camilla Hayes

dined on Fri, 21 Dec 2018

(9)
The crab lasagne is a must - the sauce OMG! We demolished every single bit.. and the natural oysters with the Chardonnay vinegarette were also amazing! Will be thinking about these meals for a long time and will definitely need to go back again. Only downside was the restaurant was quite loud but this could be due to a lot of Christmas parties.. next time will try on a quieter night and maybe sit outside to get more of the beautiful view of the bridge. Will definitely recommend and return! Yum!

dined on Thu, 20 Dec 2018

(10)
Everything during our visit was impeccable. Highly recommended.
Thank you for your review Kai, we appreciate your lovely comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Admin responded on Wed, 23 Jan 2019

dined on Mon, 17 Dec 2018

(9)
Wine selection was very expensive and spoiled the overal menu. Staff were excellent from a genuine welcome and attention by staff. Food was excellent and well presented. We enjoyed the evening and the repartee with the bubbly French waitress who has been in Australia for 12 years.

dined on Sat, 15 Dec 2018

(8)
Lovely place, would go again. Thank you!
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Admin responded on Wed, 23 Jan 2019
Murielle Paviet-fanolliet

dined on Sat, 15 Dec 2018

(9)
You haven't lived until you've tasted Il Centro's Sandcrab lasagne. Amazing doesn't cut it. I live 3 hours away and I'm already making plans to come back. Service was excellent and the sommerlier knew his stuff. well worth it.

dined on Sat, 15 Dec 2018

(9)
Always delicious and great service!!
Thank you for your review! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Admin responded on Wed, 23 Jan 2019

dined on Thu, 13 Dec 2018

(10)
I was impressed with the freshness of the food, the extensive wine list, the views over the Brisbane River and the attentive wait service.
Thank you for your great comments about your dining experience, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Admin responded on Wed, 23 Jan 2019

dined on Wed, 12 Dec 2018

(6)
The service really missed it. Especially drinks service. Broken glassware. Flat badly made aperol spritz that they did remake without fuss when I asked them to. No glassware on table. Some of the dishes were delicious. Some not so. Needs work on consistency and service for the price point. Also surprised no sommelier. Which showed in beverage service.
Thank you for writing a review. I apologise for the beverage service, I will investigate further with the staff and look to arrange a training session in order to solve the issues you have highlighted. If you could email me directly on operations@bv.net.au with more detail, especially about the dishes you did and didn’t enjoy I would appreciate this so I can give the feedback to the chefs it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Admin responded on Wed, 23 Jan 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Valentine's Day - Two Course $90pp

Spoil you loved one with us a Il Centro with stunning views of the Brisbane River. 2 x Course $90.00 first sitting We require full payment for this event. Oysters natural with gremolata and chardonnay vinaigrette $5 each Crusty bread PRIMI (choice of) Burrata Handmade burrata with grilled zucchini, hazelnuts, vincotto and EVOOi Vitello tonnato Thinly sliced braised veal served cold with mayonnaise tuna, berry capers and lemon zest Arancini Truffle arancini with Taleggio cheese, mushroom puree, crispy pancetta and goat curd Calamari Light dusted squids with chilli, squid ink vinaigrette, romesco sauce and baby gem Lasagne alla Granseola Il Centro’s famous sand crab lasagne with creamed crustacean sauce SECONDI (choice of) Porchetta Roasted free range Gooralie pork belly with celeriac puree, roasted potato, squash, green olive tapenade, hazelnut and truffle pecorino Filetto di Manzo Char grilled, grass fed Dawson Valley (QLD) eye fillet with semi dried tomatoes frittata, asparagus, balsamic onion and red wine jus Scaloppine Parmesan crumbed veal scaloppine with fettuccine carbonara, crispy prosciutto and sautéed spinach Ravioli Porcini mushroom and ricotta ravioli with black garlic, crispy sage, hazelnut and truffle pecorino Filetto di Pesce Crispy skin fish of the day filet with squid ink risotto, heirloom tomatoes and white asparagus Sides (choice of) Fagiolini Green beans with caramelized onions, semi dried tomatoes, smoked almonds and crispy parmesan Patate Fritte Beer battered chips with lemon and rosemary salt Rucola Rocket leaves with pear, roasted walnuts, parmesan and balsamic dressing DOLCI (choice of) Cannoli al cioccolato Cannoli with white and dark Valhrona chocolate mousse, pistacchio crumb and Nutella ice cream Tiramisu Il Centro's tiramisu with, vanilla mascarpone and espresso ice cream Semifreddo Peach semifreddo with uamaretto crumble, Florentine biscuit and aperol sorbet Formaggio A selection of cheeses - green apple and apricot chutney
When
14 Feb 2019
Thu 5:00 PM - 7:45 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Valentine's Day- Three Course $120pp

Spoil you loved one with us a Il Centro with stunning views of the Brisbane River. 3 x course $120.00 second sitting We require full payment for this event. Oysters natural with gremolata and chardonnay vinaigrette $5 each Crusty bread PRIMI (choice of) Burrata Handmade burrata with grilled zucchini, hazelnuts, vincotto and EVOOi Vitello tonnato Thinly sliced braised veal served cold with mayonnaise tuna, berry capers and lemon zest Arancini Truffle arancini with Taleggio cheese, mushroom puree, crispy pancetta and goat curd Calamari Light dusted squids with chilli, squid ink vinaigrette, romesco sauce and baby gem Lasagne alla Granseola Il Centro’s famous sand crab lasagne with creamed crustacean sauce SECONDI (choice of) Porchetta Roasted free range Gooralie pork belly with celeriac puree, roasted potato, squash, green olive tapenade, hazelnut and truffle pecorino Filetto di Manzo Char grilled, grass fed Dawson Valley (QLD) eye fillet with semi dried tomatoes frittata, asparagus, balsamic onion and red wine jus Scaloppine Parmesan crumbed veal scaloppine with fettuccine carbonara, crispy prosciutto and sautéed spinach Ravioli Porcini mushroom and ricotta ravioli with black garlic, crispy sage, hazelnut and truffle pecorino Filetto di Pesce Crispy skin fish of the day filet with squid ink risotto, heirloom tomatoes and white asparagus Sides (choice of) Fagiolini Green beans with caramelized onions, semi dried tomatoes, smoked almonds and crispy parmesan Patate Fritte Beer battered chips with lemon and rosemary salt Rucola Rocket leaves with pear, roasted walnuts, parmesan and balsamic dressing DOLCI (choice of) Cannoli al cioccolato Cannoli with white and dark Valhrona chocolate mousse, pistacchio crumb and Nutella ice cream Tiramisu Il Centro's tiramisu with, vanilla mascarpone and espresso ice cream Semifreddo Peach semifreddo with uamaretto crumble, Florentine biscuit and aperol sorbet Formaggio A selection of cheeses - green apple and apricot chutney
When
14 Feb 2019
Thu 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Valentine's Day Banquet 8+ people

Full payment required for this menu of $90pp Ciabatta: Toasted ciabatta bread with tomato, garlic and olive oil Primi Vitello tonnato Thinly sliced braised veal served cold with mayonnaise tuna, berry capers and lemon zest Lasagna Il Centro’s famous sand crab lasagna with creamed crustacean sauce Caprese Buffalo mozzarella with vine ripened tomato, basil, grilled artichokes and balsamic glaze Secondi Tagliata di manzo Char grilled, grain fed, Darling Downs (QLD) Wagyu hanger steak with heirloom zucchini, red capsicum, salsa verde and red wine jus Pasta allo scoglio Saffron linguine with tiger prawns, fish of the day, black lip mussels, Moreton bay bug, cherry tomato, chilly, garlic and white wine sauce Fagiolini Green beans with caramelized onions, dried tomatoes, smoked almonds and crispy parmesan Patate arrosto Duck fat potatoes roasted with garlic, crispy cotechino, dried tomatoes and thyme Dessert Tiramisu Il Centro's tiramisu with vanilla mascarpone and espresso ice cream
Min. people
8
When
14 Feb 2019
Thu 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Il Centro

Class and comfort Il Centro is like a pair of comfortable shoes - not too flashy, but reliable, resilient and always a good fit. The food isn't over the top, but it is extremely tasty! Ease yourself into the comfortable, elegant decor and be waited on by attentive staff. Chef Catherine Anders has created a finger-licking Italian inspired menu bursting with fresh and familiar flavours. Try the delectable squid ink risotto with scallops and pickled fennel, or indulge in the intricate Moreton Bay bugs with oyster mushrooms, chestnuts and gnocchi and the unusual (but yummy) sweet corn sauce. However, the show stopper here is Il Centro’s infamous sand crab lasagne, which is rich and deliciously creamy. There are wines to match each and every dish, both local and imported, and sommelier Shawn Gomes’s is there to guide you. Desserts too are popular and aren’t to be missed so make sure you save room! For a meal that is bound to please, slip into Il Centro for a night of comfort and satisfaction - you’re guaranteed to try it on again. Best dish: sand crab lasagne

Il Centro Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

15/20
80
4/5
8/10