Back

Reviews - Izakaya Chuji

  1. Brad S.
    Brad S.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Get the Seared Beef and add Wasabi!

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  2. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great food and great place to play board games

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for the review!

  3. A A.
    A A.
    • 291 reviews
    9.5/10

    The place has a good vibe and the food was amazingly delicious. My daughter and I shared our meals and ate too much but would love to go back again

  4. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    7.25/10

    It was a good night

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    7/10

    Nice bustling izakaya with great food and a good drinks list. Not the most stylish venue, but the quality of the dishes made up for it. Unfortunately each course came out at almost the same time which caused some challenges, but was manageable.

  6. Lauren W.
    Lauren W.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Good cheap eats. Lots of things sold out on drinks menu

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    8.5/10

    Everything was fantastic apart from the ramen. The chefs sushi platter, chicken karage, beef skewers and sashimi were all top notch. Extensive drinks list which was all fantastic too! The ramen was disappointing with a broth lacking flavour and undercooked noodles. Despite the disappointing ramen, this is still one of my favorite Japanese places in the CBD :)

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    7.5/10

    Good food, good variety of drinks, sadly quite a few drinks and food were not available.

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    7.5/10

    The miso eggplant by far the stand out dish.

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review!

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic food, service, sake, and cocktails. Great atmosphere in the bar area.

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your fantastic review!

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    8/10

    good food which came out very fast

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    6.75/10

    Good little hole in the wall for a cheap eat

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    7.25/10

    Good value Japanese restaurant with generous servings. Once ordered food came out quickly which was great (even though the place was full) Service was a bit hit and miss as waiters rushed past our table when we tried to flag them down. Overall a good place to enjoy Japanese tapas and main meals.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    8/10

    Lots of variety and great for groups

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  15. Deanna C.
    Deanna C.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    You have to write down your order and the food came out very quickly. Luckily the food was served very hot as we were still waiting on another person to arrive. Hadn't been there for a very long time. Very satisfied and will definitely go back. Highly rec ommended!

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review

  16. Adam H.
    Adam H.
    • one review
    9/10

    Repeat visitor. Love this place!

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your support :-)

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    7.25/10

    Great food, reasonably priced

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    7.75/10

    Food was tasty and a great choice of items on the menu some of which we had not tasted before We enjoyed the soft shell crab and the Shitake mushroom stuffed with prawn

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review!

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 296 reviews
    7.5/10

    A good example of Japanese Izakaya style eatery, all the usual menu items you'd expect with a few surprises. Everything arrived quickly and tasted as expected - delicious. Very friendly and attentive service. Good selection of Japanese beer, and some interesting wine by the glass. Perfect for a quick dinner before the theatre.

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review!

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    7/10

    Good place to catch up with friends

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    6.75/10

    Decent menu, fast service.

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    6.75/10

    My family was happy with most dishes, thank you.

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 298 reviews
    7/10

    The food was great in general with many drinks options.

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  24. Brendan M.
    Brendan M.
    • 48 reviews
    8.25/10

    Location is great and service is terrific

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    7.25/10

    Reasonably priced with good food!

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 299 reviews
    8.25/10

    Nice place for casual meal with friends and family

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  27. Sue L.
    Sue L.
    • 16 reviews
    7.5/10

    This place is always very busy. Reservations are required. Service is okay, considering how busy the restaurant is. Food is tasty overall. Just a bit too salty and oily to me.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    9.25/10

    Second time back. Love the food

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  29. Steve M.
    Steve M.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Great range of dishes. Quick service. Everyone enjoyed the food in a relaxed atmosphere.

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8.25/10

    This is one of my favorite Japanese restaurant! Food is very good. I will go back again. Good to bring your friends too.

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    8/10

    well we have ordered Zyoza, Karaage, Sushi, Edameme, nasudenngaku, tebasaki, Seaweed salad, tenpura, yakisoba. All good except Yakisoba was very mussy so I don't recommended it.

  32. Lucy Z.
    Lucy Z.
    • 22 reviews
    7.5/10

    The best lotus root chips!

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review!

  33. Pamela A.
    Pamela A.
    • one review
    6.75/10

    Food was excellent but was delivered too quickly to the table. All in one hit. We couldn’t Savour one course at a time. Felt rushed.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.5/10

    Yummy food. While it wasn't a big deal, it would have been appreciated if we were told that wasabi was part of one of the dishes we had ordered so that we didn't have to order wasabi separately to only end up with two bowls of wasabi. Other than that, staff were friendly.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    8/10

    The sushi is amazing!

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you!

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    7.25/10

    Some of the dishes we ordered did not taste fresh and some were even cold when they were meant to be hot. I wouldn't recommend.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    8.75/10

    Loved this Japanese place, with the 50% fork offer it made it very affordable to have dinner and drinks. Loved the pork gyoza as well as the tempura vegetables and soft shell crab fry. Big servings which was also a positive. Would come back to try more of the raw selection.

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8.5/10

    Decent Japanese cuisine serving place

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    7.75/10

    very good and tasty ! good portion!

    Izakaya Chuji

    Thank you for your review!

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    7.5/10

    Go for the fried and grilled food. The sashimi was not as good as the general Japanese pub food.