Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Reviews - James St Bar + Kitchen

8.2/10
737
100 James Street, 6003 NorthbridgeSee map

Average price $22 Accepts Yums

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Booking confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a booking on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts
This restaurant is following the relevant safety practices*:
1.5m social distancing
Hand sanitizer available
*This information is declared by the restaurant
See more information

Reviews

8.2/10
Very good737 reviews
8/10

Food

8.5/10

Service

8.2/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Chee T.
    Chee T.

    12 June 20226 reviews

    9/10

    Food portion getting less. Food presentation also not as before.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Aleisha B.
    Aleisha B.

    11 June 20221 review

    10/10

    The food was amazing, as was the live music. All staff were polite and attentive with speedy service. Definitely give their cocktails a try! I can’t wait for my next trip to Perth to done here again.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Richard P.

    18 April 20221 review

    9.5/10

    You should upgrade the glass of wine.we are in our eighties the staff were attentive,and as we were from Sydney we did not know what to expect.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Andrew C.

    9 April 20223 reviews

    9/10

    Very nice food. We were the only people there but it was very nice and great service

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Tim W.

    19 March 20221 review

    4/10

    Considering the location this should have been a a lot better. The l

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Ann C.

    9 February 202274 reviews

    9/10

    Pleasantly surprised with the quality and presentation of the food. The food was appetizing and although the portion was small it was satisfying.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Tarsh C.

    24 January 202228 reviews

    4.5/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Andrew C.

    24 January 20222 reviews

    3/10

    A cleaner vacuumed the restaurant around us, even though it was only 6.15pm The coleslaw tasted awful, we think it was spoilt. My steak cut was ok, my wife's was awful. The waitress was friendly.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Denise M.
    Denise M.

    19 January 202234 reviews

    7.5/10

    Food was ok, but nothing special. You get what you pay for and meals were reasonable priced. $18.00 for a parmy.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Michelle S.

    18 January 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Delicious food and good service even in covid time. Recommend going there for drinks snacks or dinner

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • NICOLE D.
    NICOLE D.

    31 December 20219 reviews

    9.5/10

    Good service and food quality as always in nice sitting atmosphere

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Carolyn G.

    17 December 20211 review

    8.5/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Melanie H.

    13 December 20211 review

    5/10

    Apparently they didn't have my booking, we waited about 30 minutes for a glass of sprite and over an hour for two of our meals to arrive! Another of our meals wasn't warm either. Not good enough.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Elie D.

    9 December 20211 review

    9/10

    It was a good place to have something to eat and drink. The food was delicious and the waitering was good and friendly. It was a bit empty that night but it was nice and clean.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Natasha L.
    Natasha L.

    27 November 202121 reviews

    10/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Dilan F.

    25 October 20211 review

    4/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Debbie T.
    Debbie T.

    23 October 202111 reviews

    4/10

    Pretzel was supposed to come with the beer, not the main meal. It was dry. Parmigiana needed a steak knife. Coleslaw was tasteless, couldn't taste any dressing. Very disappointing.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Naomi J.

    23 October 20211 review

    10/10

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Beautiful food. Great value for money. Very convenient for us as we were staying at the co-located hotel.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Dora V.

    1 October 20213 reviews

    10/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Debbie E.
    Debbie E.

    11 September 202140 reviews

    9/10

    Enjoy coming to this great restaurant, great food and service. Thankyou

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Paul W.

    21 August 20211 review

    7.5/10

    The restaurant was clean and tidy the food quite good. The table service was a bit slow.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Solomon Li
    Solomon Li

    14 August 20211 review

    8.5/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Jenni R.

    31 July 20211 review

    8/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Lorinda M.
    Lorinda M.

    17 July 202116 reviews

    8/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Sarah J.

    17 July 20211 review

    8.5/10

    Good food great service

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Sharon Y.

    23 June 20218 reviews

    8.5/10

    Waitress were happy to reset out table to fit more of us . Beautiful setting and menu reasonably price.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Sharon Y.

    23 June 20218 reviews

    8/10

    Great service and ambience. We had lunch and our orders came quick.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Marcus P.
    Marcus P.

    10 June 202117 reviews

    9.5/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Nicki A.
    Nicki A.

    3 June 2021159 reviews

    10/10

    A great place to meet friends. Excellent coffee, cocktails and good meal options. (The food is brilliant.) Perfect for any time of the day. Warm friendly and efficient staff.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Mark T.

    15 May 20211 review

    9.5/10

    The food was fantastic and the service was the best we have experienced. We had the benefit of watching some Rumba dancing lessons after dinner...all added to a great night

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Gavin E.

    9 May 20212 reviews

    9.5/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Guiseppina S.

    17 April 20211 review

    8.5/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Ian K.

    31 March 202117 reviews

    10/10

    Thank you guys very nice place to enjoy dinner. Nice food :) good service!

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Alyssa T.

    29 March 202110 reviews

    7/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Debra J.
    Debra J.

    27 March 202118 reviews

    8/10

    We went at 5.30pm so atmosphere wasn’t that good not many people in the restaurant but the staff we met were excellent and the food was very tasty!

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Gerard C.
    Gerard C.

    22 March 202142 reviews

    8.5/10

    Well executed dishes - generous servings - elegant peaceful fit out - good selection of vegetarian dishes and bar food too - baby barra was a winner!

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Linley V.

    20 March 20212 reviews

    8/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Chris Y.
    Chris Y.

    15 March 20217 reviews

    8.5/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • Kirstie g.

    12 March 20211 review

    6/10

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

  • David K.

    9 March 20211 review

    10/10

    An excellent venue with friendly staff and great food. Perfect for business lunch meetings. We all enjoyed our meals and the selection and variety of food and drink was excellent. Will visit again.

    James St Bar + Kitchen (Owner)

Tripadvisor reviews

41 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty programme
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • Blog
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant booking