Back

Reviews - James St Bar & Kitchen

8.6/10

Fabulous

based on 634 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Ramona G.
    Ramona G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food was incredible and very reasonable. I had the kangaroo and the flavours were superb. My dad had the angus rump and he agreed his was just as good. The staff are very friendly and attentive. I really loved the decor of this restaurant it felt modern but warm. We absolutely enjoyed our dinner and will come back again next time we are in Perth.

  2. Doreen T.
    Doreen T.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    A must try restaurant. You'll not be disappointed.

  3. Donna H.
    Donna H.
    • 10 reviews
    4.5/10

    Great ambience but lacks service and food was slow to come out and overcooked.

  4. Leonora B.
    Leonora B.
    • one review
    10/10

    It's probable overlooked due to the location, but the food was absolutely amazing. We had a group of 8, and all agreed. Great service, beautiful décor, would definitely come here again. Value for money.

  5. Gavin W.
    Gavin W.
    • 20 reviews
    9.5/10

    Everything about our meal was delightful, and our waitress Holly, was equally delightful. She was prompt, efficient, checked in on us regularly, and deserves (and was promised one by her manager in our presence) a pay rise!! The food was excellently cooked and flavoured - chefs take a bow. The overall value was soo good that we’ll definitely be back. And they accept our Yuma too - how good is that?!

  6. Amanda B.
    Amanda B.
    • 24 reviews
    10/10

    Always delicious. The chicken is by far the tastiest and best value dish. The double cheeseburger was huge.

  7. Sharon Y.
    Sharon Y.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Good services and food. I would return

  8. Shawn D.
    Shawn D.
    • 65 reviews
    8/10

    Food was excellent and well presented. Only negative out of experience was lack of staff as we had to wait for 10mins at checkout to pay our bill as staff were attending to diners and no one dedicated at paying desk

  9. Jane G.
    Jane G.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    we liked the interior design, ambience and service. It was a busy so the food took a long time to arrive but it was well presented and taste good, good value for money

  10. Pär-Johan G.
    Pär-Johan G.
    • 10 reviews
    7/10

    The bar fronting the restaurant has a nice vibe about it, with great happy-hour specials on wine and tapas. Both the tapas and the SB are delicious. I can really recommend them. This was my first visit to the restaurant though. It is spacious and has a bit of a chic feeling to it. I just love kangaroo and I have had it more than 20 times before, at different restaurants. I love how tender it normally is, almost melting in my mouth. So, I set out for the '180gm kangaroo fillet, grilled medium with smokey aioli, petite Greek salad & lemon oil'. Sadly, I shouldn't! It was the toughest roo I've ever had; it was a big disappointment. And the smoky aioli could have been a nice complement, but it was much too hot and overpowered EVERYTHING. My nose was running a lot! I wanted to give the kitchen another chance, so I ordered the 'Yuzu cheesecake, meringue' for dessert. After my main course, I was very pleasantly surprised. Great job! The service was genuinely nice, by all the staff. I must mention Erika though, as she stood out a lot. I understood and she also told me that she was new at her job. She made the night for me; she was so polite, caring and exactly what you would want from your staff. Best of luck to her in her new position!

  11. Amy S.
    Amy S.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Really great welcoming service, good food and drink specials.

  12. Mike B.
    Mike B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Booked for a Family of 5, Food quality was great, could not fault the service. Very reasonably priced and definitely will be back, atmosphere quite pleasant as well

  13. Daniel B.
    Daniel B.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Friendly staff and great food - we had the chicken main (they recommended to get extra rice which was a great call), beef ribs and rump steak - everything was delicious. The signature fried ice-cream was amazing!

  14. Amanda B.
    Amanda B.
    • 24 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing dishes. Everything was absolutely divine.

  15. Michelle g.
    Michelle g.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely a great place in Northbridge to either chill while listening to great music , have a drink , awesome food menu and helpful friendly service . Good people watching place and good vibe all round . I cannot fault this bar. Will definitely be back .

  16. Viviene A.
    Viviene A.
    • 22 reviews
    7/10

    Wonderful service and delicious food, however there were very few diners and the place felt empty.

  17. Kelly e.
    Kelly e.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Wonderful service and the meal was delicious.

  18. Tika S.
    Tika S.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food flavour and presentaion was great. Ambience was spot on and service was friendly and attentive.

  19. Karen K.
    Karen K.
    • 178 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food is average, but service excellent thanks to Paula and Nicole. It’s a basic buffet breakfast, but you can have omelettes freshly made. There is a juice station too

  20. Itbar S.
    Itbar S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome place for couples to have a romantic dinner. Won’t disappoint. Great service great food. Location 10/10. Plenty to choose from food and drinks menu.

  21. Phoebe M.
    Phoebe M.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Very average. The food was below average unfortunately, not bad just really, really lacking flavour, and just too simple. The jalapeños were far too hard and didn’t have much flavour, no spice whatsoever. The cauliflower fritters, again had no flavour and were something I could make easily. The crab was okay, quite dry and tasted a bit fishy. All my dishes were just so dry. The burger was average according to my partner. The chocolate brownie was quite nice. The service was okay, one waiter was lovely, but there wasnt enough staff so had to wait a long time. The atmosphere was the best part, the restaurant looked beautiful and elegant, the food really was the let down, but unfortunately that’s the main part of a restaurant. I think we probably ordered the wrong things, I wouldn’t go back paying full price. There’s so many other amazing restaurants in Northbridge, this one just isn’t up to the standard. Really need to work on the food. Making things more flavourful, complex and perfecting them.

  22. Debbie W.
    Debbie W.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    The food was beautiful. All very fresh, tasty, generous portions and presented really well. The desserts were a work of art. Would highly recommend a visit.

  23. Steve T.
    Steve T.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    great meal,and staff

  24. Katrina k.
    Katrina k.
    • 27 reviews
    2/10

    Worst food ever wait time is ridiculous for food,food was cold no compensation of any sort dont waste your time and money on this place no staff and food is aweful

  25. William T.
    William T.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Worth the money and food was great

  26. Karen K.
    Karen K.
    • 178 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food was ok and service was excellent

  27. Karen K.
    Karen K.
    • 178 reviews
    7.5/10

    Breakfast is an enjoyable buffet with some extras. All the usual that you would expect with great service added. The restaurant is spacious so you don’t need to be too close to others

  28. FIONA C.
    FIONA C.
    • 7 reviews
    3/10

    Most of the menu apart from the grill were deep fried. This left the food very unimaginable. I have been there before and enjoyed the tapas. The menu has changed and not for the better.

  29. Karen K.
    Karen K.
    • 178 reviews
    7.5/10

    Basic buffet breakfast with a few added additions eg omelettes and juice station. Service is always excellent even when it’s busy

  30. Craig R.
    Craig R.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Setting was nothing special but ok. Staff were good. The fish dishes were nice. Beetroot dip was fantastic. Unfortunately the buffalo wings were minute and tasted so much of vinegar and the spicy Kung Pao chicken, while tasty, was dry (very little sauce) and not spicy. I was given extra chilli on the side which doesn’t really help. The baby barramundi sauce was spicier than the spicy chicken. At the end of the day it was the right price (less 50%) but we wouldn’t rush back.

  31. Ruth T.
    Ruth T.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Barramundi was cooked crispy and delicious. Corn in Cajun salmon was a bit chewy. Nice bright and comforting atmosphere. Overall meal was good.

  32. Sandra G.
    Sandra G.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Service was friendly and the setting was pleasant. We enjoyed our food for the price we paid (half price). Will be back with friends next time if the discount continues.

  33. Roz E.
    Roz E.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Great ambiance, fresh and contemporary and staff were very friendly and did a great job.. Portion of pasta I had I think was very small for the price, had the half price deal so didn't mind. Tasty but could have done with beef, mostly a tomato buttery sauce in pasta than a beef ragu.

  34. Ross T.
    Ross T.
    • 24 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent food and service. Prices are a bit steep but the 50% off deal through The Fork made it affordable. In an excellent location in the city

  35. Rachel B.
    Rachel B.
    • 5 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food was nice without being amazing. My father had fish and rated the dish, large portion, fresh and tasty. My sister’s and I had the pasta dishes and thought it was nice but nothing special. Service was friendly and food came out fast.

  36. Sarah B.
    Sarah B.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    Dining room was really clean and beautiful. Felt like i was in a expensive restaurant. The food on instagram looked amazing and made my friends and myself mouth watering. We have ordered quit a-bit of things. Our meals that we have purchased were okay but could improve on. The salmon with corn salad on the side was really dry and needed a sauce with it (white sauce). Pasta was dry and had no sauce holding together which can be hard to swollow the food. The beef slow cooked with mash potatoe, that could have been perfect with asparagus and a but more of the red wine or gravy sauce and that fish would been perfect. Soft crap was alright but could do with a dip by it. The Jalapenos stuffed cheese seemed off and was not spicy and hardly any cheese in it. The beef burger looked and tasted good. The cesar salad was really nice too how ever the lettuce cut into thick cubes to eat better than having leaves whole which made eating difficult. The price that we got our meals for was worth how much it was. Thank you for having us and take care.

  37. Bekah A.
    Bekah A.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    The food was excellent and our server was just lovely. It was a bit cold in the restaurant but it was storming outside so that’s to be expected. We had a super lovely evening - We would come back for sure. We had the soft Shell crab, the Cheesburger and the Ribs and the American brownie. - so so good!

  38. Dale M.
    Dale M.
    • 49 reviews
    8/10

    Nicely appointed, James St Bar & Kitchen is bright and airy and very clean. The menu offers something for all tastes and appetites. Ditto the drinks list.

  39. Kar T.
    Kar T.
    • 5 reviews
    8/10

    Food was good, great atmosphere, service speed could be faster.

  40. Jean C.
    Jean C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The dishes were beautifully presented and a feast to our eyes, all our senses were dancing with delight and pleasure as we were "devouring" our meals. Will definitely come back again for more enjoyable moment!