Back

Reviews - James Street Bar & Kitchen

8.7/10

Fabulous

based on 670 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Ian K.
    Ian K.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Thank you guys very nice place to enjoy dinner. Nice food :) good service!

  2. Alyssa T.
    Alyssa T.
    • 8 reviews
    7/10

    Made a reservation for the restaurant but there must’ve been a problem with the booking system as the restaurant was closed. Wound up at the bar with the bar menu. Food was alright, the soft shell crab was really greasy. Good chips though. Waitress was nice.

  3. Debra J.
    Debra J.
    • 6 reviews
    8/10

    We went at 5.30pm so atmosphere wasn’t that good not many people in the restaurant but the staff we met were excellent and the food was very tasty!

  4. Gerard C.
    Gerard C.
    • 19 reviews
    8.5/10

    Well executed dishes - generous servings - elegant peaceful fit out - good selection of vegetarian dishes and bar food too - baby barra was a winner!

  5. Linley V.
    Linley V.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    There were a couple of small issues with the food service (ie, starter ordered to come with the mains still came out first and had to be sent back until later; loaded fries came with bacon when that had specifically been asked not to be included; one side dish didn't arrive until well after main courses had been served), but apart from that, the food itself was really good and we would definitely eat here again.

    James Street Bar & KitchenJames Street Bar & Kitchen

    Dear Linley, Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food but I am naturally disappointed that our service did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have passed your feedback onto our Operations Manager to ensure that our Team training is improved. We appreciate your feedback as it allows to identify areas we do well in and where we can improve. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards Mohammed Limdiwala, Hotel Manager

  6. Chris Y.
    Chris Y.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    My barramundi meal had great flavour with the tamarind sauce. The wait person specially requested her chef to make sure there was plentiful of sauce to drown my barramundi in which he did. Service was attentive and pro active.

  7. Kirstie g.
    Kirstie g.
    • one review
    6/10

    Was advertised as a seafood buffet but only had one hot dish of seafood and very limited on the cold seafood. Expected more variety for a buffet. The crayfish were tiny and nothing to open them with amd extremely hard to get anything out of. Would have been better serving another shellfish.

    James Street Bar & KitchenJames Street Bar & Kitchen

    Dear Kirstie, Thank you for your review. Naturally I am disappointed to hear that not all of your expectations were met on this occasion. We appreciate your feedback; this was our first buffet of this kind and it's wonderful to know how we can further improve upon our offering. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, Mohammed Limdiwala, Hotel Manager

  8. David K.
    David K.
    • one review
    10/10

    An excellent venue with friendly staff and great food. Perfect for business lunch meetings. We all enjoyed our meals and the selection and variety of food and drink was excellent. Will visit again.

  9. Riovedy F.
    Riovedy F.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Second visit to this restaurant and they continue to provide beautiful fresh food, very nice and friendly staff, and relax atmosphere. Definitely worth to visit again.

  10. Dale M.
    Dale M.
    • 55 reviews
    8/10

    James Street Bar & Kitchen has a generous drinks list with a good variety for all tastes. Service is polite and efficient and the food generally tasty and well presented. We were a little disappointed that the rare kangaroo was overcooked (closer to medium-well done) but this did not significantly detract from the overall experience.

  11. Cam D.
    Cam D.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great food and friendly service. Will be back. We had the duck, ribs and lamb. My only criticism is the lamb could have been a lot more generous for the price, while it was tasty, I probably couldn't recommend that as it was finished in a handful of bites, hardly a main course.

  12. Noel C.
    Noel C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Had the lamb and the Angus for our mains, pumpkin and freekah salad for sides and the Turkish bread to start. Food presentation and taste was amazing. Was served very quickly as well. Staff were nice but I feel like it was a little understaffed when the restaurant only had 20% capacity, it already felt like most of the floor staff were running about everywhere. Ambience’s good with decent lighting and nice furnitures.

  13. Heidi B.
    Heidi B.
    • 24 reviews
    10/10

    I dined on a Sunday evening at 630pm and despite being the only one in the restaurant it was a delightful place to be. Very efficient and friendly service, and a very tasty dinner - the duck vermicelli entree was delicious, and nicely presented. They have a good wine selection as well. Would definitely recommend for everyone!

  14. Sarah H.
    Sarah H.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious food that was presented beautifully

  15. Debbie E.
    Debbie E.
    • 27 reviews
    8.5/10

    I really loved the food and the hotel but the only thing that was disappointing was we had to wait an hour for our food as they had not keyed in our order. They did give us a free drink each and some chips to make up for it. Otherwise I would have given this cute place a 5 star.

  16. Gavin W.
    Gavin W.
    • 21 reviews
    7.5/10

    James St Kitchen continues to be a modern, efficient restaurant with current menu suited to my tastes. A good variety of meat, fish and well-prepared greens, with flavourful sauces and gravies. Staff are always efficient and very courteous, and very usefully, they accept/welcome Yums!

  17. MICHELLE J.
    MICHELLE J.
    • 7 reviews
    7.5/10

    Love the atmosphere here and fantastic service. Sorry to say that one of mains was terrible (ribs- couldn’t even cut them with a steak knife) but the service manager was apologetic and didn’t charge us for it. The barramundi was excellent

  18. Julie Z.
    Julie Z.
    • 58 reviews
    9.5/10

    Service is outstanding, the patience and actually letting all people finish eating before clearing plates big KUDOS. Food can’t fault

  19. Yvonne C.
    Yvonne C.
    • 22 reviews
    7.5/10

    The food was excellent but we did have to wait a long time for it. There was only one waitress and she was under pressure. She was very pleasant but not sure how they would cope if very busy.

  20. Amanda B.
    Amanda B.
    • 34 reviews
    10/10

    Always yum. Cant believe more people take advantage of the 20 percent off. The chicken, lamb, pumpkin and feeekah salad, ribs..... its all amazing.

  21. Ramona G.
    Ramona G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food was incredible and very reasonable. I had the kangaroo and the flavours were superb. My dad had the angus rump and he agreed his was just as good. The staff are very friendly and attentive. I really loved the decor of this restaurant it felt modern but warm. We absolutely enjoyed our dinner and will come back again next time we are in Perth.

  22. Doreen T.
    Doreen T.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    A must try restaurant. You'll not be disappointed.

  23. Donna H.
    Donna H.
    • 12 reviews
    4.5/10

    Great ambience but lacks service and food was slow to come out and overcooked.

  24. Leonora B.
    Leonora B.
    • one review
    10/10

    It's probable overlooked due to the location, but the food was absolutely amazing. We had a group of 8, and all agreed. Great service, beautiful décor, would definitely come here again. Value for money.

  25. Gavin W.
    Gavin W.
    • 21 reviews
    9.5/10

    Everything about our meal was delightful, and our waitress Holly, was equally delightful. She was prompt, efficient, checked in on us regularly, and deserves (and was promised one by her manager in our presence) a pay rise!! The food was excellently cooked and flavoured - chefs take a bow. The overall value was soo good that we’ll definitely be back. And they accept our Yuma too - how good is that?!

  26. Amanda B.
    Amanda B.
    • 34 reviews
    10/10

    Always delicious. The chicken is by far the tastiest and best value dish. The double cheeseburger was huge.

  27. Sharon Y.
    Sharon Y.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Good services and food. I would return

  28. Shawn D.
    Shawn D.
    • 65 reviews
    8/10

    Food was excellent and well presented. Only negative out of experience was lack of staff as we had to wait for 10mins at checkout to pay our bill as staff were attending to diners and no one dedicated at paying desk

  29. Jane G.
    Jane G.
    • 11 reviews
    8/10

    we liked the interior design, ambience and service. It was a busy so the food took a long time to arrive but it was well presented and taste good, good value for money

  30. Pär-Johan G.
    Pär-Johan G.
    • 12 reviews
    7/10

    The bar fronting the restaurant has a nice vibe about it, with great happy-hour specials on wine and tapas. Both the tapas and the SB are delicious. I can really recommend them. This was my first visit to the restaurant though. It is spacious and has a bit of a chic feeling to it. I just love kangaroo and I have had it more than 20 times before, at different restaurants. I love how tender it normally is, almost melting in my mouth. So, I set out for the '180gm kangaroo fillet, grilled medium with smokey aioli, petite Greek salad & lemon oil'. Sadly, I shouldn't! It was the toughest roo I've ever had; it was a big disappointment. And the smoky aioli could have been a nice complement, but it was much too hot and overpowered EVERYTHING. My nose was running a lot! I wanted to give the kitchen another chance, so I ordered the 'Yuzu cheesecake, meringue' for dessert. After my main course, I was very pleasantly surprised. Great job! The service was genuinely nice, by all the staff. I must mention Erika though, as she stood out a lot. I understood and she also told me that she was new at her job. She made the night for me; she was so polite, caring and exactly what you would want from your staff. Best of luck to her in her new position!

  31. Amy S.
    Amy S.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Really great welcoming service, good food and drink specials.

  32. Mike B.
    Mike B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Booked for a Family of 5, Food quality was great, could not fault the service. Very reasonably priced and definitely will be back, atmosphere quite pleasant as well

  33. Daniel B.
    Daniel B.
    • 8 reviews
    9.5/10

    Friendly staff and great food - we had the chicken main (they recommended to get extra rice which was a great call), beef ribs and rump steak - everything was delicious. The signature fried ice-cream was amazing!

  34. Amanda B.
    Amanda B.
    • 34 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing dishes. Everything was absolutely divine.

  35. Michelle g.
    Michelle g.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely a great place in Northbridge to either chill while listening to great music , have a drink , awesome food menu and helpful friendly service . Good people watching place and good vibe all round . I cannot fault this bar. Will definitely be back .

  36. Viviene A.
    Viviene A.
    • 30 reviews
    7/10

    Wonderful service and delicious food, however there were very few diners and the place felt empty.

  37. Kelly e.
    Kelly e.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Wonderful service and the meal was delicious.

  38. Tika S.
    Tika S.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food flavour and presentaion was great. Ambience was spot on and service was friendly and attentive.

  39. Karen K.
    Karen K.
    • 191 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food is average, but service excellent thanks to Paula and Nicole. It’s a basic buffet breakfast, but you can have omelettes freshly made. There is a juice station too

  40. Itbar S.
    Itbar S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome place for couples to have a romantic dinner. Won’t disappoint. Great service great food. Location 10/10. Plenty to choose from food and drinks menu.