Back

Reviews Kanela Tapas Bar

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 97 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    8.75/10

    Flamenco show was very intimate and an incredible spectacle considering it was made up of a guitarist and couple dancing.

  2. A A.
    A A.
    • 288 reviews
    9/10

    Worth dining here just to hear the beautiful live flamenco guitarists.

  3. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great night. Food was divine. Service was fantastic. Music was spectacular--not their usual flamenco show but two guys playing classical Spanish music. Bloody brilliant. My 15 year old son enjoyed himself with a mocktail and churos! Will definitely go back.

  4. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    9/10

    Live flamenco music was incredible

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    9.25/10

    Flamenco performers were some of the best in this country. Amazing

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    7.25/10

    Lovely staff, nice food. I was eager to enjoy the flamenco dance performance, however, we were thoroughly disappointed with its short duration. It began after 10pm and ended before 10.30pm.

  7. Tim B.
    Tim B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Easily the best restaurant I have ever been to. Magnificent food, great range of drinks including cocktails and Spanish beers. Even Coronas with a dash of tequila! Fantastic friendly, quick service by beautiful waitresses. The flamenco dancing was spectacular. This place is unbelievable. Expensive but worth every cent. It will become our regular every time we visit Melbourne.

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    8.75/10

    The Flamenco show was great a very authentic experience . Have been a few times and never disappointed

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    10/10

    Have been going here for eight years, always good. Have taken friends and has become a favorite of theirs too.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    8.25/10

    Overall very good. Will surely come back with friends and family. The flamenco performance was amazing. A little difficult to see if you're seated near the back.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    2.75/10

    Last visit to this restaurant and will not be recommending anyone venture my experience. The food (entrées and mains) came out cold, when this was brought to the waiters attention the reply was that there was nothing they could do because we weren't ready to eat the main course when prepared and made ready by the chef, mind you we were still eating our entrées. Extremely poor customer service and unprofessional manner to satisfying clients who's have come to enjoy the food experience and atmosphere.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 297 reviews
    8/10

    pretty pricey for what you get but a nice night overall

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    6.5/10

    We also paid another $18 pp for the flamenco show. This was excellent adding to the Spanish authenticity & well worth the money. Was slightly disappointed that the people in the bar were noisy during the show as detracted from performance.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    4.75/10

    Both food and drinks used to be better. Sangria tasted like it was cordial juice, the same as the mulled wine. The show was extremely short!

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    5.75/10

    Good for groups, should include the show

  16. Sonia W.
    Sonia W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Authentic Spanish tapas and paella which was apparently chef’s Mum’s recipe. Welcoming and attentive service by Spanish wait staff. Intimate setting with relaxed atmosphere and the flamenco guitar and dance show was stunning....absolutely beautiful. I will return whenever I host friends in Melbourne

  17. Lisa K.
    Lisa K.
    • one review
    7.25/10

    Fantastic show.........

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    5.5/10

    There wasn’t enough food. Bread wasn’t fresh and paella had canned vegetables

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    9.25/10

    Lovely atmosphere and good service. The entertainment was fantastic.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great Spanish cuisine and amazing Flamenco dancing Friday and Saturday night.

  21. Gail f.
    Gail f.
    • one review
    10/10

    This is an absolute must , the food fantastic, the service and girls fantastic... but the show!! We were blown away.. mesmerised by it .... wanted more and more

  22. SUSIE N.
    SUSIE N.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Enjoyed the night, food was authentic and the performance was amazing. Highly recommend the place to family and friends

  23. Robert P.
    Robert P.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    Gret food and beautiful restaurant. Will come again for the show Friday/Sat.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    7.5/10

    The show was fabulous

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    8.75/10

    If you want the taste of Spain, this is the place to go.

  26. Bernard F.
    Bernard F.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Excellent food, good service, somewhere I would recommend. The garlic mushrooms and paella were standouts.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    9.5/10

    Food was absolutely delicious and the service was fantastic!

  28. Willman C.
    Willman C.
    • one review
    10/10

    We went to celebrate our anniversary and watch the flamenco show, everything was really good food, show, service, highly recommended.

  29. Felicity  K.
    Felicity K.
    • one review
    10/10

    The entire night was amazing. The food and entertainment was great! The staff were so friendly too.

  30. Elizbeth B.
    Elizbeth B.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Loved this flamenco bar so much would highly recommend to anyone who loves Andalucian culture. The dancers, guitarist and percussionist were outstanding. The tapas and sangria i had were tasty and yum. Would definitely come back and tell others to come and see for themselves. Loved it.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    8.25/10

    Fantastic restaurant. Absolutely amazing authentic flamenco. Highly recommend!

  32. Jasna C.
    Jasna C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved it, the entertainment was awesome

  33. Harry S.
    Harry S.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Amazing show and beautiful atmosphere With very tasty meals

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and great entertainment

  35. Bart S.
    Bart S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The best place to see flamenco in Australia. As good as anything I saw in Spain. Amazing food, amazing wine choice and great atmosphere. Will be here every time you am in Melbourne.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.25/10

    Amazing flamenco show and great authentic Spanish food and atmosphere

  37. Sandra P.
    Sandra P.
    • one review
    6.25/10

    Too expensive for what it is

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    5.5/10

    The food wasn't tasty, i have tried spanish food so many times and this wasn't even close to spanish food. However, I would suggest the show to my friends

  39. Jason W.
    Jason W.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    This was a 75th birthday celebration. The food was superb and the wine list was more than adequate. We dined very well and then saw an amazing demonstration of Spanish flamenco by some dancers who performed to a standard which would have earned them high praise in Spain.

  40. Pae B.
    Pae B.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    We had dinner and show (show was $18 per person and well worth it). We also had a wait staff who was on her first day, and she did very well! She was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. While the place can get crowded and loud, as it is a small venue, it added to the atmosphere. Being a small venue I would recommend in asking if it’s possible to be booked at the front of the stage so you get the full affect of the flamenco performers. Tapas are plentiful, deliscious and value for money. As were the $28 jugs of Sangria, yum!! Great night and I will definitely return again, as well as recommend Kanela to friends.