Help

Japanese

Reviews - Kaya Izakaya

8.9/10
392
286 Chapel St, 3181 Prahran (VIC)
Japanese
Average price $40

Get up to 50% off

Conditions may apply

Kaya Izakaya

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.9/10
Fabulous392 reviews
9/10

Food

9.2/10

Service

8.5/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersOnly people who have booked with TheFork or paid with TheFork PAY can leave a rating and review.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Yoong C.200 reviews

    23 February 2024

    10/10

    Another great meal at Kaya Izakaya. We tried a few dishes we hadn't had before here and enjoyed them all. We'll be back to try more from the menu.

  • Eva G.52 reviews

    20 February 2024

    9.5/10

    Food was delicious, as was presentation, serves generous. Well worth attending

  • Michelle H.53 reviews

    17 February 2024

    10/10

    Love this restaurant - superb food, service and ambience!

  • Teddy Y.7 reviews

    15 February 2024

    9.5/10

    Their ramen gnocchi is a must-try but add the prawn too to balance.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • June L.43 reviews

    14 February 2024

    10/10

    Valentine's Day dinner - fantastic dishes, good presentation and tasty food. Must go back

    review_preview

    See 11 photos

  • Yoong C.200 reviews

    13 February 2024

    10/10

    We keep coming back to this lovely Japanese restaurant. We tried some dishes we hadn't had before, in particular the kaiten don and spicy tuna tacos. Both were delicious. Service was excellent and the food came out in good time. I'm sure we'll return to try some other dishes.

  • Jaz A21 reviews

    10 February 2024

    6/10

    First complaint ever. Unfortunately it took an hour and a half to get majority of our food and coming up to the two hour mark we still had not received one of our mains and apparently it hadn't even been cooked yet. Fyi mains like fried chicken literally came with nothing else. No compensation it wasn't a great experience. Tables were very close together.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Frederick W.3 reviews

    9 February 2024

    10/10

    This restaurant was fantastic with food served with top quality. Dishes ordered were so tasty especially the Arubi Salmon roll just melt in the mouth. The Ramen was really good too. This is strongly recommended

  • Antoine V.

    Antoine V.22 reviews

    3 February 2024

    10/10

    Amazing restaurant! The sushis were delicious!! I will definitely come back!

  • C K.1 review

    3 February 2024

    8.5/10

    Cosy restaurant with good quality food, efficient service and relaxed ambience. We had a table close to the window on a hot weekend -- It was great to enjoy th

  • Sue C.5 reviews

    2 February 2024

    9/10

    Delightful little restaurant which serves delicious Japanese food. The spicy sashimi tuna tacos were a great choice as a starter. The dragon roll sushi rolls which were a crumbed piece of prawn accompanied by avocado were good too. We had the soi koji salmon and crispy tofu as the mains and they didn’t disappoint. A wonderful introduction to a great find!

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Michelle H.53 reviews

    25 January 2024

    10/10

    Love love the food here! So delicious and beautifully presented. Lovely staff to - so professional and warm.

  • X L.6 reviews

    20 January 2024

    10/10

    Delicious food. The dishes we had were all well done, flavourful and cooked right. The fried items were served hot, and not oily at all. The decor is definitely street style, but the music wasn't too loud, so it was a comfortable atmosphere. Waitstaff were helpful and efficient. Couldn't fault anything in our dining experience.

  • Lisa H.4 reviews

    17 January 2024

    9.5/10

    There is absolutely no flaws in the food. In fact, it is one of the best izakaya I've had including in Japan. Very well-made and thoughtful menu. Each item is careful curated to have the perfect flavour balance and portion. The only downside is if you're easily scared, they're located below a gym and the occasional "thunder" from the gym equipment has caused our party to jump several times. Not sure if a romantic date is ideal with made for a fun topic between my friends and I.

    review_preview

    See 5 photos

  • Mandy B.1 review

    17 January 2024

    10/10

    Delicious food that was presented so well. Great service too!

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Michelle H.53 reviews

    10 January 2024

    10/10

    Delicious food and exceptional service!

  • Sandy H.2 reviews

    5 January 2024

    10/10

    Quick and friendly service. Food was well presented and tasty. Amazing value for money with The Fork discount. Note: Was charged extra for a small serving of mayo.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Christina T.42 reviews

    2 January 2024

    9/10

    Had the tuna and kingfish sushi nori tacos, both very nice. Also tried the aburi salmon sushi rolls, kingfish sashimi and ramen gnocchi. Everything was great, had a good night!

  • David K.1 review

    28 December 2023

    9.5/10

    Lovely dinner for two, loving the artwork indoors and the food was just 😙👌 Will be recommending.

  • Yoong C.200 reviews

    22 December 2023

    10/10

    Everything we ate at today's lunch at Kaya Izakaya was of excellent quality. Service was friendly and efficient. We found the agedashi eggplant a bit tough, but it was still delicious. Good value with the 50% discount.

  • Keng L.15 reviews

    19 December 2023

    8.5/10

    The food, staff and experience were excellent.

  • Ashley L.29 reviews

    16 December 2023

    10/10

    Food is yummy and great location. Highly recommend others to try their okonomiyaki and ramen!

    review_preview

    See 6 photos

  • Chris G.

    Chris G.2 reviews

    14 December 2023

    10/10

    Amazing experience

  • Yuka i.15 reviews

    9 December 2023

    10/10

    Really loved the dining experience here! I'm japanese so I'm hard to impress when it comes to japanese cuisine but I was impressed with the service and quality of food served. Thank you so much! yika

  • Filicia L.

    Filicia L.66 reviews

    2 December 2023

    9/10

    We came here becausw our other booking got cancelled by the fork. Its not easy to find parking around chapel st especially on a rainy day! The okinomiyaki skewer was delightful. The miso ramen was tasry but the soup not hot enough, the kingfish don was nice but i feel too little sashimi and the avocado was not riped so it was really hard! Overall good flavour but not sure if i would come back.

  • Shireen C.31 reviews

    2 December 2023

    7.5/10

    A cosy neighbourhood place with comforting food. The kingfish sashimi with jalapeno slices was the stand-out dish.

  • Jennifer T.19 reviews

    1 December 2023

    10/10

    The service was amazing. Very attentive. The food was really good & plenty to choose from. The side of greens was my favourite. So tasty.

  • Peony S.

    Peony S.3 reviews

    1 December 2023

    7.5/10

    Good place for family or friends. The staffs are nice.I have drink many water after the meal.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Julie Ho25 reviews

    23 November 2023

    9/10

    Nice dinner. Enjoy the sushi and salad. Miso soup was good.

  • Sherif Z.12 reviews

    9 November 2023

    8/10

    Interesting food, very nice staff and very good value.

  • Susan C.2 reviews

    4 November 2023

    9.5/10

    This restaurant is a great find. The food is consistently super-fresh & delicious - especially recommend the crispy tofu, tuna sashimi, pork belly, and California rolls (Volcano & Salmon). We were able to BYO wine ($15 corkage per bottle), and the 30% off from The Fork and service were amazing! We have done two family birthday dinners (18th & 21st) and staff were so good with welcome, seating, cake, candles and BYO.

  • Nikki H.17 reviews

    26 October 2023

    9.5/10

    Food is delicious and Service was great! Will definitely come back again! ????

    review_preview

    See 5 photos

  • Jimmy K.6 reviews

    21 October 2023

    8/10

    Great food. A bit noisy when full of people hard to have a conversation. Only two staff serving, so waiting to get seated took some time, getting the attention of staff to take orders or order additional drinks took longer than expected. Once you ordered food came pretty quickly.

  • Susan C.2 reviews

    21 October 2023

    10/10

    This little restaurant was fantastic for my son's 18th family dinner, just the four of us. We could BYO champagne and wine ($15 corkage), got 30% off the food bill by booking through the fork app, and they could not have been nicer with the service including for the birthday cake we brought along for the end. The food is sensational – highlights were the Tofu, coconut, sashimi, and chicken Don.

  • Dylan Z.6 reviews

    17 October 2023

    10/10

    Great authentic Japanese tastes

  • Charles G.3 reviews

    3 October 2023

    10/10

    Amazing quality food across the board. Not a single morsel short of excellent. Very quick and friendly service. Highly recommend

  • Julie Ho25 reviews

    26 September 2023

    8/10

    Food was well presented. Enjoyed the sushi and miso soup. We would prefer if the ramen soup was hotter. Service was helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the lunch

  • Michelle H.53 reviews

    21 September 2023

    10/10

    Delicious food, lovely waitress and ambience

  • Maria R.

    Maria R.8 reviews

    20 September 2023

    10/10

    It was great atmosphere and of course food.

  • Koon T.4 reviews

    20 September 2023

    8.5/10

    There was only one waitress attending to the floor of about 5 tables. She did well taking orders and pr

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.