INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Mike McEnearney.

Mike McEnearney

Generosity, simplicity and authenticity form the essence of Mike McEnearney’s philosophy. His impact on Australia’s culinary consciousness spans from the critically acclaimed No.1 Bent Street to the nourishing cuisine at Kitchen by Mike. A long-held belief in the medicinal qualities of food are evident in each nutritious and considered dish created by Mike. He is also Creative Director of Carriageworks Farmers Market, an internationally acclaimed food and arts precinct championing local produce.

2642 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.4
2642 reviews
Recommended
(8.6)
Food
(8.5)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Sat, 6 Apr 2019

(9)
An exceptional evening, very delicious food paired with great service. Definitely would do it again. Love their autumn menu though could leave the tofu dish.

dined on Sat, 6 Apr 2019

(9)
Delicious food, good portion sizes and full wine list. We will be back.
Michelle Barker

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(10)
Great place to visit. Superb food and service. Highly recommend

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(9)
This is a repeat review. The mere choice to dine again within a relatively short time speaks for itself. As expected, consistently excellent. (If I had to give a tip for potential improvement, the Cabernet Sauvignon recommended as part of the degustation menu, is just passing. I have had much better experiences in Sydney, for that price of wine.)

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(8)
Multiple entrees style of dining, can try a lot of dishes

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(9)
No comments or feedback

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(9)
Great place for a business lunch.

dined on Thu, 4 Apr 2019

(8)
The Manly Vodka was amazing!
We'll pass on your compliments- in case you are interested you can visit their distillery in Manly. Definitely worth a visit.
Julia - No. 1 Bent Street Management. responded on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
Cindy Leung

dined on Thu, 4 Apr 2019

(7)
Food was tasty but not plentiful. Half price set menu was already, $110 full price just not value for money. 5 women most of the dishes we got a little more than a mouthful, except the main grilled beef, which we were persuaded to order side dish. Drinks were overprice, the white wine we paid $80 was not nice, and was advised to try room temperature so no ice bucket was offered.
Hi there Cindy, thanks for providing us with some informative feedback. We keep our ice buckets on the side away from the tables, but we will let staff members know to always offer customers to put the wine on ice in case they do not enjoy the suggestion of room temperature wine.
Julia - No. 1 Bent Street Management. responded on Wed, 10 Apr 2019

dined on Thu, 4 Apr 2019

(6)
Had the autumn set menu ,food was good especially the salads and scallops. Our flank steak was ok but chewy, we were offered options for sides for the steak that are not on the menu but not told it was extra charge, I'm happy to pay for it but it felt like it was pushed on you unknowingly. We chose potatoes they were great. Coconut pineapple ice cream with sago pudding was a great way to finish off. It took about 25 mins wait for the bill to come.
page: 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16

About Kitchen by Mike CBD

Kitchen by Mike is acclaimed chef Mike McEnearney’s canteen-style eatery, serving simple, nourishing dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Famed for his knowledge and respect for ingredients, Kitchen by Mike is a delicious insight into the heart and soul of everything Mike represents. The menu changes daily depending on best-at-market, delivering both intensity of flavour and nutrition. Evenings see the canteen transform into a more refined experience with the same generous, warm approach.

Features

Insider

Kitchen by Mike CBD Address

Google Map