INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Mike McEnearney.

Mike McEnearney

Generosity, simplicity and authenticity form the essence of Mike McEnearney’s philosophy. His impact on Australia’s culinary consciousness spans from the critically acclaimed No.1 Bent Street to the nourishing cuisine at Kitchen by Mike. A long-held belief in the medicinal qualities of food are evident in each nutritious and considered dish created by Mike. He is also Creative Director of Carriageworks Farmers Market, an internationally acclaimed food and arts precinct championing local produce.

2644 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.4
2644 reviews
Recommended
(8.6)
Food
(8.5)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.2)
Bill Dennis

dined on Mon, 18 Mar 2019

(7)
Really not sure how I feel about this experience or this review. I picked up on the 50% discount for the set menu available on thefork and made a booking, it's literally around the corner from my hotel, so seemed like a great idea and a great deal. I arrived exactly on time at 6:45 for my booking, was seated and said that I'd like the included deal. There must have been some miscommunication with the servers, because my first course didn't arrive until forty five minutes later. I felt bad, knowing that I'd been capitalising on the discounted menu, and certainly the food was excellent, and I totally understand that they had an incentive to upsell me in order to make a decent profit on my meal, but felt pressured to order a side of potatoes (at $14 for 5 potatoes cut in half) in order to make my total bill, including 2 beers and a glass of cab sauv, around $110 for one person. The food itself was excellent, the ambiance good, the service friendly and knowledgeable, the wine was a delightful pairing with the steak, BUT my receipt tells me I left the restaurant at 8:26pm from a 6:45 booking, eating for one. Without the delay between seating and first course (and feeling a little abandoned because of it), I think I would have given a higher score.
Hi Bill, I remember you coming in last night and it was in fact myself who sat you initially. When I sat you, I misread that your booking was for 2 people instead of 1 person, so thought you were waiting for another guest. I am very sorry about this error and do realise you indeed waited a while for your first course to be served. The last thing we would want a customer to feel is neglected, so I do sincerely apologise if we made you feel that way. If you would like to come in and receive the service, food and attention we pride ourselves on, please contact me (Julia) directly at info@onebentstreet.com.au and we will arrange for you to be taken care of. Thanks for taking your time to leave us some feedback and have a nice evening.
Julia, No. 1 Bent Street Management. responded on Tue, 19 Mar 2019

dined on Mon, 18 Mar 2019

(8)
It was great service and the food was fantastic
Hi there- thanks for taking some time to leave us your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you loved it and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Julia - No. 1 Bent Street Management. responded on Wed, 20 Mar 2019

dined on Mon, 18 Mar 2019

(10)
Been here many times always good
Good afternoon and thanks for leaving us some feedback. Wonderful to hear that you come here often and we get things right consistently for you! Look forward to hosting you again soon.
Restaurant No.1 Bent Street by Mike responded on Wed, 20 Mar 2019

dined on Sat, 16 Mar 2019

(9)
Service was superb. had to change one item on dessert on set menu they were very obliging. Food is beautifully presented, and delicious. Will be back for special set menu offers
Hi there, thanks for taking your time to leave us some feedback- we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed yourselves. It is our pleasure to take care of all our guests and make sure they all leave satisfied. Would love to have you back in to sample our delicious a la carte menu as well. See you soon!
Julia - No. 1 Bent Street Management. responded on Wed, 20 Mar 2019
Marilyn Landers

dined on Sat, 16 Mar 2019

(8)
Great service and delicious food with well-matched wines.
Hi there Marilyn, lovely to hear you enjoyed yourself and thanks for your feedback- great that you tried out some matching wines and loved the combination. See you soon!
Julia - No. 1 Bent Street Management. responded on Wed, 27 Mar 2019

dined on Fri, 15 Mar 2019

(8)
Service was excellent, food was very good, cocktails took a while to arrive. Portions maybe a little small but you can have as much bread as you like so definitely won’t leave hungry. We had a half price deal, would go back for the same deal.

dined on Fri, 15 Mar 2019

(9)
Excellent dining experience. Excellent chef. Great service. Original creative dishes. A must.
Many thanks for taking your time to leave a review and for your kind words. It's fantastic to hear how much you enjoy dining with us and that it was an all round fabulous experience. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Julia - No. 1 Bent Street Management. responded on Wed, 20 Mar 2019

dined on Fri, 15 Mar 2019

(10)
Food and service fabulous. Thanks Mike and the team
Good afternoon and many thanks for the lovely review. It is our pleasure to host you and we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed yourself- we look forward to seeing you again for another great night of food, service and relaxation.
Julia - No. 1 Bent Street Management. responded on Wed, 20 Mar 2019

dined on Fri, 15 Mar 2019

(10)
Great delicious food. The 50% off deal is awesome.
Fantastic to hear that you loved the food- we would love to see you again!
Julia, No. 1 Bent Street Management. responded on Wed, 20 Mar 2019

dined on Fri, 15 Mar 2019

(9)
We will go back
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Julia - No. 1 Bent Street Management. responded on Wed, 20 Mar 2019
page: 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Specials

Mike’s Vegetarian Truffle Set Menu $90 pp

Enjoy Mike’s Truffle set menu ($90pp) for a limited time only. Menu includes: Mike’s sourdough bread, salted & cultured butter Not ‘chicken liver' pate with truffle salt Salt baked celeriac, mushrooms & truffle Twice baked goat’s cheese soufflé, truffle & rosemary Mixed leaves Truffled crème brulée Wine match available on the night. T&C As it is a set menu it is essential that we are made aware of any dietary requirements within the party prior as we do not allow any substitutions on the night. We request that you provide your credit card details as a guarantee. Please note that we do charge a $45 ‘no-show’ fee so we kindly ask that you let us know if you can no longer attend 24 hours prior to the booking).
When
21 Jun 2019 - 17 Aug 2019
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Kitchen by Mike CBD

Kitchen by Mike is acclaimed chef Mike McEnearney’s canteen-style eatery, serving simple, nourishing dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Famed for his knowledge and respect for ingredients, Kitchen by Mike is a delicious insight into the heart and soul of everything Mike represents. The menu changes daily depending on best-at-market, delivering both intensity of flavour and nutrition. Evenings see the canteen transform into a more refined experience with the same generous, warm approach.

Features

Insider

Kitchen by Mike CBD Address

Google Map