INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Mike McEnearney.

Mike McEnearney

Generosity, simplicity and authenticity form the essence of Mike McEnearney’s philosophy. His impact on Australia’s culinary consciousness spans from the critically acclaimed No.1 Bent Street to the nourishing cuisine at Kitchen by Mike. A long-held belief in the medicinal qualities of food are evident in each nutritious and considered dish created by Mike. He is also Creative Director of Carriageworks Farmers Market, an internationally acclaimed food and arts precinct championing local produce.

2677 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.3
2677 reviews
Recommended
(8.5)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Thu, 25 Jul 2019

(9)
CBD gem for breakfast, business lunch or dinner in the city. Fresh, seasonal produce, great sourdough bread and drinks.

dined on Sat, 20 Jul 2019

(7)
Nice place with ok food.
Hi there, glad you enjoyed the ambience and service of our restaurant. Why not come in and try our lunch offering, a faster style of service where seasonal fresh food is displayed on a servery and you can order with your eyes. Have a great day.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Mon, 22 Jul 2019

dined on Sat, 20 Jul 2019

(10)
Food is beautiful quality and the staff are friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Highly recommend.
Hello there, how lovely to see your delightful words this Monday afternoon - we are thrilled you had a great experience and would love to see you again soon! Have a nice week.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Mon, 22 Jul 2019

dined on Sat, 20 Jul 2019

(8)
The chicken liver pate was the highlight of our meal. While the flathead special was cooked nicely, the accompanying sauce was a strange butter, herb and curry(?) concoction. Eggplant was cooked well however the tahini, fried garlic and raw shallots was a little overpowering. Ambience and service were good however the food was just “ok”.
Hi there, and thanks for taking some time out to leave a review. The sauce with the flathead is called Cafe de Paris butter, most people love it but some do find it a little different. I personally love it! Have taken your comments re: the food into consideration. Glad you enjoyed the evening overall. Many thanks.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Mon, 22 Jul 2019

dined on Thu, 18 Jul 2019

(10)
Love this place. Missed it when it closed down last time. Always very fresh, delicious and nutritious.
Hi Lisa, so happy to hear you love us and have been a fan of ours for some time now. We look forward to serving up fresh food, smiles and good times to you in the future. Many thanks.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike management. responded on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
Allyson

dined on Tue, 16 Jul 2019

(7)
Food was good but let down by the service
Hi there Allyson, thanks for leaving a review. Disappointing to hear the service didn't live up to our standard, if you would like to email me at info@kitchenbymike.com.au I would be happy to hear some more in depth feedback so we can improve on this for the next time. Have a nice weekend.
Restaurant Kitchen by Mike CBD responded on Sat, 20 Jul 2019

dined on Tue, 16 Jul 2019

(9)
Great slow cooked choices. Beef, Lamb.
Hi Stephen, lovely to hear you enjoyed the intercostal beef and pot roasted lamb - great winter choices. Thanks for your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Mon, 22 Jul 2019

dined on Mon, 15 Jul 2019

(5)
Food was poor relative to the costs.
Hi there, sorry to hear you didn't feel the food lived up to your expectations. I would be interested to hear more about which dishes you had and why you thought this if you have the time, as we would love to be able to keep improving! Please email info@kitchenbymike.com.au if you would like to do this. Have a lovely week, Julia.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike management. responded on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
Maree Slater

dined on Fri, 12 Jul 2019

(9)
Lovely warm effective service and truly wonderful food. We are meat lovers but decided for once to have the special vegetarian truffle dinner. It was one of the best arrangement of foods and flavours I have ever eaten. And I am a tough marker!! Well done Kitchen by Mike.
Hi Maree - wow, so lovely and exciting to read your review. Thank you so much for your beautiful words, we are over the moon that you enjoyed it soon. If you are a meat fan, we would love to have you come back in to try some of us fabulous offerings, such as the pot roasted lamb shoulder, the slow cooked intercostal beef or the mouth-watering t-bone. Have a great day.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike management. responded on Thu, 25 Jul 2019

dined on Wed, 10 Jul 2019

(7)
Lovely food, but cold atmosphere. Ok for lunch not for nice dins
Hi there ad thanks for taking the time to leave us the review. We now have loads of candles at dinner and some lovely intimate music with dimly lit lighting, so the atmosphere has become very warm and inviting. Hopefully you'll come back soon to see what we mean. Have a nice evening.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike management. responded on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Kitchen by Mike CBD

Kitchen by Mike is acclaimed chef Mike McEnearney’s canteen-style eatery, serving simple, nourishing dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Famed for his knowledge and respect for ingredients, Kitchen by Mike is a delicious insight into the heart and soul of everything Mike represents. The menu changes daily depending on best-at-market, delivering both intensity of flavour and nutrition. Evenings see the canteen transform into a more refined experience with the same generous, warm approach.

Features

Insider

Kitchen by Mike CBD Address

Google Map